We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location for kids”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We've stayed here a number of times - usually for one night when transiting through the Bay Area. The location is terrific if you have children - there are walking trails and areas where they can run off their energy, the marina is interesting to watch, and their welcome cookies are always warm and good! It is close to Berkeley's 4th Street shopping are, near good restaurants, etc.

Over the years they've appeared to upgrade the rooms (a good thing), and the last two times we've stayed, we've had excellent beds/pillows. We've requested a marina-view room - and each time we've requested it, we've received it.

This recent trip, we ate breakfast at their restaurant (a first for us), and opted to order off the menu. It was good, but nothing special. The restaurant service was a little slow, but not enough to make a stink about.

All in all, it will continue to be a place we stay when we are traveling through the Bay Area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated or has the new beds. We were recently in Building 1, second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyBaliThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We love to be your hotel of choice in the Bay Area! Thank you for sharing all that you enjoy about staying with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. Our hotel has something for everyone and our local outdoor areas are perfect for walking about and taking in the beauty of the area. Of course, kids love our warm chocolate chip cookies, but so do adults and we love to share them with everyone! We are so glad you find comfort in our hotel each time you stay. Your comments regarding your recent dining experience will be shared with our team. We look forward to seeing you again for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    681
    403
    165
    90
See reviews for
606
405
92
597
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

If you just got off of a sailboat after a two week jaunt up the coast, this hotel might be a respite from cramped quarters, but overall it does not live up to the Hilton / Doubletree brand promise for business travellers or Hilton Honors top tier members.

Check In - After 20 hours of travel and business meetings, we arrived at the hotel at 10:00 PM PST. While most hotels are usually understaffed at this time of night, they had 4 people working at the front desk. While that could have made for a smooth check in, one person was on the phone, one person was checking people in, and two people were on their computers NOT CHECKING PEOPLE IN. It took four people lining up for the two people on the computers to look up and start to check people in. Gold and Diamond members beware, besides handing us waters and kind of absent mindedly asking if we wanted cookies as we were leaving, there was no mention of my diamond status or my co-workers gold status and what the benefits were for that at the property.

Rooms - Had quite a haul to get to the building our room was in. This property is very spread out and is not well connected to the main building. Both the exteriors and interior hallways are in need of overhauls. Some might argue that the property has a rustic nautical charm. I would say that they need to scrape some of the barnacles off it and invest some money in major renovations.

Since I didn't get a Diamond upgrade to a better room (do I need to beg like others do now to get those?), I was stuck in a double bed room with a view of other sad looking rooms. The rooms have old style heater / ac units so expect to have to get up in the middle of the night to adjust the temperature if you don't get it right.

Like many properties nowadays, expect to have room service items left in the hall when you arrive until when you leave. Not only does this promote bugs (which there was a big one in my room), but it leaves a lingering funky smell in the hallways.

Also note that there is no free coffee in the lobby if you are an early riser. There are some coffee pods in the room, but you will have to wait until the coffee shop in the lobby opens at 6:00 AM if you want a strong cup of coffee. That might be great if you are adjusted to this timezone, but for those of us up by 4:00 AM and in the need for more than coffee pods, you will not get it until 6:00 AM.

Breakfast - Not great. There was a sign saying to wait to be seated, but there was no one there seating people. I thought I heard voices in the Kitchen, but no one came out to see if people need seated. When someone finally got away from their conversation, they told me to find my own table among the many that were already sitting there with previous diners mess that was waiting to be bussed.

The one highlight was that they had plain greek yogurt and and good selection of healthy toppings for the yogurt.

Overall this is a good property for people that enjoy a nautical atmosphere. For elite members or business travelers, I would caution you to look elsewhere if you want a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms with interior view of courtyard. Not very nice.
See more room tips
Green Features: They were below average for the area. Nothing above and beyond what similar properties are doing.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConsultingChrisE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Your comprehensive review is of great value to us as it allows us the opportunity to learn what our guests enjoy as well as to address any areas that may need our attention. We greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brand. The issues you have mentioned are troubling to us. Please know that our associates are always available should you notice anything amiss while staying. We regret not having the opportunity to provide you with a better experience while you were here, when it would have mattered the most. Your comments have been shared with our management team. We hope you are able to join us again for the opportunity to have a true DoubleTree experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I booked a confirmed stay for 4 nights. I contacted them before check-in time to let them know I would be arriving late. Arrived at 12:15 am to find they had no room for me that night. Since I had a conference there in the morning at 8:30, I was not pleased. Found out from the cab driver who took me to another hotel, this location has done this before. Also a bit isolated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lesli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for reaching out to us. We sincerely regret any issues you may have encountered, although it is not clear in this forum as to how your reservations were made, we can understand how frustrated you must have felt. Please know that this is anything but typical at our hotel if reservations are made with confirmation received. If you would like to discuss this matter in greater detail, please feel free to contact us directly. We value your patronage and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Had an amazing stay at the Doubletree. The hotel manager was very accommodating in finding a reservation for me despite the hotel being overbooked, and staff and accommodations were top notch. I also can't get enough of those cookies!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
One taste of our signature chocolate chip cookies and you will be hooked! Thank you so much for letting us know about your time here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina. It is great to know that we were able to accommodate you, even despite the busy time at the hotel and our associates will be so happy to know you felt so well cared for. We hope you have the chance to stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I'm a Hilton Honors member with a standing profile in their system - "higher floor preferred"- our room was on the first floor on a corner inside where 2 halls meet - can you say NOISE. Beds were not up to Hilton standard, & asked for perhaps a room with a bed that was not so soft you sank to the floor. I was given another room to check though I was told all the beds were the same. This room still on the 1st floor but now faced the parking lot with cars parked right next to the window. (Stayed in our original room). Had previously made dinner reservations to take advantage of their view for the 4ths fireworks only to find out when we arrived the restaurant was not open for dinner & the bar was first come first serve with limited menu. The restaurant manager offered to let us sit in the restaurant but when we arrived at our time the restaurant was overrun with people just trying to sit at any table with NO SERVICE. The bar was overflowing & an equal disaster, dirty dishes empty glasses, bottles & cans & not enough servers. Those to had to work were doing the best they could but tempers were flaring. Was this 4th of July they had ever experienced? I don't honestly know, but hopefully management learned something. Perhaps a better experience is possible when not a holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elcyd56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
It is certainly disappointing to learn that your stay was not as you had expected. Your brand loyalty is important to us and we always hope to provide the accommodations that would make you most comfortable. The 4th of July holiday is a very exciting time here in the East Bay but regardless of how many guests were joining us for the events, it is never our intention for service to be lacking in any way. Your comments will be utilized as we re-emphasize our commitment to customer service and delivering a refreshing experience for each and every guest. We will attentively work with our associates to address your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back for a more positive stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at this DoubleTree for four nights. My criteria for a hotel is comfortable bed, good water pressure and clean surrounding. This hotel met it all. The food was average, and presentation was fine. Though the price of the room was a conference rate, it was within reason for what I received. It was quiet and restful. The gym was OK and the in-door pools were adequate. The hotel is worn, needs an facelift, and would be worth their published daily rate if invested in more. I would stay there again.

Green Features: This hotel is pet friendly which is important to some.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerrySchaefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We are happy to have met you needs so completely at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina! Thank you for letting us know all that you appreciated from the comfort to the value and more. We will share your suggestions with our management team as we always seek to improve our offerings. We would love to see you again for your next visit to Berkeley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I was expecting the marina view which I requested and paid extra for. Excitedly drawing back the curtains I discovered it was not that view at all!. A peek of the water, perhaps. Marina, not seen. I didn't mention anything to the front desk, so I just went with the room assigned. I regret not giving the hotel the opportunity to accommodate us, if a room happened to be available. Our grandson particularly enjoyed the pool, and the freshly baked chocolate chip cookies, in the afternoon. The bed was extremely comfortable, and I must say that I don't find that very often when traveling.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Celia209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBerkeleyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
It is always our biggest desire to completely exceed our guests’ expectations in all ways. We are glad to know that you found our accommodations to be of such comfort and enjoyed our complimentary cookies and indoor pool. It is regrettable, however, if the view from your guest room was not as you had anticipated. Our associates always are ready to help and would have been happy to find you the space that would have met your needs. We do hope you will stay again with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina so that we can impress you at every turn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,263 reviews
4.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
3.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
3.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
375 reviews
2.8 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Address: 200 Marina Blvd, Berkeley, CA 94710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#4 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Bay Area, San Francisco skyline and Golden Gate Bridge usher guests into our elegant lobby. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites include private balconies or patios, and are available with Berkeley Hills, Courtyard, or Marina views. Our 378 guest rooms include all the comforts of home, including high-speed Internet access and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. Guests are also offered fine hotel amenities, which include an indoor family pool and spa, indoor lap pool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and sauna. Enjoy the finest in California cuisine at our waterfront restaurant, Bay Grille, or relax with your favorite beverage at sunset in the Bay Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Berkeley Marina Hotel Berkeley
Doubletree Berkeley
Berkeley Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing