We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel on a small scale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Southern California
1 review
“Grand Hotel on a small scale”
Reviewed 23 February 2010

The new Hotel Shattuck Plaza is a stunning hotel. The web site does not do it justice. I have stayed in 5 star and moderate hotels and though this is a small "boutique" hotel it is well worth your business. It is a wonderful blend of old world elegance and modern sophistication. It is both traditional, worthy of the hotel's heritage, and whimsical.
Even if a hotel is lovey, the personnel "makes or breaks" a hotel. Everyone I met was pleasant, courteous, professional, efficient and took the time to ask if I had any questions or requests.
The room had a homey feel, very clean, quiet, with a wonderful comfortable bed. Something any traveler can appreciate.
There is no reason to go any further then Shattuck's "Five" restaurant and bar for fine dining. The food was delicious, the service quick, the staff attentive and all at a very affordable price. I enjoyed dinner and breakfast and was impressed with both.
Overall I highly recommend this hotel for either a short or long term stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gentoomll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    446
    133
    63
    28
See reviews for
316
302
128
469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2010

I organized a business meeting in this hotel in February 2010, and for this reason I have worked with many people from the staff and heard the feedback from several dozens of guests. The hotel has been recently completely renewed, and the rooms are very comfortable (even though I would have a few remarks to the architect about the wallpaper and the bathroom doors). Being downtown, it is very convenient if you want to travel to SF by BART, but it can be noisy because of the traffic in the street.

The meeting facilities are good but still improvable, but the problems were promptly solved by the staff. Also people at the front desk are professional and efficient. I did not have the chance to have lunch there, but the breakfast is really good.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PazBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

First of all they let us check in at 10am. Our room was small, but very nicely furnished. If you have the option, request a room NOT facing Shattuck Street. The hotel provides earplugs, but the people shouting/singing/carrying on until the bars close, police sirens, and african drumming still carries through. Otherwise a beautiful hotel whose staff will bend over backwards to make your stay perfect. There was even a long stemmed red rose on our bed from turn down service. Very classy.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keliiaua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American Canyon, CA
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Great location in the heart of downtown Berkeley, steps from the BART station, surrounded by lots of restaurants and bars.

The hotel was nice and quiet. I previously stayed at The Hotel Durant and the room and location was disappointing. The Hotel Shattuck Plaza is a notch about any other hotel in Berkeley with it's wall to wall brand new amenities and peaceful location that is close enough to UC Berkeley to have quick access but far engouh to allow a good night's sleep.
I love the beautiful new design. I love the colors and decor in the lobby and throughout the hotel. The reds used really accent the room.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuiltLady78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

What a nice hotel. Very friendly staff, great lobby, quiet rooms, comfortable beds.

Free internet access on 2 computers in the lobby, and a great restaurant with a grand atmosphere for breakfast.

Lots of Europeans seemed to be staying at the hotel while we were there.

Only downside is that you have to park on the street or in the parking garage, but we always lucked out with street parking overnight (free until 9 am). Although we didn't use BART, it was nice to see the hotel was less than a block from the entrance to BART.

We used this as a base, since we needed to be visiting Oakland, but didn't want to stay in Oakland after several less than optimal stays at various hotels near Jack London Square. Much more pleasant for us to stay at the Shattuck Plaza Hotel, and drive the 15- 20 minutes to Oakland.

I was happy to learn that the hotel will match rates you might find on expedia, if you ask. Other hotels I've visited in New York have not been willing to do this, so I'm happy I asked. The management is eager to make your stay pleasant, and retain your business. I was impressed that so many of the staff members were well-trained and educated. One of the young men I spoke to at the front desk was taking a Masters in Hotel Management.

The lobby is extremely clean.

The beds were very comfortable, and rooms were nicely furnished. The toiletries were high quality- especially nice oatmeal soap!

Note- great spinach & goat cheese omelette on the breakfast menu, and eggs benedict on the weekend brunch menu!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoenikia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Thorougly enjoyed stay here, super-helpful service, great decor. They have spend a lot of money to make a place that is individual and beautiful without being ostentatious.
I would look forward to coming back (if I ever was in this part of the woods again) .. now how many hotels do you think that about? Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greyingnomad62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Let me start out by saying this is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are nicely furnished, and the lobby is a stunner. But although it looks like an upscale hotel, I was surprised by all that was missing.

There's no lobby seating (other than in the bar/restaurant) aside from two armchairs in the area near the computer workstations. In-room amenities are severely lacking: There's no safe, no in-room movies, no in-room coffee, no newspaper delivery, no shoeshine, no minibar, and no room service (despite having a restaurant on site). All of these things are standard at even mid-range hotels these days; it was eye-opening not to find them in a hotel of this level. Other than free WiFi, there wasn't much on offer in the way of services.

The room was nice, but felt unfinished. There were full A/V hookups for the television, but they were positioned high up on the wall without a table or any furniture below to place your laptop. (You can improvise by using the luggage rack, but it's hardly an elegant solution.) One of the nightstands in our room was country-style and white; it didn't match any of the other sleek, dark furniture. And the floors were seriously out of level. I understand historic buildings have their quirks, but added into all of the other oddities, it was further indication of a hotel that wasn't quite right.

Service was hit and miss. Front desk crew were great -- polite, friendly, and helpful. Other staff not so much. After being gone all day, housekeeping still hadn't made up the room. We called down to have towels delivered so we could get ready for dinner, and the front desk said they'd have them brought up right away. An hour later, they still hadn't arrived, so I went and roamed the halls to find a maid, who seemed upset when I asked if I could take some towels from her cart. Then half an hour later (90 minutes after the original request) a different maid appeared with towels.

At dinner, our server was awkward and flustered, constantly forgetting items and then apologizing profusely. The hostess was amateurish, seating my husband and me at a table for 4 and neglecting to clear the two extra place settings (which in turn confused the waiter). This may be OK at a coffee shop, but this is supposed to be a destination restaurant with a star chef. The bartender was nice, helping us find seats at his crowded bar, and making very nice cocktails.

All in all, it was a comfortable space for the money. If you go in with the understanding that this is a beautifully decorated limited-service hotel, you might not be disappointed. But we definitely were.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AEC in SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.6 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
778 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#7 of 20 in Berkeley
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
380 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Property: Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1430
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#1 Business Hotel in Berkeley
#2 Best Value Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing