We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pros and cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Terrell, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“pros and cons”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I was initially disappointed in this hotel because it is older and in need of remodeling. The location is another concern. It is in an area that does not look very safe, though my wife and I stayed there for three nights and walked to the BART station (about a 1 1/2 miles) and had no problems other than a homeless man asking for money. Everyone connected to the hotel was super nice (especially the lady that served breakfast) so I wish I could offer a better review. Unfortunately I have to say if I were to return to the bay area I would try to stay a little closer to San Francisco and the tourist attractions. The BART system is excellent and we found the locals to be very helpful, friendly and nice beyond expectations! Thank you San Francisco for your hospitality. You made our trip to your beautiful city a wonderful memory!

Room Tip: We had the apartment suite which was very roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txtraveler75161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    94
    79
    54
    37
See reviews for
123
53
32
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

La Quinta Berkeley has greatly improved in the past few years. I recently stayed for 5 nights on two different occasions and was happy with the renovated rooms, good beds, excellent buffet and friendly service at the front desk and in the breakfast room. I also appreciated free local phone calls and accessibility to the freeway leading to San Francisco and elsewhere, not to mention proximity to Brennan's, an Irish sprots bar and hofbrau, a Berkeley institution and paradise for meat and poultry lovers.Overall, the location is excellent with transit, shops and restaurants nearby.
La Quinta provides a clean, comfortable and reasonably-priced room in the very over-priced Bay Area. I will definitely return on my next trip to visit family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justfiddling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have stayed in a lot of la quintas in California and Vegas, but didnt care for this hotel- checked out before 2nd night stay. As pricy as other newer hotels in area and not anywhere worth close to$140 a nt. Location seemed like rougher area and parking lot late at night seemed troublesome. Bed seemed newer and ok, but carpet , walls and bathroom were old, tile work needed repairing. Hotel was farther from San Rafael area than we wanted also, but may work for being near the college and quick stays.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berkeley hotels

Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

La Quinta Berkeley is located along University Avenue, a short distance from the freeway and the bay, making its location with free parking good for seeing the bay area. The area appears to be on the edge of gentrification, although signs in the hotel parking lot suggest that items have been taken from parked vehicles in the past.

Years ago I stayed at this hotel under another brand and La Quinta has done a nice job of keeping the building and rooms in good condition. The room was very large and the beds provided a good night's sleep. A very hearty breakfast is included in the room price which makes for a great value. I booked a room here after being in shock at the room rates being asked for in San Francisco, located just across the bay.

My only issue with La Quinta was there inability to fulfill the reservation made weeks in advance which included a room with a refigerator. Shockingly, an occupied room was given to us initially so it seems they also have computer problems as well. Ultimately La Quinta reduced the evening rate for their failure to fulfill the reservation. The room we had did have an empty spot for a refigerator and you have to wonder why they only have a limited supply of refigerators and then why they seek to charge extra for them.

Except for the failure to fullfil the reservation correctly and initially given us an already occupied room (really, how could that occur?), the hotel itself is nice and provides very good value at a good location for getting around the bay area by car.

Room Tip: the first level of rooms are up a short flight of stairs, so if mobility is a problem, rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USACityPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
312 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

There isn't anything really special about this yet. Although each room has a small balcony. Located directly on University drive you have everything within walking distance it seems. Within 5 minutes you can be write down in the best areas of downtown and the water.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColbyButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHOENIX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

While having breakfast with my 9 & 7 yr old kids, 2 men and the breakfast concierre lady were talking loud and 1 of men kept saying "F" word. Conciere lady was laughing w/ men. She didn't tell them to stop. When men left, I told conciere lady I was offended & my kids disturbed. Conciere lady got snarky & told me to complain to front desk. Our room smells moldie, we didn't get replacement towels after our 2nd day, from then we only got 3 towels for 4 people in room & kept having to go to front desk to ask for a 4th towel. When I was up @ front desk, another guest (from Korea) was telling front desk person that her room smelled like cigarette smoke. My husband could smell someone smoking just the day before. Front desk guy just brushed this guest off and didn't try to help her. A bunch of jerks working @ La Quinta Berkeley, California!

Room Tip: Top floors are free of dog smells, and probably quieter on the foot traffic nose, because you have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlysonBPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#10 of 20 in Berkeley
330 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Berkeley

Property: La Quinta Inn Berkeley
Address: 920 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94710-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn Berkeley 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berkeley's Best Priced -Limited Service HotelAmenities: FREE Breakfast and Wifi, “Seasonal “Heated Pool, Fitness Center, Business Center and Complimentary Parking, - Are All Inclusive In Room Rate. We have On-Site Guest Laundry and Same Day Dry Cleaning Available.Event Space for Rent- Continental Ballroom (4000 SQ Ft) - Berkeley Room (836 SQ Ft) and our Campus Room (392 SQ FT) for Small Functions. We are 1 Mile from Berkeley Marina, 2.5 miles from UC Berkeley Campus, Walking distance to 4th Street shops and restaurants and 13.7 miles from San Francisco's Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Berkeley
Berkeley La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing