We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, not able to fulfill reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed 23 July 2013

La Quinta Berkeley is located along University Avenue, a short distance from the freeway and the bay, making its location with free parking good for seeing the bay area. The area appears to be on the edge of gentrification, although signs in the hotel parking lot suggest that items have been taken from parked vehicles in the past.

Years ago I stayed at this hotel under another brand and La Quinta has done a nice job of keeping the building and rooms in good condition. The room was very large and the beds provided a good night's sleep. A very hearty breakfast is included in the room price which makes for a great value. I booked a room here after being in shock at the room rates being asked for in San Francisco, located just across the bay.

My only issue with La Quinta was there inability to fulfill the reservation made weeks in advance which included a room with a refigerator. Shockingly, an occupied room was given to us initially so it seems they also have computer problems as well. Ultimately La Quinta reduced the evening rate for their failure to fulfill the reservation. The room we had did have an empty spot for a refigerator and you have to wonder why they only have a limited supply of refigerators and then why they seek to charge extra for them.

Except for the failure to fullfil the reservation correctly and initially given us an already occupied room (really, how could that occur?), the hotel itself is nice and provides very good value at a good location for getting around the bay area by car.

Room Tip: the first level of rooms are up a short flight of stairs, so if mobility is a problem, rooms on the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USACityPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for La Quinta Inn Berkeley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

There isn't anything really special about this yet. Although each room has a small balcony. Located directly on University drive you have everything within walking distance it seems. Within 5 minutes you can be write down in the best areas of downtown and the water.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColbyButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

While having breakfast with my 9 & 7 yr old kids, 2 men and the breakfast concierre lady were talking loud and 1 of men kept saying "F" word. Conciere lady was laughing w/ men. She didn't tell them to stop. When men left, I told conciere lady I was offended & my kids disturbed. Conciere lady got snarky & told me to complain to front desk. Our room smells moldie, we didn't get replacement towels after our 2nd day, from then we only got 3 towels for 4 people in room & kept having to go to front desk to ask for a 4th towel. When I was up @ front desk, another guest (from Korea) was telling front desk person that her room smelled like cigarette smoke. My husband could smell someone smoking just the day before. Front desk guy just brushed this guest off and didn't try to help her. A bunch of jerks working @ La Quinta Berkeley, California!

Room Tip: Top floors are free of dog smells, and probably quieter on the foot traffic nose, because you have n...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlysonBPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This property was run down and tired looking overall. The beds sagged in the middle. The staff was unfriendly and not helpful. The maids left trash in the bathroom--they seemed to have just quit halfway through cleaning the room. Basically the whole property just felt sleezy and depressing. We would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsgo0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it was fairly close to a BART station( 11 blocks). It is an older property but well maintained. The staff was very helpful and was even able to check us in early so we could go sight seeing. Pool was nice. Breakfast had sausage and eggs so it was better than the normal La Quinta spread. Rooms and Bathrooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A La Quinta traveler
11
Reviewed 26 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I staY At Nothing But La Quinta's. ThIs Is One Of The More Mediocre Ones. The Rates Were Over 130 A Night For Room That The Ceiling Was Peeling, Size Was Small, Reception On The TV Fuzzy At Times. Front Desk Was Friendly. The Lady In The Breakfast Room will Say Hi, But Tell You Off In Spanish. Last Day, For The First time Ever, I Got Rushed To Check Out. I Will Not Bother Staying At This One Ever Again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank hernandezcm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
785 reviews
3.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
2.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Berkeley

Address: 920 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94710-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: £97 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn Berkeley 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berkeley's Best Priced -Limited Service HotelAmenities: FREE Breakfast and Wifi, “Seasonal “Heated Pool, Fitness Center, Business Center and Complimentary Parking, - Are All Inclusive In Room Rate. We have On-Site Guest Laundry and Same Day Dry Cleaning Available.Event Space for Rent- Continental Ballroom (4000 SQ Ft) - Berkeley Room (836 SQ Ft) and our Campus Room (392 SQ FT) for Small Functions. We are 1 Mile from Berkeley Marina, 2.5 miles from UC Berkeley Campus, Walking distance to 4th Street shops and restaurants and 13.7 miles from San Francisco's Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Berkeley
Berkeley La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing