We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Magic displayed at this HOTEL.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Corona, CA, United States
1 review
“No Magic displayed at this HOTEL.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Blood stains on bathroom door and shower curtain. Had to wait two days before I rec'd frig. No eye contact made when approaching check-in. Scolded for asking on the second day if I was going to get a frig. No coffee or cups left after cleaning room. Food not worth the price. In anycase. Foodservice, Hospitality Business, is my business. I won't go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We'd first like to extend our heartfelt apologies for any issues you encountered while staying with us. It is disheartening to know that your time here fell below your expectations and we assure you that your comments will be passed along to the head of our housekeeping department for further review. We never like to learn when a guest leaves our hotel feeling disappointed in their visit and we hope you will someday allow us another opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    643
    378
    152
    82
See reviews for
546
382
88
566
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights. Everything was fine. Great place to stay while in Berkeley/Oakland area. Will stay again. Liked getting the warm cookies and bottled water. The grounds are very pleasing, with the marina right close by for walks/strolls. Patio area good, also.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 886carrieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
There is almost nothing better than a warm chocolate chip cookie greeting! We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina and found so many aspects of our hotel to your liking. Our outdoor spaces are perfect for relaxing and it is great to know you agree. We would be happy to welcome you again upon your return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Hotel Team Members were outstanding... Very friendly and helpful.. Food and Beverage you could not ask for any more... Both Food and Beverage facility are right on the water. Wonderful place to unwind and enjoy the view of San Francisco or the many boats docked directly infront of both the Food and Beverage outlets.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Sitting back to enjoy a good meal with some of the best views of the marina can be such a treat! It is wonderful to know you found your stay to be so positive and that you appreciated our helpful service. We hope you will stay with us again soon at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina as it would be our pleasure to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stay here often, because we have family in the Berkeley area. This hotel is situated right on the San Francisco Bay in the Berkeley Marina. The grounds are beautiful, with nice walkways along the bay. There is a park just across the street from the hotel with hiking paths and a great view of the Bay Bridge and the Golden Gate Bridge. The location is great, but you will need a car to get to it. BART stations are nearby, but not within walking distance, and grocery stores, restaurants and shops are a little distance away, with the exception of Skates, a nice bayside restaurant that is next to the hotel. (We eat there often and the food and service are excellent.) The restaurant in the hotel is mediocre - service & food - so I recommend avoiding it and exploring the many culinary options in Berkeley and the surrounding areas. But, don't forget to have some of the warm cookies the hotel provides for all guests upon arrival - they're incredible! The rooms here are comfortable and nicely decorated and the beds are super comfortable. There is a heated indoor pool and jacuzzi, which we always enjoy. Free wifi for Hilton Honors members, a fee otherwise. Finally, the service from the hotel staff is friendly and accommodating. This is a great hotel for families!

Room Tip: Try to get a room not on the parking lot side of the buildings - people come and go at all hours of...
See more room tips
Green Features: If environmentally-friendly practices in a hotel are important to you, this hotel has them.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
A quiet haven in Berkeley is a lovely description, thank you! It is wonderful to read of your review and all that you enjoy while staying with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. Our location makes it so easy to enjoy much of the area and other guests will appreciate your recommendations. Taking a dip in our pool at hot tub can be the perfect way to unwind. We would like to clarify that our wireless Internet is complimentary for all guests. Thank you for sharing your review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Three day trip for an event for my teenaged child. I was excited to stay here having always had good experiences at Hilton's and DoubleTrees.

When I am at a hotel,for a few days I usually like to swing by a market to get some fruit, breakfast items and maybe a bottle of wine or some beer. This trip was no exception. However, when I checked in and got to my room I realized that THERE IS NO REFRIGERATOR in the room! I called and the service rep made it seem like there isn't supposed to be one in the room. I asked at the front desk and they told me that indeed the management of this hotel does not have fridges but hopes to by next year. I was flabbergasted. Even the dumpy motels of the freeway have fridges!

Everything else is fine. Room is nice. Staff is ok. Place is clean. But I've got a bunch of perishable items sitting in various makeshift ice buckets.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LeisureErik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to read that you enjoyed much about your stay with us. It is regrettable, however, to read of any inconvenience you encountered in your guest room. We would like to clarify that refrigerators are available in all rooms upon request and must apologize for any miscommunication. It is understandable how frustrated you must have felt. Your comments will be shared with our management team to reiterate the importance of communication at every level. We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The room was fine, but the service in your restaurant/bar was terrible. It was under staffed, the bartender was rude to my girlfriend; we didn't get waited on until way over 30 minutes; and then it took over an hour to get our food. Plus, our waiter wasn't the most friendly, either.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We appreciate your review and feedback about your most recent stay. On behalf of our associates, we would like to extend our apologies for the difficulties and delays you encountered. We wish we would have had the opportunity to discuss your concerns while you were here so that we could address them immediately and create the best possible experience for you. One day we hope to welcome you back for the outstanding time that you should expect from our brand. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san leandro, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Thanks for being so welcoming, and polite. It was a very peaceful atmosphere, the breakfast buffet was great, the people were great, and the cookies. We had a lot of fun, at this place. Looking forward to coming back soon. Thank You again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Keosha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
It is such a pleasure to learn when a guest enjoys their stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your appreciation for the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. There is nothing quite like enjoying a peaceful stay while traveling away from home and then wake up to a delicious breakfast with so many choices. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
4.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
3.0 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#10 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.8 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Address: 200 Marina Blvd, Berkeley, CA 94710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#4 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Bay Area, San Francisco skyline and Golden Gate Bridge usher guests into our elegant lobby. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites include private balconies or patios, and are available with Berkeley Hills, Courtyard, or Marina views. Our 378 guest rooms include all the comforts of home, including high-speed Internet access and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. Guests are also offered fine hotel amenities, which include an indoor family pool and spa, indoor lap pool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and sauna. Enjoy the finest in California cuisine at our waterfront restaurant, Bay Grille, or relax with your favorite beverage at sunset in the Bay Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Berkeley Marina Hotel Berkeley
Doubletree Berkeley
Berkeley Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing