We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great hotel when you have a student at UC Berkeley!”
Review of Graduate Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Graduate Berkeley
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have stayed in this hotel several times before when our daughter went to UC Berkeley. 2 years later when we had the opportunity to do something in Berkeley, not far from the campus we jumped at Hotel Durant. Little did we know that it was "Game Day" but the Hotel staff was very good about letting us know. We had made the reservation on line and they emailed us right away, explaining the situation of the parking and the fact that there would be events going on there on Saturday. We arrived right when the game was over and we were still greeted warmly and nicely. If I was to do it over, I might not stay there on game day but it all worked out fine.

Room Tip: There is not a pool or a spa at this hotel. The corner suites are large. The beds are comfy. The bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

The location is amazing. It is very close to the UC campus so if you are planning on settling into the dorms then it is a stones throw away. The food is average and there is only one restaurant. However there are a bunch of places nearby to provide options. The rooms were clean but small and old. It seems like an old heritage building.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alsgdfkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed here recently and had a pleasant stay at this quirky hotel. The foyer area has lot of memorabilia on the wall, including a fire damaged bra from yesteryear. The rooms are decorated in a style that would initially seem more at home in Amsterdam ie: Bong style lamps, out of focus picture of a naked couple running hanging on the bathroom wall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRestlessSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were flying out of San Francisco the next day but I wanted to stay in Berkeley because I had never been there. This hotel looked like a good choice and was. The staff was very courteous and helpful. I even came back and hour after I checked out and asked to use their business center to print boarding passes. I was treated just the same as if I were still a guest. Special mention to Michael at the front desk for exceptional customer service. The bed was comfortable and the shower good. Parking in front is a hassle because taxis also use the space where guests unload. The restaurant is too loud for my tastes but it's a pub and pubs are loud. A quieter dining alternative would be welcome. The Berkeley campus is just across the street and makes for a great morning walk.

Room Tip: An upper room at the front gives a nice view of the Berkeley campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lannyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed on the top floor, and for $180 a night I would say that this was a very pleasant stay. The Building is old, but has been renovated. Rooms are on the small side, but if you travel with somebody you like that isn't a problem ;-) A Boutique-Hotel atmosphere is what you get, don't go if you expect a sterile corporate Hotel.
I choose this Hotel for a 3 day trip to San Francisco. Since comparable Hotels there cost twice as much, I think I got what I paid for. Getting into SF was an easy 20 minute drive, avoiding rush hours.

Room Tip: Top floor, away from the elevators ad main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hotel is in a great location and still quiet. The rooms are charming, clean and modern. The staff is super helpful and breakfast is good too. Beds super comfortable. Overall great vibe. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truckeejamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

I have stayed only once at this hotel. I would have rate it probably around 3 stars if not terribly handled situation with my credit card.

I was in charge of a small group of people that came there to compete in one of the Silicon Valley competitions. As there was some misunderstanding between hotel and agency that booked it, hotel did not receive proper guarantee for the rooms.

After long negotiations we ave agreed to block 100$ on my card for incidentals for all the rooms. Just few hours later card has been blocked for 1000$ and another 1000$ the following day. Without my permission and with no early warning.

It took me 2 weeks to he my money back and I never received any apology from the hotel for misuse of my credit card...

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#2 of 20 in Berkeley
1,401 reviews
1 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
393 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graduate Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graduate Berkeley

Address: 2600 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704-1711 (Formerly Hotel Durant)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#3 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: £114 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Graduate Berkeley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Graduate Berkeley – where your intellectual curiosity meets your favorite place to stay. Graduate Berkeley is a five-minute walk to campus at the corner of the city stir and game day buzz. We are steps from Telegraph Avenue shops and stops. A virtual post card from its counter culture past, Graduate Berkeley resides in the historically renovated Hotel Durant, making it the most storied place around. The Graduate Berkeley, is a full-service, 144 room boutique hotel, inviting nods to the arts and academia, the well-traveled, and Berkeley’s Bohemian roots. Thousands of “Nat Geo” magazines journey across the front desk walls, dressing them in California gold. Gather some Golden Bears for a post-game bite at the restaurant Henry’s or convene at a communal wood table. Rooms amenities include complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, flat screen TV, refrigerator, in-room laptop safe, triple-sheeted linens and designer bath products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Graduate Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing