We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed four nights for a conference at the hotel. For whatever reason, I was expecting mediocrity but was very pleasantly surprised by the entire experience. The room was sparkling and smelled clean. The bed and sheets were outstanding. The grounds were well kept. The food was quite good. And the staff were all super polite and nice. Impressed!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Alan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

It is great to know that your stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina so thoroughly exceeded your expectations! Thank you for sharing details of your time with us, including your appreciation for our clean, well appointed accommodations and property. We always hope to impress our guests with our hospitable service and we couldn’t be happier to know your visit was made that much more memorable because of our Associates efforts. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,028)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,355 - 1,361 of 2,028 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

The staff here is very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a building the bellman said was recently renovated. That seems odd, as the bathtub was peeling horribly, and everything looked pretty dated and old. The only "evidence" of any updating that we could find was rounded shower rods on the (albeit peeling) bathtub.

We ordered room service; our daughter is pretty finicky about her mac and cheese being made with (orange) cheddar cheese. I made sure to inquire, and was told "yes" by the gal in room service. However, it was gruyere. Our daughter would not eat it. They gave us bread - but with no butter. :( We also ordered the shrimp cocktail - yummy except the sauce was VERY spicy - forewarning!

The rooms do not have safes or mini refrigerators. Unusual. We tried to get a mini fridge, but we were told they were "out". Although we liked the staff, overall we were disappointed. We would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room AWAY from the elevators and vending machines. They are NOISY! ALso if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

We can’t help but feel disappointed that we were not able to exceed your expectations in every way. We encourage guests to let us know what we can do to make their time here a more enjoyable experience and we regret that we were unable to do so for you. Our Associates are always happy to help in any way they can, but we do apologize if your in-room dining experience was not as you had hoped or if refrigerators were not available during your visit. Thank you for your feedback. We certainly hope you will consider staying with us again and allow us to fully impress you with all we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We checked into this hotel spontaneously due to a last minute trip. This Doubletree hotel is tucked away at the corner of a marina, which was serene and beautiful. The lobby was clean and quiet; reception was friendly and checked us into a ground floor room facing the marina. The hotel is laid out with several different buildings, and you have to walk outside to go between each building. We stayed in building 3. Other than the lobby, there is no attendant at each of the buildings, you just open the entry door with your room key. This was not a big deal for me but might be of concern if you are a woman staying alone. The room itself was clean but somewhat unremarkable, although nicer than other Doubletree hotels that I've stayed at. The best part of our room was our outdoor patio, which had two chairs and a small table. The breeze was beautiful, and it was truly peaceful to gaze out onto the marina.

Although I enjoyed the location, the accommodations are not what I would call a “luxury hotel”. I’ve stayed at some really nice hotels and this one simply is not in that 4 or 5 star category. The price seemed a bit high for a Doubletree, but seems to be competitive for a Bay area hotel. I would recommend this as a viable option, mainly for the marina view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachycali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. A spur of the moment trip can be such an exciting experience and we couldn’t be happier to learn you enjoyed such a pleasant stay. As you mentioned, we offer peaceful, quiet accommodations surrounded by some of the most beautiful marina views. We appreciate your feedback and recommendation. It would be our privilege to welcome you back again for another great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

So, everything says check in is guaranteed at 4. We got there at 3:57, and were told that we could not check in until 4. Okay, three minutes? Weird, but whatever. Check back around 4:10 after no one came to get us, told room is still not available...We didn't get our room until 5:30! And they didn't offer any kind of compensation, or even a nice room. We got a room with no view on the far side of the hotel. And this is supposed to be one of the better rooms? I don't think so.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Tatiana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is with regret that we learn that your entire stay was not the positive encounter you should expect while staying with us. We do apologize for any miscommunication during check in. Please know that your comments will be shared with all of our associates to ensure that strict attention to detail and hospitality is always the continued focus. We hope that you will reconsider and allow us the opportunity to greet you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

It is a good location for a conference, if you want to make it very difficult for people to leave the hotel. Otherwise, you will feel trapped. With the exception of the cleaning crew and one or two people at reception and in the coffee shop, everyone else seemed inconvenienced to answer questions or help a guest. There was no concierge and no advice or assistance on how far our room was located (carrying our luggage).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

We appreciate that you have brought your experience to our attention. Excellence in all we do is extremely important and we apologize that your encounter was lacking in any way or if our location was not what you had hoped it would be. Please know that your comments are being reviewed by our Management team to address any issues you have mentioned pertaining to the service you encountered. While we never like reading that a guest has left with anything other than a wonderful impression of our hotel, we are grateful that you have shared the details of your stay with us. Thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I have stayed at other Doubletree By Hilton Hotels and I find that they all are excellent to stay at . The staff is very friendly an professional and that alone makes you want to only stay at the Doubletree

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback regarding your stay. Everyone at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina certainly does all they can to make our valued guests feel right at home and it is a pleasure to know that you appreciated their efforts. We’re delighted to read that your encounter with us reflected the high standards of customer service that we’ve set. Your comments will be shared with everyone here. We hope you will return to experience even more of what we have to offer soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Was in the bay area to go to baseball games in Oakland and SF. We also wanted to take a day trip up to Sonoma so the location was perfect for getting around as we have visited San Francisco many times before and have seen the sights. Fortunate enough to have a bottom floor room with a patio looking out into the marina. The park that surrounds the area is great for walking and providing splendid views of the bridges at sunset. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Asked for extra coffee during a chilly night and they delivered them within a few minutes. Wall heater/AC functioned well and the linen was clean. No real complaints, the rate was consistent with the area, you could save more money elsewhere but the east bay can get a little dodgy in areas so do your homework. Also, staying in the city in much more expensive and parking rates can be outrageous.

Room Tip: Ask for marina view. Note - the drive away from the marina is an extremely bumpy road; suggest havin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaveCarWillTravel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

There is nothing quite like a baseball game in the springtime, but combine that with a day trip to to explore wine country and you have the makings of a perfect getaway! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina and found our location ideal for getting around the area. The East Bay and the marina offer such a picturesque views and it is great that you enjoyed them from our hotel. Our associates will be so happy to know that they left you with a positive impression of their efficient service. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
2.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#2 of 20 in Berkeley
1,423 reviews
4 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
3.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
3.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
394 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Address: 200 Marina Blvd, Berkeley, CA 94710-1608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#4 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: £89 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Bay Area, San Francisco skyline and Golden Gate Bridge usher guests into our elegant lobby. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites include private balconies or patios, and are available with Berkeley Hills, Courtyard, or Marina views. Our 378 guest rooms include all the comforts of home, including high-speed Internet access and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. Guests are also offered fine hotel amenities, which include an indoor family pool and spa, indoor lap pool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and sauna. Enjoy the finest in California cuisine at our waterfront restaurant, Bay Grille, or relax with your favorite beverage at sunset in the Bay Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Berkeley Marina Hotel Berkeley
Doubletree Berkeley
Berkeley Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing