We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not all that shines its gold” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not all that shines its gold”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Staying on this hotel for a conference, and I regret, my first impression was that it is very isolated, specially if you dont have a car, the property is outdated and run down, my room was average, dust on the curtains that has been there for at least 6 months, no fan in the bathroom, oh yes and I found sock that a previous guest left underneath of the curtain, which means that they did not vacuum cleaned the room efficiently before my arrival.
The other people on my conference complaint about their room had a very strong mold smell, I guess it was my luck to dont get these rooms.
The food from room service and breakfast was not good at all and expensive for the quality.
Costumer service was ok, but a great hotel has to have it all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianineska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We value all feedback and are truly disappointed to learn of the inconveniences that you encountered throughout your time with us. Please know that the head of our Housekeeping department as well as our management team have already been notified regarding your concerns. We are saddened and disappointed to know that your stay was not reflective of our usual high standards. We hope we'll someday have another opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the exceptional experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    643
    378
    152
    82
See reviews for
546
382
88
566
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Checked in, then checked out within minutes. The walls are paperthin, we could hear everything the lady in the room next door was saying. She wasn't even yelling and we could still hear her voice as loud as if she were in our own room.

Cookies were perfect, staff was welcoming, nice and efficient. Room was clean.

If u do stay here I highly recommend you ask that no other guests are booked in the surrounding rooms. Not sure about the noise from the floor above, as we only stayed 5 minutes.

No fault of managements, as I dont see what could be done to fix the noise problem between adjoining rooms, but this was a huge disappointment as I usually love staying at doubletree hotels.
Janel

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We can understand your frustration and would like to take this opportunity to apologize if you were disappointed in any way. It is truly regrettable to learn about your experience. Please understand that we do not take your feedback lightly and we have alerted our Management team. We deeply regret any inconveniences and we hope you will someday allow us an opportunity to welcome you again. Thank you for your candor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Hotel seems removed from the close by hobos that wander and wonder the streets of Berkeley. Building hallways and elevators feel dated. Rooms are fine. Close to town's points of interest & restaurants. Great views a short stroll to the bay. Front Desk smiley and friendly, ask for a cookie. 2nd time here...

Room Tip: Some Buildings a small walk to restaurant/bar/front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCAR-TRIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Friendly service with a smile and our signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookies! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be a highlight of your trip. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again to the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed four nights for a conference at the hotel. For whatever reason, I was expecting mediocrity but was very pleasantly surprised by the entire experience. The room was sparkling and smelled clean. The bed and sheets were outstanding. The grounds were well kept. The food was quite good. And the staff were all super polite and nice. Impressed!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
It is great to know that your stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina so thoroughly exceeded your expectations! Thank you for sharing details of your time with us, including your appreciation for our clean, well appointed accommodations and property. We always hope to impress our guests with our hospitable service and we couldn’t be happier to know your visit was made that much more memorable because of our Associates efforts. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
260 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The staff here is very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a building the bellman said was recently renovated. That seems odd, as the bathtub was peeling horribly, and everything looked pretty dated and old. The only "evidence" of any updating that we could find was rounded shower rods on the (albeit peeling) bathtub.

We ordered room service; our daughter is pretty finicky about her mac and cheese being made with (orange) cheddar cheese. I made sure to inquire, and was told "yes" by the gal in room service. However, it was gruyere. Our daughter would not eat it. They gave us bread - but with no butter. :( We also ordered the shrimp cocktail - yummy except the sauce was VERY spicy - forewarning!

The rooms do not have safes or mini refrigerators. Unusual. We tried to get a mini fridge, but we were told they were "out". Although we liked the staff, overall we were disappointed. We would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room AWAY from the elevators and vending machines. They are NOISY! ALso if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
We can’t help but feel disappointed that we were not able to exceed your expectations in every way. We encourage guests to let us know what we can do to make their time here a more enjoyable experience and we regret that we were unable to do so for you. Our Associates are always happy to help in any way they can, but we do apologize if your in-room dining experience was not as you had hoped or if refrigerators were not available during your visit. Thank you for your feedback. We certainly hope you will consider staying with us again and allow us to fully impress you with all we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We checked into this hotel spontaneously due to a last minute trip. This Doubletree hotel is tucked away at the corner of a marina, which was serene and beautiful. The lobby was clean and quiet; reception was friendly and checked us into a ground floor room facing the marina. The hotel is laid out with several different buildings, and you have to walk outside to go between each building. We stayed in building 3. Other than the lobby, there is no attendant at each of the buildings, you just open the entry door with your room key. This was not a big deal for me but might be of concern if you are a woman staying alone. The room itself was clean but somewhat unremarkable, although nicer than other Doubletree hotels that I've stayed at. The best part of our room was our outdoor patio, which had two chairs and a small table. The breeze was beautiful, and it was truly peaceful to gaze out onto the marina.

Although I enjoyed the location, the accommodations are not what I would call a “luxury hotel”. I’ve stayed at some really nice hotels and this one simply is not in that 4 or 5 star category. The price seemed a bit high for a Doubletree, but seems to be competitive for a Bay area hotel. I would recommend this as a viable option, mainly for the marina view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachycali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. A spur of the moment trip can be such an exciting experience and we couldn’t be happier to learn you enjoyed such a pleasant stay. As you mentioned, we offer peaceful, quiet accommodations surrounded by some of the most beautiful marina views. We appreciate your feedback and recommendation. It would be our privilege to welcome you back again for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

So, everything says check in is guaranteed at 4. We got there at 3:57, and were told that we could not check in until 4. Okay, three minutes? Weird, but whatever. Check back around 4:10 after no one came to get us, told room is still not available...We didn't get our room until 5:30! And they didn't offer any kind of compensation, or even a nice room. We got a room with no view on the far side of the hotel. And this is supposed to be one of the better rooms? I don't think so.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tatiana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is with regret that we learn that your entire stay was not the positive encounter you should expect while staying with us. We do apologize for any miscommunication during check in. Please know that your comments will be shared with all of our associates to ensure that strict attention to detail and hospitality is always the continued focus. We hope that you will reconsider and allow us the opportunity to greet you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
4.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
3.0 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#10 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.8 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Address: 200 Marina Blvd, Berkeley, CA 94710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#4 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Bay Area, San Francisco skyline and Golden Gate Bridge usher guests into our elegant lobby. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites include private balconies or patios, and are available with Berkeley Hills, Courtyard, or Marina views. Our 378 guest rooms include all the comforts of home, including high-speed Internet access and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. Guests are also offered fine hotel amenities, which include an indoor family pool and spa, indoor lap pool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and sauna. Enjoy the finest in California cuisine at our waterfront restaurant, Bay Grille, or relax with your favorite beverage at sunset in the Bay Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Berkeley Marina Hotel Berkeley
Doubletree Berkeley
Berkeley Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing