We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, with a country feel, great walks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quiet, with a country feel, great walks”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel has excellent well maintained grounds and courtyards, which welcome visitors to sit outside or walk, and it is surrounded by parks with walking trails on a point that offers views across the bay and lots of wildlife. The restaurant food was excellent, though a bit expensive; there are also other restaurants on the nearby wharf easily within walking distance. My room was very quiet and spacious. Because I was at a conference and spending most of my time at the hotel, I was delighted it was so pleasant and unclaustrophobic. It is an excellent place to hold meetings in particular.

Green Features: I appreciated that the cleaning staff did not replace towels I had hung up and did not change my sheets.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tseh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Tseh3 ~

Thank you very much for taking your time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us.

It is always rewarding to know that our guests enjoy our local, from the grounds to the walking paths as well as the close by parks!! It is great that you could get out during your meeting and enjoy the surroundings.

Great to read that you enjoyed the food during your stay.

When you return to Berkeley, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Stephanie


Stephanie Bauer
General Manager
Stephanie.bauer@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    672
    395
    161
    90
See reviews for
593
398
91
593
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Despite having booked well in advance for a family celebration we were disappointed that our room, which lacked a safe, mini fridge or wifi access, had a view of the car park. While there is a pleasant walk around the attractive Marina the hotel is very isolated without a car and food options are very limited. The property is so large and disorienting that getting from room to breakfast seemed like an exercise in orienteering.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Joe W ~

Thank you for posting your first review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at our hotel. We understand the value of your time and appreciate your feedback.

I sincerely apologize that you were disappointed with your room type. We do have limited view rooms and if they are purchased it is difficult to upgrade all our guests. You are correct...our hotel is spread out and there are times when I still feel lost!!

Please know that our hotel does offer a complimentary shuttle that will take our guests within a three mile radius. We drop and pick up our guests and this service will deliver you to many fantastic restaurant options.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Sincerely,
Stephanie


Stephanie Bauer
General Manager
stephanie. bauer@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhuhai, China
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

It is an awesome place to stay, the view of our hotel was gorgeous, the staff were very helpful and friendly, it was great that the hotel was not stingy about hotel amenities. The only two problem arose were the food and the laundry machine. For a dish chicken breast, they offered chicken thigh instead. And for the drying machine, even though I was told that it would stop automatically, but it did not. It can potentially be a safety issue.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Manmin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Greetings Manmin G ~

Thank you for your reply to the Trip Advisor review facilitated via the Hilton satisfaction survey! We know you have many hotel choices in the Berkeley area and we are thrilled you chose to stay with us!!

I am happy that you found the location and views awesome! I am sorry that there was confusion regarding your order in our Bay Grille Restaurant. We offer a half roasted chicken, which includes the thigh and leg as well as the breast. Please know that we are in the process of installing a washer/dryer units for our guests as well.

We hope to see you on your next trip to the USA!

Warm regards -
Stephanie


Stephanie Bauer
General Manager
stephanie.bauer@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Recently spent three nights there at recommendation of friends we were visiting. View of bridge and marina from large and quiet room very pleasant. Big breakfasts with cheerful waiters. Not too expensive and conveniently situated. Bonus of an adjacent park to walk in with great birding including overwintering Burrowing Owls. I will stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sparroworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Sparroworks~

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

It is wonderful that our hotel was a recommendation by friends....and it is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay as well as the location....including the views and the parks near by! We find it very peaceful as well!

I am thrilled you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our "cheerful" team members!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards -
Stephanie


Stephanie Bauer
General Manager
stephanie.bauer@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here following shopping for my fiancee's engagement ring. The room decor is a little on the dated side but very nice and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was very nice and accommodating. View of the bay, the marina, and the bridges was excellent. We just got coffee in the lobby gift shop/snack bar. Did not eat at the hotel.

Room Tip: Getting a bay, marina or Golden Gate Bridge view enhances the stay.
See more room tips
Green Features: they have separate recycle waste baskets, which is nice.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Chip144~

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us following a "big" spend!

It is nice to know that you enjoyed our team as well as the views of the bridge and marina. I am sorry you felt that our rooms are dated...but clean.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back one day!
All the best with your wedding plans!

Cheers -
Stephanie


Stephanie Bauer
General Manager
Stephanie.bauer@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooper City, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is our third stay here and hopefully the last. We stay for the ease of being near the kids at UCB and also our affinity to be near the marina. This place is a dump. The room looks like my kids Freshman dorm room, wait, no that was better. Yes, it is clean..they were painting, the room smelled of it. The carpeting is from the Brady Bunch the the design of the room like a mental institution. Our balcony "upgrade" was not an upgrade, but a downgrade into the rundown hotel that we used to like..
We were on the Hilton Honors floor..was this a punishment..if so..I am sorry. Also expensive. We were in building 4..NEVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: If you want to stay near Berkeley, really not my choice, next time we are going to Emeryville or any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Viki F ~

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your experience at our hotel.

As the General Manager, I sincerely apologize that you felt that your guest room in Building 4 was worse than a dorm room. Please know that these rooms were fully renovated one and half years ago? I am sorry we were conducting maintenance upkeep and painting the corridors - I understand the frustration this caused.

I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you about your stay and poor review. Feedback is a gift for our daily improvement, so when time permits, please reach out - 510.665.7126.

I look forward to speaking with you -
Sincerely,
Stephanie


Stephanie Bauer
General Manager
stephanie.bauer@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I was attending a work retreat in Berkeley, and we were booked in the Double tree Marina Hotel on the SF Bay. The hotel is adjacent to a picturesque marina, on the edge of a large park, with beautiful green lawns and plantings. Although 30 seconds from a major freeway, it is very quiet and pleasant. it is hard to believe you could be in a major urban area and have such an oasis. The rooms are large, and the ones that face the bay/marina are particularly nice, and you can enjoy the sea breezes by opening sliding glass doors. The fitness room and pools are good, and the bar lively.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Greetings Adrian B ~

Thank you completing a Trip Advisor review via the Hilton Satisfaction survey regarding your fantastic stay with us!

It was a pleasure having your retreat at our hotel and I am so happy that you enjoyed everything about our hotel....from the views, parks, ocean breeze and our lively bar!!

We hope you take another well deserved stay with us!

See you soon -
Stephanie


Stephanie Bauer
General Manager
stephanie.bauer@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,244 reviews
4.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
3.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
3.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
374 reviews
2.8 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Address: 200 Marina Blvd, Berkeley, CA 94710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#4 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Bay Area, San Francisco skyline and Golden Gate Bridge usher guests into our elegant lobby. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites include private balconies or patios, and are available with Berkeley Hills, Courtyard, or Marina views. Our 378 guest rooms include all the comforts of home, including high-speed Internet access and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. Guests are also offered fine hotel amenities, which include an indoor family pool and spa, indoor lap pool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and sauna. Enjoy the finest in California cuisine at our waterfront restaurant, Bay Grille, or relax with your favorite beverage at sunset in the Bay Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Berkeley Marina Hotel Berkeley
Doubletree Berkeley
Berkeley Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing