We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Love This Hotel”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I am giving the Hotel Shattuck Plaza five stars because TEN is not an option!

I teared up saying goodbye to the general manager, as I tried to express my heartfelt appreciation for the warmth, responsiveness, friendliness and attention that the staff provided to me and my family during our week in residence. My favorite hotel stay---ever.

We booked more than 30 rooms for an extended wedding weekend and we really put the staff through their paces, especially by starting our visit with a car crash at their front door. The hotel is beautifully kept, and the housekeeping staff brought towels & toiletries, took laundry, tidied up after the bridal party, etc. The front desk staff managed endless requests--changing rooms, calling cabs, providing BART tutorials, advising about activities & attractions, etc. The dining room/bar staff kept up with a constant stream of guests, some landing mid-meal, and many with the same last name but 30 different room numbers. [Let me recommend the entire menu, but especially the bacon & eggs and French fries, my favorite comfort foods.]

HSF is ideal for a wedding party. The lobby, bar and dining room all flow into one another so you can sit anywhere (the lobby has several seating areas) and see friends coming in the door or off the elevator. So, for example, someone could order coffee, and be joined by a couple who wanted breakfast, and wave goodbye to others heading off to sightsee in the city. Personally I enjoyed sitting at the bar where everyone could stop for a drink and make dinner plans.

As the mother-of-the-bride, I was concerned about the comfort and happiness of many people, some of whom had travelled overseas to be with us. The hotel staff made this a delightful task. They actively contributed to the success of the entire weekend. And, the bed was fabulous :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Donna S,

Thank you so much for your raving review. We were so delighted to be part of your weeklong stay and your Daughter's wedding. You had a chance to experience our team at their best and we thank you for sharing as the team was ecstatic to see how they played such a positive role in your experience.

We hope to welcome you back and wish you all the best in your travels.

Best regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, Restaurant & Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    424
    126
    60
    26
See reviews for
300
287
124
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This is a really pice and convenient place to stay in Berkeley. It is directly close to the BART and the Unicersity. I stood there for four days and really enjoyed it. The major disadvantage is that the bar closes at 10:30.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lerche35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
lerche35,

Thank you for your comments on your four night stay. We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled that you had such a great experience. We hope to welcome you back soon

Best regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, Restaurant & Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The number one priority of a hotel is to provide the conditions for a good sleep.
Unfortunately, this is not the case with room 212 at Shattuck Plaza. The room shares a wall with the fitness center having 3 treadmills exactly at the other side of the wall behind your pillow. The typical treadmill noise wave made the whole walls vibrate and obviously no sleep was possible after 5:30a. It is so intense that you can pretty much guess how many people are running as well as their approximate weight.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank talos2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear talos2007,

We regret that you were disappointed with your stay due to the proximity to the fitness room and apologize for this. We have corrected this by altering the time it opens and are researching other ways to provide both a restful sleep and an available fitness center. We have also noted your profile that you do not want to be in room 212. We also encourage guest to use the YMCA with is complimentary to hotel guests with a pass.

Best, regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, Restaurant & Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Lovely lobby (love the peace sign at the door) with a hip, trendy vibe and a very cool bar and restaurant off to one side. Rooms were a little small on the small side but nothing unexpected or unmanageable for a family of 4. Very nice, clean, nice amenities (including a Kcup coffee machine, which I always appreciate). Very firm mattress (a little firm for my preference) but otherwise comfy furniture. Excellent service.
The location has a bit more of an urban-gritty feel than you might expect in Berkeley, where the bucolic Cal campus is just a block or two away. While I was a bit taken aback by the proliferation of panhandlers in the area, I never felt threatened. The area is very walkable with plenty of food choices around, and not too far from the "gourmet ghetto."

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Missgrl,

Thank you for your lovely review of our unique decor, convenient location, and commitment to guest service.

We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, Restaurant & Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Like a Kimpton: cool, hip, clean, nice amenities, and a bargain. I have spent less per night here than the dumpy motels and motor inns down on University Ave. Would highly recommend. Very close to the Berkeley subway stop and gourmet gulch on upper Shattuck.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear craig f,

Thank you for sharing about your experience while a guest at the Hotel Shattuck Plaza. We love feedback and it is great to know when we exceeded expectations. We are also delighted to know that our central location to Berkeley and all the SF Bay area was convenient for you during your visit.

All the best in your travels. We look forward to seeing you again!

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, Restaurant & Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel was great everything I needed for a quick stay. I would have given it a 5 star if it weren't for the areas around it was very sad. Filled with homeless people begging for food or money, many smoking pot. trash every were. it was a true disappointment for someone who's daughter was considering to apply to the university. So much for that. First impressions are everything. If this hotel were in another city I will definitely stay again, But never in Berkley.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Esy 26,

We are glad that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel. However regret that you were disappointed with the condition that you found downtown. I recently returned from travelling to another major city and found similar circumstances, but without some of the unique support systems we have. What I do appreciate about downtown Berkeley is that we are working to find solutions to these common concerns. One of those solutions are the Downtown Berkeley Ambassadors that help with the keeping our downtown clean and provide great information to all who visit.

All the best in your travels. We hope that you will try Berkeley again.

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, Restaurant & Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

After our last stay, I decided to book another room for our stay during our daughter's CalSO orientation at Berkeley. Because there were going to be 3 of us in a room this time (my other daughter stayed in the dorms), I decided to book at Shattuck suite. I thought it would be bigger and it was, to a certain degree although the rooms at this hotel, with the exception of the presidential suite, just seem to be on the small side due to the age of the building. That said, I can't really complain, as I know this from the get-go.

Always greeted at the door by the doorman, can't remember his name but he was very friendly. Check-in was easy, we were on our way up to the suite in no time. Upon entrance, I was a little let down, considering the price we paid for the night. ($285/night). The room is bigger in that it has a bigger bathroom than the first room we stayed in and just a king size bed in the bedroom and there is a living room attached with a very cramped couch set up with 2 wicker chairs and a coffee table all placed close together. Not a big deal, except I wish they would perhaps put a fold-out couch/bed instead of the small velour (and VERY worn) couches they have in the room. There is a small second 1/2 bath off the double-entry doors that was helpful getting 3 girls ready in the morning. I was able to get a roll-away bed brought up to the room for an additional charge of $25/night, which put our room rates over $300 a night each night.

Our room once again faced over Shattuck Avenue, I was hoping that perhaps this time since we were getting a suite, we'd get one of the higher up rooms with this elusive "view of the bay" I hear some reviewers rave about, but alas, once again my room overlooked the Shattuck side with about 20 homeless people congregating directly below our room (536). At night they sang, screamed, yelled, played drums (I kid you not!) but it did seem to settle down around 11-12pm. My oldest daughter said it kept her up, but after I fell asleep it didn't wake me up during the night. When I left early in the morning, as I headed out the door and rounded the corner on Shattuck we were greeted by another person sleeping on the ground, sprawled out with his blanket and a sign asking for money so he could..errr..pay for some lady company. (use your imagination as to what it actually said.) The homeless population in Berkeley is to be expected, so this isn't Hotel Shattuck's fault either. But again it boils down to paying over $300 a night for a hotel above homeless people, when I pay the same for a beautiful ocean front room on Maui too. It just feels bad. Sigh... But I digress.

The room had an awful smell when we first arrived. I couldn't place it but my mother in law said it smelled like some type of cleaning agent. I just felt it smelled a bit caustic. I did get used to it and it didn't bother me but at first, it was quite strong. Room was clean, bedding great, but as I mentioned the furniture was looking a bit shoddy, especially for a $300 a night suite. (see pictures) Presentation is what helps you feel good about your purchase, whether it be the food on your plate or the amenities of a hotel room and the stains (slightly crusty and white) on the couch and the arm chair's shoddy and worn armrests could be attended to. We actually turned the cushions over and sat on the backsides...For lack of a better word, it's just "icky."

I was excited to see that there were actually liquid creamers left out by the Keurig machine this time. In my last review, I mentioned it was a great idea to have the Keurig but it was ruined with the cheap run of the mill motel 6 creamer packets and sugar. There were indeed 2 small liquid generic creamers on our arrival! Wonderful! HOWEVER...I used them the first day and they were NEVER AGAIN replenished our entire trip. I was always just left the plastic packet and no more liquid creamers. So I guess for $300/night you get 2 creamers, and the rest of the nights stays you get nothing. Not a deal breaker, but again..it's the little things. I did find it interesting that they did not ever replenish the creamers, which I used...but left duplicates and extras of the shampoos and conditioners in the bathroom each day, even though we never touched the originals ones.

Would I spring for a Shattuck suite again? Certainly not for the price of $300/night. I found our first room, which wasn't a suite, to be nearly as large, but with 2 beds, yes a smaller bathroom but it just felt like I was getting what I paid for versus a suite that seemed a bit disappointing. I booked rooms here a second time because it was "close" to U.C. Berkeley and it is...but when you have to walk up there 3-4 times a day, you realize it's actually 1/2 mile to the dorms from there, and I was walking 3 miles a day in sandals. I found a parking garage directly next to unit 3, where I parked for 5 hours and they charged me $2.50. The parking garage across from Shattuck is much more expensive and the time there starts at 2am. So when you drive in at 8am, that's $17. Then at 2am, it's $17 more dollars, so for one night you're clocked for $34. We spent too much on parking this time for sure.

Overall, the stay was "ok." The doorman was extremely kind. The second day our key cards were "de-activated" and I got stuck trying to figure out why my key wouldn't work the elevator and before I knew it, off it took me up to the 3rd floor. Well my key still wouldn't work and I was stuck on the 3rd floor, so I got off and had to walk up 2 more flights of stairs to get to my room, where...my key didn't work either. Went back downstairs and he remade me two keys, although he wasn't sure why both of our keys had been deactivated. (we weren't checking out that day.)

It is by far one of the nicest choices IN Berkeley, however, you pay dearly for it and I am not sure the experience is really worth the price. I feel bad saying that, but the second time just made it clear I guess.

Room Tip: Ask for higher up rooms, rooms that don't face Shattuck, ask if you can have one of the rooms th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Tammy B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback while a guest at the hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we learn what we do well and what we can improve. We are addressing the inconsistency between your stays with our team and look forwarding to welcoming you back.

Best, regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, Restaurant & Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.6 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Property: Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1430
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Berkeley
#1 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing