We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Price/Value performance is quite good.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Price/Value performance is quite good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

+ Great breakfast (bread, butter, jam, fruits and waffles and tea etc)
+ clean rooms
+ if you are above 2 people, you can use car pool to access san francisco downtown center very fast in traffic or metro easily

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tansudasli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    85
    75
    54
    37
See reviews for
118
50
31
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I was a little hesitant when I heard that my step dad made reservations at this hotel for our two day stay. I had read some of the reviews and was a little dissappointed we were staying here. The hotel is in a area of town that isnt that great but it is close to freeways and Bay Bridge. We stayed here for two nights over weekend while attending Giant's games. It is so expensive to stay in the city that we decided to stay across the bay. The hotel it self is in fairly good condition. Rooms are small but clean. Our air conditioner didnt seem to pump out cold air like I thought it should, as a matter of fact the room seemed to get warmer with the a/c on. The bathroom is very small, I prefer a bigger bathroom, but I guess as long as there is a toilet, shower/tub, and sink thats all you need. The breakfast they provide is good. Waffles, cereal, eggs and sausage along with bagels, muffins, coffee, tea, juice.etc. The last night we stayed someone kept trying to enter our room at about 1 a.m., it was a young girl who didnt speak english and didnt understand that this was not her room. We had to call the front desk and have security help her find her room. The pool was "out of order" during our stay. What does Out of Order mean???

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEANY1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This La Quinta is not too far from UC Berkeley and shopping, however it is not in a good area. Fortunately, the room was clean and comfortable so I didn't mind staying in at night. The building is old which gives the lobby some character for a La Quinta. Some rooms have miniature balconies you can almost walk out onto. The bed and the pillows were very comfortable and I had no complaints with the room cleanliness. The front desk staff was friendly as was the breakfast staff. The breakfast was pretty typical motel but the dining area was large.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiltingpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Used some reward points to book a 2 x QS bed room on 8 Sep 2013.
I have a Travel Card which does not have a name printed on it and this was the first hotel I have encountered that would not accept it even though the La Quinta on-line booking site accepts it.
Disappointed that as a Platinum Member I had to jump through hoops to get the welcome gift that is supposed to be part of the deal.
They have postcards but despite printing them they are hidden away from view and we had to ask for them.
But on the real serious side the hotel is old but nice and the rooms were excellent. WiFI is good and breakfast above average. The girl on duty at breakfast is a gem and makes everyone welcome and ensures breakfast is enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

I have no idea how others thought this place was ok and I am feeling very misled but I am checking out two days early!

The neighborhood is all boarded up and bars on windows. I was told to not walk in the neighborhood. That was the start.

The pool is not clean and the hand rails are weebly wobbly. My room was clean but very stale. The desk clerk said he was putting me into a quiet area. It was until the next door neighbors kept trying to open the adjoining door. Bed was way soft but I did like the firm pillows. Bathroom not working properly. Front desk staff overworked---phone calls not answered.
Breakfast was ok but not worth the stresses.
So disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annfhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berkeley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#9 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#10 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Berkeley

Property: La Quinta Inn Berkeley
Address: 920 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94710-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn Berkeley 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berkeley's Best Priced -Limited Service HotelAmenities: FREE Breakfast and Wifi, “Seasonal “Heated Pool, Fitness Center, Business Center and Complimentary Parking, - Are All Inclusive In Room Rate. We have On-Site Guest Laundry and Same Day Dry Cleaning Available.Event Space for Rent- Continental Ballroom (4000 SQ Ft) - Berkeley Room (836 SQ Ft) and our Campus Room (392 SQ FT) for Small Functions. We are 1 Mile from Berkeley Marina, 2.5 miles from UC Berkeley Campus, Walking distance to 4th Street shops and restaurants and 13.7 miles from San Francisco's Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your La Quinta Inn Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Berkeley
Berkeley La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing