We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accessibility rooms and free internet.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed 20 October 2010

I wanted a accessibility room and staying with my parents. They only had rooms with one king bed that was so high my mom could not climb into it. How high? 32 inches and too thigh in the room for moving around in her wheelchair. Her option was to sleep in a rollaway bed that was too low, that blocked our exit and access to the bathroom.

WiFi required us to go through a log in SLOW log in process again and again, despite testing fast in a speed test, they seem to throttle usage. I gave up and it was easier to use my 3G phone for internet access.

We had trouble with our access card and had to stand outside the building for a long time one night until someone coming out let us in. We would spend 5 mins. trying to open our room door before we got in.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllanD04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for La Quinta Inn Berkeley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2010

If it wasn't for the following amenities, then this hotel would've gotten a lower rating (half star)

Located on busy University Ave. right near the 80 freeway, a couple miles from UCB, if you're facing the front, be prepared for noise. We requested a room facing the back so we didn't have to deal w/ street noise...just stupid barking dogs and screaming kids :(

We've stayed at several types of hotels from first class to budget hotels and I have personally found that when confronted w/ an issue, it's soooo much more effective to be NICE to the workers and you'll get treated nicely, but w/ this hotel, their service is terrible w/ a capital T even if you're nice to them!

If you have any requests/needs to be accomodated, forget this hotel. From corporate end, they don't even really respond to you. I tried several times to contact the hotel and couldn't get any help from any worker. The "lady" that checked us in had no personality and wouldn't help us w/ anything.

Just to get towels I had to wait over 3 hours and make 2 calls to her and when finally getting towels she calls me and tells me to come downstairs to the front desk to get them! Even in the worst hotel I've stayed at, I've never had to get my own towels!

While the workers aren't directly "rude" to your face, they're not overly helpful, is the best way I could describe this hotel. They're lazy and couldn't care less about setting a good impression. The guy who checked me out was much friendlier.

Thank God it was just a one night stay (to visit UCB). The Berkeley area is disgusting, scary and smells like pot, urine & smoke. Yuck! Couldn't get out of here soon enough!!! It was not a safe feeling.

Having said that, they provide 2 perks which provide for a cost saving stay if you do have to stay there.

Therefore, if you're a practical type of frugal traveller, who wants "the comforts of home" (which we are) then you'll really appreciate these amenities:

1. Free parking
2. Free breakfast every morning until 9:30 am. They provide juice, coffee, tea, milk, waffles, toast/bagels/pastries, instant oatmeal, dry cereals. Bottled water dispenser in gym & dining room

They also have on site laundry room if you need it (we didn't use, so I don't know how much it cost).

Now here are the features/our experience that would lower our rating:
1. No pool for use (under construction), which wasn't a big deal since it was just overnight. I don't think they have a jacuzzi either.
2. Walls are thin so yes, you can hear your neighbors- screaming kids and barking dogs. But we just kept the AC on the entire time in our room to drown out noise. Plus I always use ear plugs.
3. fitness room is useless
4. Bad customer service/not helpful employees, even when you are very nice to them (which I always am).

We got this on priceline (it was 2 star rating hotel, which I think is too high). Compared to other priceline deals, this was way over priced.

The room we had were 2 double beds

Housekeeping/front desk was terrible.

If you want pool/jacuzzi, entertainment, nice gym, fancy hotel, you'll be disappointed. If customer service is important to you, then you'll hate this place. I would really try to avoid La Quinta hotels in the future (although we had a decent experience @ LQ in Santa Ana, which is under a separate review).

Have safe & happy travels!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoCalTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

The La Quinta Inn is located on University Avenue, near Rt. 80. The property is well fenced, but the area is a little worn. We stay here every two years for a business conference. The carpeting is the same as what we saw two years ago, and is showing its age - it's dirty and looks as if a good shampooing won't make a difference any more. However, the staff are very nice and friendly, the breakfast is very reasonable and the room where it's served is nice. The room itself is large, and the bathroom is well lit and ours was quite clean. When asked for a quiet room, we were put at the end of the hall facing the back of the hotel, ideal for us. There were plenty of towels. The room includes a small refrigerator and microwave, along with a card table sized table with two chairs which make eating in the room convenient. Trader Joe's has just opened a little over a mile away. So... the room itself it nice, except for the carpet. The hotel staff are helpful. It's not a bad choice for the price, but a long way from plush.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Recorders9345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We chose the La Quinta Inn and Suites because it was close to our home (we were remodeling) and they accepted pets. The hotel was undergoing its own renovation, so the water was off during the day, several days of our extended stay. It is unfortunate that the remodeling was going on...and most unfortunate that the workers were noisy and started working before 7am.

There were a few issues with the room. Our room was next door to the maintenance room, and the workers were very noisy in there. Then, they found out that our toilet was leaking and the staff wanted us to move to another room, so they could make repairs (this was problematic because we had hunkered down for a two weeks stay-- moving the dog and two computers, as well as our suitcases).

Our dog had had her flea dip before we went to the room, but there were still fleas in the room. We think they were in the room, and not from our dog (she usually doesn't
have a problem with that since we give her medication on a regular schedule)

We liked that the hotel mops the common area floors several times a day. And, the breakfast was nice everyday. The internet wasn't consistent, but that's to be expected. We liked the location-- there's a Tiki Bar a couple of doors down and it's really yummy.

We will have to stay in the hotel again, I'm sure, as we finish remodeling and moving. Hopefully, La Quinta is done with its remodeling and the hotel is quieter now.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madamswalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Stayed here for one night with my high school junior while visiting UC Berkeley for the tour. I picked this spot due to the proximity to the campus visiting center (8 minute drive), and cheap rate. (Considerably cheaper than the nearby HI Express, where we usually stay on road trips). It's also easy to find off the I-80. (My wife wasn't along so we didn't have to stay at a 5 Star property). All in all, it's about what I expected. The room was generally OK. A few small stains on the carpet, the bathroom was clean, the beds were comfortable, numerous TV channels (although no local ones), and the breakfast buffet was the usual deal. Free wi-fi worked well in our room. The 3 story hotel is a bit uninviting from the outside...a rectangle on a parking lot enclosed by the high barred fence. There are restaurants 7 or 8 blocks down the street toward the campus, but walking there at night looked a bit spotty, as the neigborhood is deserted at night. All in all? Not too bad...not too good.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingTGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

3rd floor beds are extra narrow doubles. Impossible to get good internet reception. I was only able to get service in the hall on the first floor. Pool was closed. Shower didn't really work, very slow to drain, and hot and cold were reversed. Very thin walls. Funny odor in rooms and halls. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skygreen008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Nice, older motel. We were there on business (construction) with our service truck. No problems with theft, etc., even though you're basically right on the street.
Rooms are as you would expect. Beds were comfortable. The complimentary breakfast in the mornings hit the spot! Waffles, cereals, fruits, bagels and cream cheese, muffins, pastries, sometimes eggs and hash browns, sometimes biscuits and gravy, plus a juice bar, lots of coffee, tea, milk, etc. Staff is middle of the road friendly and helpful.
Price was reasonable ($80+/-/night?) We stayed there off and on for a few weeks. Pool was not open during our stay. Bummer. A/C did not work in most rooms we stayed in. Very loud, no cooling. Bummer 2.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maynord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
785 reviews
3.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
2.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Berkeley

Address: 920 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94710-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: £97 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn Berkeley 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berkeley's Best Priced -Limited Service HotelAmenities: FREE Breakfast and Wifi, “Seasonal “Heated Pool, Fitness Center, Business Center and Complimentary Parking, - Are All Inclusive In Room Rate. We have On-Site Guest Laundry and Same Day Dry Cleaning Available.Event Space for Rent- Continental Ballroom (4000 SQ Ft) - Berkeley Room (836 SQ Ft) and our Campus Room (392 SQ FT) for Small Functions. We are 1 Mile from Berkeley Marina, 2.5 miles from UC Berkeley Campus, Walking distance to 4th Street shops and restaurants and 13.7 miles from San Francisco's Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Berkeley
Berkeley La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing