We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
“Convenient”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is convenient for a business stay provided that you have a car. Not far from downtown Berkeley and University (about 10 mn). Very close to the highway access. Wifi is good. The breakfast is basic but convenient. The outdoor pool is small but very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    96
    82
    54
    37
See reviews for
128
54
32
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I'm pretty sure my bathroom wasn't cleaned for the three days I stayed as there was an item on the floor from the moment I checked in until I checked out. Walls are really thin and apparently this is the hotel where men go to argue with their wives over the phone. I heard every word of several conversations.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMac716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berkeley hotels

Goodyear
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I booked two of my business travelers in this hotel last week. They just told me that the front desk gave one of them keys to an occupied room. The female occupant was in the shower when my client walked in. The occupant was very shaken up. What a frightening thing to happen! The least they could have done is give them both a free night's stay for this HUGE lack of attention to detail. They offered nothing. Also, it seemed like people were living there as there were a lot of dogs around and the hallways smelled of many unidentified horrible odors. There was a distinct aroma of marijuana in the hallways as well. It was very noisy at night from the other hotel guests. They also reported that half of the lights in the rooms did not work.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blooknup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Maybe one shouldn't expect too much from a La Quinta Inn, but this is really a place to avoid. It's badly in need of refurbishment, worn and grubby, and the breakfast is very substandard. I was thankful I had only reserved one night, and glad to leave. Plus the shower didn't work properly. For $100 a night, one can do much better in California at this time of year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Opera-loverOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 March 2014

All staff that I encountered were very friendly & polite. Miya at the front desk really stood out as she handled my reservation and assisting another guest that was having difficulty with his room.

My room was clean and it was very quiet considering that my window faced busy University Avenue. The queen beds were comfortable and I didn't expect to have the large mini fridge and microwave; I was traveling with a 6' 14 year old boy that needed a place to keep his snacks fresh.

My son enjoyed a breakfast consisting of Belgium waffles, French toast, yogurt, sausge, fresh fruit and pastries. Yes, he ate it all!

Overall, a good value and a good place for all, especially for families.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverbank, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I booked and prepaid for a two nights stay but then when we checked in they charged us again for the two nights. We had to go back down to the front desk to get those charges removed. Then the next day we were resting in the room when housekeeping started harassing us to check out; we told them we had one more night. Then the front desk called to tell us to check out; we reminded them we had one more night. So we went down to the front desk to get it fixed. They apologized and told us they lost our second nights reservation and booked the room. They told us we could stay but we were so fed up by then we just wanted to leave. A few days after we got home we noticed they charged us again for the one night. So now we have that mess to try to get fixed. This was supposed to be a romantic stress-free get away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
778 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
380 reviews
3.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Berkeley

Property: La Quinta Inn Berkeley
Address: 920 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94710-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn Berkeley 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berkeley's Best Priced -Limited Service HotelAmenities: FREE Breakfast and Wifi, “Seasonal “Heated Pool, Fitness Center, Business Center and Complimentary Parking, - Are All Inclusive In Room Rate. We have On-Site Guest Laundry and Same Day Dry Cleaning Available.Event Space for Rent- Continental Ballroom (4000 SQ Ft) - Berkeley Room (836 SQ Ft) and our Campus Room (392 SQ FT) for Small Functions. We are 1 Mile from Berkeley Marina, 2.5 miles from UC Berkeley Campus, Walking distance to 4th Street shops and restaurants and 13.7 miles from San Francisco's Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Berkeley
Berkeley La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing