We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous & Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous & Excellent Service”
Reviewed 10 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at this beautifully renovated hotel (only been opened for 3 months) the Saturday of Labor Day weekend in conjunction with a Cal football game. We would definitely stay here again and I highly recommend this hotel. The staff all went above and beyond. From the very start (booking over the phone) I was told of a Fall special ($139) which included a great room and breakfast for 2. I called the day we were to arrive to inquire about parking and the front desk clerk took the time to run across the street to the parking garage to confirm the price ($10 for 24 hours) and called me back within 5 minutes. Check in was a breeze and although we didn't like the first room (noisy on the Shattuck Ave. side of the hotel), we were quickly accomodated with a change to a fairly spacious, interior room. The room was clean and very unique. Trendy but not weird/over the top. Great bed, very nice linens, flat screen TV (although slow on channel changes), nice toiletries, vessel sink and great shower head. At 11:15 p.m.I realized I forgot my contact lens solution, went to the front desk to ask about all night stores and the clerk let me borrow his. Now that's service! Breakfast the next morning was delicious, very fresh, plentiful and there were no menu restrictions. The decor of the hotel is funky and tastefully done. When in Berkeley, stay at the Hotel Shattuck Plaza. Great location too.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    423
    126
    60
    26
See reviews for
300
287
124
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, WA USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Comfy beds, linens and bathrobes. Updated decor, outrageous bar/restaurant, sincere staff, convenient location - BART, University, Library, Buses. Only complaints - no coffee in the room, TV reception could be better (news/sports hound).
Will always stay at Hotel Shattuck when in Berkeley.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fundogsnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, NE
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2009

The hotel has been gorgeously remodeled. The entire hotel, from the lobby to my room, was spotlessly clean. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever experienced, beautiful vessel bowl & modern fixtures in the bathroom, LCD TV mounted on the wall, and the staff were all very friendly & helpful. My only complaint: a fair amount of street noise in my room, even with the windows closed, but this is not the hotel's fault, nor the staff's.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCSNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrales, NM
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

My wife & I stayed on July 16th & thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The ownership has done a great job at renovating a Berkeley institution. Deferential service, fun decor & spotlessly clean rooms...all at a reasonable rate.
Only critique: Why are the lites so bright in the lobby, bar & restaurant at nite? We felt like we were about to be interrogated. Lower lighting would have softened the ambience of the black & white lobby.

Skip from Corrales, NM

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TildenLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We are frequent visitors to the Bay area and found this hotel experience the best by far. The ambiance, room accommodations, service and food at this newly renovated historic hotel were all exceptional. Our suite was spotless, quiet and extremely comfortable with a lovely Bay view. The location was very convenient with Bart right across the street. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant (Five) with two other couples. We sampled two delicious appetizers, surf and turf eggs and mac and cheese. The lamb and fish entrees were beautifully presented and all were exceptional selections. Desserts were also yummy. An added bonus was the extremely reasonable menu prices. Our breakfast experience was also a treat. The staff was helpful and friendly throughout our stay. We intend to return to Berkeley in the fall and will be sure to stay at Hotel Shattuck Plaza.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shapiro7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2009

My husband and I went to Cal and lived in Berkeley for years. We live in the South Bay now but like to go stay up there for a couple days for our anniversary every year. We like to eat at Chez Panisse so it's nice to have a hotel nearby. We'd heard the Shattuck Plaza had just reopened so we thought we'd give it a shot. It didn't have a very good reputation before but we figured maybe it had improved and you really can't beat the location.

The rooms were lovely and well appointed. Not very large but the price was quite reasonable so I thought it was good value for the money. The bed and linens were very comfortable. The hotel staff was helpful and professional. The restaurant wasn't open yet so I can't report on that.

The only downside was the lack of parking on site. It's an older building in downtown so that's not really a surprise. There's a pay parking lot right across the street, though. The price was reasonable and you can leave your car overnight. I didn't find it to be a big deal.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FigNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2009

The hotel was recently rennovated. It is modern, chic, simple and nice. Had a king room, not the largest, but fine. Fantastic staff.

AND, they served the best eggs benedict I have ever had! Really, it was that good.
I'd go out of my way to have it again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N6579M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.6 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Property: Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1430
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#1 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing