We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant boutique hotel, nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel is nicely renovated, and located downtown very near the BART station, with good restaurants nearby. The staff is friendly, if sometimes a little bit confused about the hotel's amenities. The rooms near the street are pretty noisy, but the water pressure in the shower is very good.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank TokyoVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

5 stars if the walls were less thin - easy to hear conversations - but there are ear plugs in the desk. Otherwise, the hotel really got it right. It has the charm of an older hotel, with high ceilings, a beautiful lobby (mostly taken up by an excellent restaurant, Five). Everything brand new. Even the hallways were beautiful with wonderful carpeting and brightly lit fixtures. The room - a 5th floor king bed room with bay view - was large. Lots of storage, robes in the closet. Desk to work on, marble floor in bath, upscale fixtures. It's worth paying a bit more for the 5th floor bay view: yes, just below are rooftops and ventilation units, but it's great to have the sun and the light. Check-in or out could be a bit slow as there are but two stations. Friday night saw a large group of students checking in but I just missed the rush so I was in the room in minutes. BART station is steps away, coffee places abound, and the university is blocks away. A wonderful stay, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Bay view, fifth floor worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We spent 3 nights there. When we checked in the bar was really hopping because it was Valentine's day. The front desk was very welcoming and got us checked in in no time. The room was very nicely furnished and comfortable (although the bed was only a double, not even a queen). Our roome was a corner room with lots of windows which let in lots of light. Not much of a view, but it was really quiet since it was away from the main streets. The locations can't be beat, with lots of shops and restaurants right outside the door, a short block to BART, and a few blocks to UC Berkeley campus.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJO2430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

just spent here a long weekend. excellent hotel. located right in the center of Berkeley, good size room (king), comfort bed, excellent bathroom, nice coffee machine in the room, housekeeping is doing good job and so does the front desk. nice lobby with a good restaurant and bar (see separate review). i do recommend.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for a week while I was at LBNL and UC. The staff was very helpful and could not be more friendly without overdoing it. The BART station is right around the corner and there are a number of restaurants and snack shops close by. The location reminded us of Harvard Square from thirty years ago, even a great discount book store. Unfortunately that includes the homeless.
When we checked in, the first room they showed us was down a winding corridor and rather small. We asked to see another and they took us to a great room on the fifth floor. Large, comfortable and a terrific view of SF. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOSTONtrav0194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed during our visit to Berkely last year. The hotel was cozy and warm, though outside was a little cold. Room a bit small but got everything even a coffee maker and a decent coffee. Didnt' had a chance to take breakfast but did tried the dinner, it was not bad. Staff are nice and friendly. One of the best hotel in Berkely I'm sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sakon_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We ate in the restaurant/bar. Our dinner and drinks were fantastic. We had the prix fixe meal and it was probably the best meal we have had in years. We live in Santa Cruz, CA and are surrounded by excellent bars and restaurants but your restaurant stepped up the game.We are still telling our friends and family about it! We will be telling Yelp, net. On our last stay , we stayed in a superior king room. Beautiful and so luxurious for the amount of money spent in November. This time we called from our drive on HWY and made a reservation for a "Deluxe King"...sadly, not the same thing. The price was 215 about the same as we paid for the superior king..We felt a bit ripped off with the a much smaller room, no view and fewer in-room amenities than the last stay.We asked if there was a large tub in the room when we called and we were told there was. We were disappointed to find the standard hotel shower/tub in the room. We will get over it.But the stay and the inequity between our previous room and the one we stayed in last..kind of left a bad taste in our mouths. We will probably try another hotel to see if we can get an equal value for our money. All staff was wonderful. I would definitely recommend this place but I would warn our friends to get the Superior king room, or not bother.

Room Tip: Opt for the Superior room and not the Deluxe. The "deluxe" is a standard room at a luxury...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akibomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.6 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
790 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#7 of 20 in Berkeley
266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1430
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#1 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: £115 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing