We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old decayed motel, not so much value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Brussels
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old decayed motel, not so much value for money”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

+ The rooms were big ( we occupied a room with a king bed and a room with two queen beds ), the beds were perfect, the breakfast was not bad ( + scrambled eggs, sausages, freshly baked waffles, - coffee made from a coffee sirop).
- There was a prevailing chemical odor ( opening windows did not help ), the carpet floor was a bit sticky, doors are old. Local friends told us the place is a bad neighbourhood.

Conclusion: this is a rundown motel that charges way too much.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metdank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    91
    77
    54
    37
See reviews for
121
51
31
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this Hotel as part of the start of our West Coast road trip (2 childhood friends). The rooms are descent and clean, big enough and the 2 queen size beds where great. The carpet of the general hallway was dirty but we didnt really care. The location was perfect for us. A short trip over the bay bridge and you can explore San Francisco (stop at treasure island) but its also great to go to the north east as we visited lake tahoe.
The breakfast was one of the best we had our entire roadtrip! The free wifi was also a plus because it was fast en workung fine. Parking space at the back. To be honest, this hotel is not cheap when on a budget as part of a roadtrip. Another negative is the so called gym. A total of some cardio trainin equipment is not the same as a gym and the lack of weightlifting gear made us skip gymtime in total. In conlusion:
+ Rooms big enough and good beds
+ Breakfast was super
+ Location is great to explore when having a car
- Not cheap if you are on a thight budget
- Fitness/gym only consists of some cardio equipment

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florentijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a really classic but aged hotel. It has a roman column style with tapestry furnishings. I love the foliage and landscape. I guess I'm a bit of a naturalist. There was a great tree that looked like it was wearing a hat. I liked the presence of dogs. I like animals and it was good that the hotel allowed the. The cable was awesome as well as the tv. I didn't like that I had to go to the second floor from the 3rd floor to get ice. Then when I got to the 2nd floor the machine barely yielded ice.

Room Tip: Lots of direct sunlight in the rooms facing the north west side. The east side of the building may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Femi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I read the reviews before I booked and this is what I recommend:

1) one of the reviews noted the neighborhood and I agree it isn't the best hornet it isn't the worst either. It would be nice if they closed the north gate after 10PM and monitored the entrance which would add to the sense of security. However our van loaded with our son's belongings (we were helping him move to his new home) was never disturbed and thus we felt just fine in that neighbor hood. Also being aware of your surroundings when you travel is better than being afraid.

2) Re: the "shooting" comment, that is unfortunate that a situation like this occurred during that travelers stay however that isn't the hotels fault. I'm sure the staff attempted to minimize the impact on that traveler and probably also made a monetary adjustment.

3) The hotel commons area and the rooms are very clean and comfortable.

I will return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is a very good value. The rooms are clean and decorated in good taste. Family and pet friendly environment. The breakfast is excellent, and not just continental. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful. We would definitely return to La Quinta Berkeley.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
2 Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapeland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is an older hotel that has been remodeled. I had problems with the front desk staff upon checking in while asking for an upgrade. Then I was unable to procure any washcloths for my stay. However the manager on duty, Joy, was very helpful and resolved my problems during my stay.

Room Tip: I was on the 2nd floor and could hear people on the 3rd floor walking and moving above me. There w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.7 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#10 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Berkeley

Property: La Quinta Inn Berkeley
Address: 920 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94710-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn Berkeley 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berkeley's Best Priced -Limited Service HotelAmenities: FREE Breakfast and Wifi, “Seasonal “Heated Pool, Fitness Center, Business Center and Complimentary Parking, - Are All Inclusive In Room Rate. We have On-Site Guest Laundry and Same Day Dry Cleaning Available.Event Space for Rent- Continental Ballroom (4000 SQ Ft) - Berkeley Room (836 SQ Ft) and our Campus Room (392 SQ FT) for Small Functions. We are 1 Mile from Berkeley Marina, 2.5 miles from UC Berkeley Campus, Walking distance to 4th Street shops and restaurants and 13.7 miles from San Francisco's Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Berkeley
Berkeley La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing