We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Berkeley
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed 6 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Hossein H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My first night, there was no hot water! They did offer me 35% off that night, but I was very disappointed that I could not shower. It was on par with staying at an $6 guesthouse in Thailand.

The breakfast was minimal but gave me enough energy to walk around to look for something better. They had frosted cornflakes and raisin bran with milk, and packaged sweet pastries. There was coffee, tea, and orange juice. There was no room to sit down and eat, as the food was presented in the lobby, but the bedrooms have a table and chairs to eat at.

The cleaning lady was quite pushy. She would actually knock at 8:00 a.m. and ask if we wanted the room clean. When we left she would catch us and ask us if she can clean the room. When we were putting our luggage in the car, she asked if we were done.

The room was clean enough. The bathroom actually had a window, which I liked. I had no bathtub, just a shower. The TV had a lot of channels. There was a Trader Joe's across the street so I bought food there and kept it in the fridge and used the microwave. The furniture was worn out and dirty and had huge stains.

The bed was very nice. The sheets were very soft and clean. Usually I am too cold in motel rooms because of the lack of blankets but there was a comforter and blanket so I was warm enough.

The air conditioner and heater worked.

The walls were very, very thin. I can hear the television and people talking just through the walls. I can hear people upstairs walking around and rolling luggage. I felt like I could even hear them talk upstairs.

Overall, it was only okay. The room was way too expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank F. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a motel. It has a great location - a couple of blocks to Shattuck Ave and the Downtown Berkeley Bart station. A gas station is very nearby. The location is easy to get from I-80. The motel is clean, the beds are good, the TV is good. Good internet access. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
332 reviews
1.0 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
386 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#5 of 20 in Berkeley
353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Berkeley

Address: 1820 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703-1516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: £96 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Berkeley 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Energize your next trip to the beautiful San Francisco Bay area and book a room at our Berkeley Travelodge hotel. Centrally located in the heart of East Bay, our Berkeley, CA, hotel is only 3 blocks from University of California Berkeley places you within minutes of great restaurants, shopping and top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Berkeley Travelodge
Berkeley Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing