We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angeline's Louisiana Kitchen

Angeline's Louisiana Kitchen
Ranked #10 of 690 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Salt Lake, Utah
Level Contributor
352 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The food here was great and the service matched. Our 6:30 reservation was honored at 6:00 when we arrived early because of the rain, but by the time we left the place was packed...obviously popular. I had the VooDoo Shrimp. It was spicy-hot and absolutely delicious. It really did seem fairly authentic NOLA right down to the Abita beer selections. Our server was great to split the check because one of us was on an expense account and met all our needs quickly. With two theaters across the street near-by, and a reasonable menu price, this would be a great place to start an evening out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank diinslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    100
    24
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
553 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I finally got a chance to try out this restaurant. I first called to see if a reservation was required on a weeknight and the hostess said it wasn't really full right now. Got there around 7 pm and she was right cause we were seated in less than 5 min. The place definitely was packed by the time we were seated. I ordered a bowl of gumbo and the crawfish étouffée while my friends ordered the shrimp creole and jambalaya. Portion size was excellent and the price was more than reasonable. All of our entrees were very good. I only wish my étouffée was a little spicier. The gumbo had a nice kick to it as well. Definitely coming back to this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BayAreaTraveler6338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
229 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“another option outside of the ghetto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I did not think that a restaurant on Shattuck would be so good, until my daughter invited me for dinner. It was quite busy, an indicator and folks continued to drop in even past 8PM. Anyway, I had the Cajun mixed grill and it brought me back to New Orleans. Beer selection was good as well. The chocolate dessert was heaven.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank betamax12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real Cajun Food in Berkeley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We love this place for a pre movie dinner and arrive early to avoid the crush. The restaurant has doubled in size since we started going there but with no loss of quality or service. I've been to the garden District many times and this food compares with a New Orleans place. Wife is very partial to the Voodoo shrimp but the fried chicken is the signature/star of they place. I order the gumbo every time I go there. Only criticism is the front of the house: table are left empty for long periods when the entrance is packed; the front person must check wit the wandering computer person who has to have a conference with a dining manager before a table is assigned. This leaves the front of the house unattended for long time periods. Very inefficient and a bothersome. Other very busy restaurants do this far better (Dona Tomas, etc)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MattKells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilder, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Meal I've Had in a Long Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I treated my brother and his family to dinner here while I was in town for a visit. The restaurant is amazing and the service was great. Everything we had on the menu (and it seemed like we ordered everything from the menu) was fantastic. I had an oyster po boy. I remember thinking, "This sandwich better be damn good for $14." And after having a bite I was thinking, "I can't believe I only paid $14 for this sandwich." That means it was REALLY good food. My brother had the fried chicken, and my sister-in-law got the fried catfish. All of which was excellent.

The hush puppies really steal the show until you get to dessert, though. That's when you find out that the beignet's are to die for. Must order some for dessert - be sure to save room.

I think in total for 3 apps, 3 entrees, 3 desserts, and alcoholic beverages I paid like $125 or so for the meal. I find that to be a great value considering food quality and GENEROUS PORTIONS!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CinciPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angeline's Louisiana Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Angeline's Louisiana Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing