We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of dirty, really thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I'm pretty sure my bathroom wasn't cleaned for the three days I stayed as there was an item on the floor from the moment I checked in until I checked out. Walls are really thin and apparently this is the hotel where men go to argue with their wives over the phone. I heard every word of several conversations.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LMac716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for La Quinta Inn Berkeley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

I booked two of my business travelers in this hotel last week. They just told me that the front desk gave one of them keys to an occupied room. The female occupant was in the shower when my client walked in. The occupant was very shaken up. What a frightening thing to happen! The least they could have done is give them both a free night's stay for this HUGE lack of attention to detail. They offered nothing. Also, it seemed like people were living there as there were a lot of dogs around and the hallways smelled of many unidentified horrible odors. There was a distinct aroma of marijuana in the hallways as well. It was very noisy at night from the other hotel guests. They also reported that half of the lights in the rooms did not work.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blooknup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Maybe one shouldn't expect too much from a La Quinta Inn, but this is really a place to avoid. It's badly in need of refurbishment, worn and grubby, and the breakfast is very substandard. I was thankful I had only reserved one night, and glad to leave. Plus the shower didn't work properly. For $100 a night, one can do much better in California at this time of year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Opera-loverOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, California
1
Reviewed 4 March 2014

All staff that I encountered were very friendly & polite. Miya at the front desk really stood out as she handled my reservation and assisting another guest that was having difficulty with his room.

My room was clean and it was very quiet considering that my window faced busy University Avenue. The queen beds were comfortable and I didn't expect to have the large mini fridge and microwave; I was traveling with a 6' 14 year old boy that needed a place to keep his snacks fresh.

My son enjoyed a breakfast consisting of Belgium waffles, French toast, yogurt, sausge, fresh fruit and pastries. Yes, he ate it all!

Overall, a good value and a good place for all, especially for families.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I booked and prepaid for a two nights stay but then when we checked in they charged us again for the two nights. We had to go back down to the front desk to get those charges removed. Then the next day we were resting in the room when housekeeping started harassing us to check out; we told them we had one more night. Then the front desk called to tell us to check out; we reminded them we had one more night. So we went down to the front desk to get it fixed. They apologized and told us they lost our second nights reservation and booked the room. They told us we could stay but we were so fed up by then we just wanted to leave. A few days after we got home we noticed they charged us again for the one night. So now we have that mess to try to get fixed. This was supposed to be a romantic stress-free get away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A La Quinta traveler
Colton, California
1
Reviewed 21 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Where do i begin, im finally in my room after over a hour at check in, while with a 5 year old at that.

First, we booked with hotels.com book now pay later feature. We called the hotel to make sure there wasnt a incidental charge and that we would NOT have to pay until we checked out. This is how we set up our funds, plus we have more cash being deposited in the middle of our stay so we decided we would just go down and pay early.

The night before we called and spoke with a guy to confirm what was said at the time of booking. We were told complete opposite, that the hotels policy was to hold the entire amount of the room on.our card...well duh we could have just prepaid. Then i told him we spoke with another lady and she said we didnt have to pay until check out. The guy apologized and said they would honor that and he would leave a note for when we check in we are all set.

We show up to find out the guy lied, and left a note that had nothing to do with what was discussed and they wanted the money up front. We spoke with a manager and she acted as if she did not care, nor cared that her employees are incompetent. We finally get someones who cares, and helped us out with extra discounts at that.

We then get a room to find one towel for a double room...had to track down four different people to finally recieve towels, but of course there are housekeeping carts on every floor and nobody has towels.

First night here...im not coming back POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. Which is sad because we are airline employees and travel alot. Wont be back. Room subpar

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
785 reviews
3.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
2.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Berkeley

Address: 920 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94710-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: £97 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn Berkeley 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berkeley's Best Priced -Limited Service HotelAmenities: FREE Breakfast and Wifi, “Seasonal “Heated Pool, Fitness Center, Business Center and Complimentary Parking, - Are All Inclusive In Room Rate. We have On-Site Guest Laundry and Same Day Dry Cleaning Available.Event Space for Rent- Continental Ballroom (4000 SQ Ft) - Berkeley Room (836 SQ Ft) and our Campus Room (392 SQ FT) for Small Functions. We are 1 Mile from Berkeley Marina, 2.5 miles from UC Berkeley Campus, Walking distance to 4th Street shops and restaurants and 13.7 miles from San Francisco's Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Berkeley
Berkeley La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing