We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice surprise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Downtown Berkeley Inn
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice surprise”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Excellent and (as close as you can get to affordable) in the San Francisco area. Walking distance to all that Berkeley has to offer, and to San Francisco's public transportation system. Rooms are small but very quiet at night for a college town. Didnt expect the receptionist to allow us to leave our vehicle when we went to San Francisco after checking out, given the small amount of parking, but she did, saving us some 20 bucks which is so easily and happily spent in SanFran anyways.. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glauce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    43
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
26
27
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed here while I was at a conference going on at LBL. Basically the experience was completely adequate, but not special. The room was pretty cheap, but didn't have anything extra. No microwave, no fridge, and spotty wifi. The street outside was a little on the loud side, but this bothers me less than others because I'm used to it. On the plus side, the man working the reception desk was very nice and helpful. The location is pretty good, as it's a few blocks from the downtown Berkeley BART station, and a short walk from the UC Berkeley campus.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
675 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Very reasonable pricing for a great location in Downtown Berkeley. 3 blocks from the BART. Surrounded by great restaurants - too many to choose from. Lodgings are comfortable, feel nice. Walls are thin, but no problem overnight - most the noise was during the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

On the plus side:
Good value, helpful receptionist, free parking, easy walk to the BART (and connections to San Fran) and Shattuck Avenue amenities, good, clean bed and bathroom,Free Wi-fi though a bit weak.

On the negative side; the bed was lethal with the wide rim around the base, perfect for smashing into in the night ..bruises still visible. TV refused to work despite trouble shooting guide( we gave up), noisy construction works very early,and our room had a strange persistent odour - I think it was an ex-smoking room..and there are only 10 small parking spaces -street parking with meters when they are gone.

Overall, this felt like an 80's block of flats fron the outside;and the inside although contemporary was a bit worn. It was cheap though, and a good base to explore San Francisco on a budget ( parking in SF can be $30 per day, BART tickets from Berkeley are $ 7.50 return a day ) .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sussexmicropub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Within walking distance of BART and across from the City high school, this provides reasonable, no frills lodgings. The room was clean and the staff responsive to our needs. It was quiet up on the third floor facing a street.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandywiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I was awoken at 4:30 am by a charter bus outside my window with a bunch of loud families. Then when I left, a street person was sleeping in the elevator (which has no security and is accessible from out of doors). I went to check out and had to ring a doorbell. They do not have a 24 hour front desk. My clothes that were hanging in the closet for one day now stink and I'm embarrassed for my flight home. Do yourself a favor: shell out a few more dollars and stay somewhere safer and more pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MathMath2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCHESTER
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Downtown Berkeley Inn is located in the heart of Berkeley, within walking distance to the BART, restaurants, and shopping. Although it is only a couple of blocks off the main street, it is a quiet, secure motel. The rooms are a little snug but clean and comfortable. Parking is limited. And the internet is touch & go. If you are looking for a lot of amenities - you will have to go away from the downtown area. This motel is a good place to stay when you only need a place to shower and sleep. (And that's what we needed - so it was a good choice for us.)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missinginmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#17 of 20 in Berkeley
81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
778 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#7 of 20 in Berkeley
262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Berkeley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Berkeley Inn

Property: Downtown Berkeley Inn
Address: 2001 Bancroft Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1419
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Downtown Berkeley Inn is the newest lodging facility in Berkeley. Located just two blocks away from the University of California, Berkeley and a short five-minute walk from public transportation, our 27 rooms feature contemporary platform beds with TempurPedic-like foam mattresses, 42 inch High-Definition plasma TV with nearly 70 DirectTV channels, large desk and chair, in-room coffee machines and phone lines with data ports. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Downtown Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Downtown Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing