We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too old, need a restructuring”
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Very old place, it has some atmosphere, but it needs restructuring. The hall of my building was tasting very bad, and you open the door of the building and find yourself in a bathroom. Staff is friendly, but this does not compensate for the very old structure. I would never come back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefano964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

This was our first stop on our CA honeymoon and it couldn't have been more perfect! Quiet rooms, beautiful gardens, great breakfast, close to shops and restaurants and a short drive to San Fran-what more could you ask for? Free parking and internet-yes!!! I am truly looking forward to coming back here someday!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We recently went to visit my daughter in Berkeley and were lucky to find a room in this historic rustic Victorian style complex. Jaime took our reservation and explained all the different types of rooms available to my husband. When we arrived we discovered this complex consists of five different buildings and from the outside you could not tell how big the place really is. One of the two main houses has the front office and the breakfast room which is spacious and nice. There is also a comfortable living room in both of the main houses. We stayed in one of the buildings away from the street. Since our room was in the back on the second floor it was really quiet with no street noise at all. Our room had a very comfortable bed with all of your basic needs including a really nice fireplace that you could turn on or off. There are a lot of gardens and walk ways with water fountains and patios so you can sit and enjoy the outdoors. They serve a wonderful full buffet breakfast every morning. Cookies and coffee are available throughout the day in the kitchen. Sunday they had a person playing the harp softly during breakfast. The manager Kevin was very helpful and personally walked us to our room. We found the staff very friendly. We definitely will be going back to this place. The only drawback is the limited number of parking spots available which they tell you in advance. I hope you find this information helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are really quiet however you may want to stay in one of the main houses which look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mibaba4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We've been looking for a place to stay repeatedly on our frequent trips to the Bay Area to visit our kids. This might be it, because the ambiance is completely warm and homey, and the slightly run-down edge is wood and not plastic. Bed was comfortably firm; breakfast was great, seemingly containing actual food, again not plastic. Gardens and common rooms very welcoming. More tightly wound folks may not like the fact that the help can take their break in the living room too--we liked it. We experienced none of the problems mentioned in the lower-rating reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karenl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

As somewhere for a quick overnight stay, it's okay but otherwise the amenities are too basic for business travel. The rooms are yesteryear and in need of urgent refurbishment - plastic shower curtains in the bathroom showing signs of mildew; there's worn carpet and crumbling paintwork, etc. The main public lounge area is in better shape but overall value for money is low.
Breakfast is a help yourself buffet of cereals, pastries, juices, sausages, country fired potatoes and bacon; collected on a small plastic tray you have to return to the collection area near kitchen door after eating. There is no bar or other food facility.
Font desk staff are polite and helpful; and the gardens are pretty.
Regret being unable to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_Gilliland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We had originally booked to stay at the Rose Garden for more than one night. However, when we first went through the huge old front door, our hearts sank a bit.Of course a property can be old, but not tired and old. Carpets were stained, doors, curtains, needed refurbishing, etc. Our room did not have any form of heating. It had a microwave and fridge, but no tea/coffee facilities. The bathroom was basic and although we had had a 12 hr flight and would dearly loved to have had a bath, felt we could not and we are not that fussy.The bed was fairly comfortable and the linen was clean. The breakfast was ok, but definitely self-service. No one wishing you good morning, - the kitchen staff were chatting in their own language and you had to clear away after yourself. The gardens were lovely and well cared for - when we left the plants were being watered. It seemed a shame, therefore, that the very faded silk flower arrangements inside the house were not replaced with a vase of fresh flowers.
We paid $163 for a nights stay. We needed a taxi to get into Berkeley although we were advised it was only a 15 minute walk. The place is probably ok for students.When we were leaving, I held the front gate open for about 10 students going in. Bearing in mind I am of pass pass age, had a suitcase in one hand and a floral bag in other, could not really be missed. However, not a single one of them bothered to acknowledge me. I hope this is not representative of Cal students.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisHockley_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

came and stayed at this hotel and instantly felt like I was in a horror movie. the man working the front desk was very friendly and my cousin tyler thought he was a cutie. when we carried our bags to the room a man in a top building stared the entire time and watched us. later I tripped over a table and cut my leg cause a ghost pushed me. then we watched two weird ladies making stupid poses by a tree and taking pictures. probably ghosts as well. or the old man upstairs' next victims. all in all I liked the fireplace

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nikkidii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.9 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.6 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
267 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 2740 Telegraph Ave, Berkeley, CA 94705-1131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: £87 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Hotel Berkeley
Rose Garden Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing