We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in Berkeley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Berkeley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed here one night for a concert on Berkeley's campus. This eco-friendly hotel was extremely clean and comfortable. This hotel is in easy walking distance to Telegraph road, campus, and the BART station. The only negative was that there was no designated parking for the hotel, and this was a bit of a challenge. Parking in Berkeley is free after 6pm and on Sundays. Just something to be aware of if you arrive earlier in the day. All in all, for the price and convenience I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    414
    126
    57
    26
See reviews for
294
283
124
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed here just a night to visit my son and daughter-in-law for the weekend. It is perfectly located in Berkeley. It is close to BART, the University, and an easy walk to Starbucks (and other shops and restaurants...). The hotel is nicely decorated in a slightly funky style that reflects the "culture" and feel of the area. The check-in and out was easy and the staff was helpful and friendly. The prices were reasonable for a very nice hotel. I enjoyed my stay and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Check on-line and compare all the rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannieray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I was part of a large wedding party staying at your property. Front desk Kevin McHale was courteous, friendly, and engaging, as was his cohort, whose name I didn't get. They were helpful in directions and information regarding the immediate area. My request to be in a quiet corner room away from the elevators toward the end of the hallway was easily accommodated and appreciated. I never heard any street noise, which turned out to be great as there was some kind of midnight parade that many people heard on the main avenue. The servers in dining room were prompt, courteous, and went out of their way to make me happy honoring special requests. The food was fresh, prepared well, and delicious. I'm a tour operator, so I constantly gauge service and quality, and found the experience at the Shattuck Plaza to be exceptional. I regularly use the Hilton Hotel across the United States, and travel regularly to Hawaii, having been to Europe several times, South Pacific, etc.

The only thing I would recommend is some type of shuttle service to/from the Oakland Airport so we don't have to use Bart, which is a stressful experience to those not familiar with public transit. I would easily pay for shuttle service rather than repeat that.

Room Tip: Away from the main street at end of hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michale89450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

I stayed 3 nights when attending a meeting at UCB and it was extremely comfortable and contrary to other reviews commenting on the noise, you could hear a pin drop in my room. Granted some rooms overlook the street, but I just asked for one away from the road and it was perfect for me (the light sleeper). The staff were excellent, helpful and polite, and the room spotless and O H my the bed is comfy!! My only gripe is you cant make coffee in the room (c'mon now even cheaper chains give you coffee!). Now there is complimentary coffee *in the lobby* if you are prepared to hoof it down there and it also stops at 6,30am. Hello!? Since I was on UK time this was actually not a problem but for most, well, this is an irritation.

That said I would stay again, as its a great spot and very much has the luxury feel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from Shattuck..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotbokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

I stayed there in April 2011 and found the hotel to be very quaint. Although the rooms seemed smaller than others I've stayed at, I had absolutely zero complaints about it or anything else. Raul in the hotel's restaurant was just fabulous. He has a constant welcoming smile and did all he could to make our meals enjoyable - which they were. And Imelda took excellent care of me and my room. I want to point to those two staff members
who were just OUTSTANDING! Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canucksr0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

This is the first eco-friendly hotel I stayed in. It was one of the reasons I chose it. The nice thing is that you'd never know it. The shower pressure was great, and the oversized showerhead was a nice touch. The low flow toilet worked just like the standard kind. The bath products were from EO which I really liked. The location is also very convenient because it's right next to the BART station so you can go directly from either airport.

I had the double which was small, but I didn't mind since I'm petite. I think a taller or larger person would have found it way too small and cramped. I was aware ahead of time that the space would be small since all of the buildings in this area are old. I don't think you can expect a whole lot of space in this neighborhood. The only thing was the bathroom sink. It was tiny! About the size of an airplane sink. It was also pedestal style with no counter space. I ended up burning myself with my hair dryer because I had no place to put it while styling my hair. The sink is so small that it's very difficult to keep the water in since the spout hangs way too far over.....almost to the edge. It would have been nice if they had at least installed some small shelves to put toiletries. Other than that, I appreciated the fact that the bathroom was the cleanest hotel bathroom to date, and was modern and stylish. No mold, no stray hairs, no stains.

The bedding was great, super comfortable, and warm. All of the furniture was well kept and seemed pretty new. Again, since the building is old, the walls are thin and you can hear everything that goes on in the hallways. Luckily, there didn't seem to be too many other guests and they were quiet. I think if there were kids running around, it would have been an uncomfortable stay. You can literally hear every word through the walls and door.

The hotel staff over-all was very helpful and friendly. Some of them lacked a bit of professionalism (one hostess at the restaurant was having a personal conversation on the phone while she saw me waiting for her then finally decided to get off the phone, and one of the front staff who seemed to get a little too friendly asked me upon my return to the hotel "who was that guy?" meaning the one I was with earlier .....weirdness!. I think he realized it and when I said "what?" he pretended he didn't ask. Another one warmly greeted me when I walked in the door, but didn't lift a finger when he saw my lugging in my heavy bag up the little stairs before I noticed the ramp. Little things like that matter when it comes to custmer service, but all of the other staff members were excellent.

I regret not trying out the restaurant because it's supposed to be very good. I just didn't have time to try it on this trip since I had dinner plans every night. Overall a good stay and good location.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetSetOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Most of the Shattuck's rooms face Shattuck Avenue, a major boulevard. I've learned to ask for a room facing the Bay--they're generally quieter. My first night (ages ago), I had a sleepless night in a room facing Shattuck--AC Transit buses, trucks and automobiles run along Shattuck all night. I learned to ask for a Bay-facing room that is quieter. Don't stay in a lower floor at all.

It's a _great_ location for convenience to Cal, to downtown Berkeley, and BART (30 seconds walk) but for quieter, the Durant is much better (albeit 10 minutes from BART). Even quieter, the Doubletree at the Marina--it's a remote location, but beautiful views of the Bay, and they offer shuttle service from/to BART and AMTRAK during the day.

I'm sad that the renovation proved to be cosmetic in terms of noise reduction, I'll think carefully about my next visit.

Room Tip: best to stay in rooms facing SF Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBPasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrEuanTaylor, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your constructive comments.
As a 1910 building we have a varied room configuration. We are working closely to ensure that our service is personalized to guest preferences. In a historic hotel is important for the team to know the room configuration and assign accommodations according to preference, length of stay, and best use of availability.
I hope you choose to stay with us again, so that we may provide you with a great experience.

Sincerely,

Euan Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.6 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Property: Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Berkeley
#1 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing