We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, but going to get better ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Graduate Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Graduate Berkeley
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great, but going to get better ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

When renovations are complete. My sister and I had a "reunion" trip to spend a weekend in Berkeley and chose this hotel because of its central location and good review. We weren't disappointed. Only minor problem was how painfully slow elevators are.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinDwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    251
    135
    55
    39
See reviews for
198
173
70
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I have a weak spot for these old US hotels which have more charm than those faceless, run off the mill hotels of the usual suspect chains. This one is a particularly nice instance of those, conveniently located, equipped with a lobby exhibiting some 1920ies decor, and featuring decent rooms. It is surely no luxury hotel, and some may be putt off by the fact that it is a little bit run down. Call it charme - I enjoyed my visit here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlkoreander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
295 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here for one night while visiting Berkeley. Location is the best thing about this hotel. It is dated and even though it strives to be a boutique hotel (kitschy decor like photo of streakers), it is basically a very old hotel which is trying hard to be modern. Room was very small, bathroom was very small. I could (unfortunately) hear the guest in the bathroom while I was in there, every last noise and splash. Room noise is bad from the street and average between rooms (I could hear the TV in the next room but not the words). Bed is comfortable. Wifi is free. Coffee maker in the room. Parking is tight (the tightest I've ever seen). Restaurant doesn't open until 8 for breakfast and the surrounding area surprisingly doesn't get started early either. Nearby Noah's bagels doesn't open until 7. Front desk manager was very helpful. I probably wouldn't stay here again; instead I was choose a known entity like a Doubletree or Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor not facing Durant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

After deciding that life was too short to ever stay at the Berkeley Faculty Club again (one step above camping), I decided to try the Durant and had a great stay. Staff very friendly and very helpful, even with my above-and-beyond requests. Top-notch food -- both healthy and delicious, which I ate at my cool vintage desk, that was originally in the anthropology department, at a window with a view of campus, water, and sunset. Very comfy bed, large room with sofa, big screen TV, Pharmacopia bath products, chic decor, and Keurig. I have already recommended it to others and will stay there the next time I have meetings at Berkeley. Cab stand right at the hotel and lots of restaurants on adjacent blocks. Right across street from art museum.

Areas for improvement: they are undergoing renovation, so the air conditioning was not yet working. Not a big problem -- it will be working by May -- i had windows open and there was a fan in the room. So i did hear a bit of noise from nightlife nearby very briefly, but it did not interfere with my sleep at all. Really a very enjoyable stay all around. Made me want to become a Berkeley student in my next life.

Kudos to the folks at the front desk, who are super friendly and accomodating, and to the newish chef, especially the fried brussell sprouts.

Room Tip: My room was large -- with a couch -- and a nice view. It had a shower, though, so i would probably a...
See more room tips
Green Features: Totally Berkeley w the four different kinds of recycling in the room.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElmCityAfficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
315 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Positives- easy walk to campus, near restaurants and shopping, continental breakfast was included with our package, parking was only $15, wifi was free, lobby was nice

Negatives - beds were small, TV was terrible, elevators awful, steps and not a ramp from parking lot to hotel, furnishings felt old, bathroom very small, needs renovation and it may be underway

Overall, not a destination hotel, but if you need to be very close to campus it is ok.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MizzouLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I made a reservation for a deluxe queen room for two adults.
At check in (April 4, 2014) the first room offered had a bed that is a full size. I went to the front desk and ask to have another room. The guy at the from desk tried to convince me that the bed was a queen size and that no other room was available other than paying $ 20 additional for a double queen. I took the additional $20 room (room 623). The new room had two beds that are two full size (not queen). Staff does not know the size of a queen bed. On top of it, room 623 had not working air conditioning and this "detail" was not disclosed to me when the room was assigned. The sink in the bathroom was so small that you have to pay attention to keep the water in. TV Remote control did not work properly. The hotel is in general maintenance conditions that do not impress.

Room Tip: ask the actual size of beds!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gciccio41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a number of years ago and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Made reservations again for mid April. When I called to confirm the reservation, I was told they had booked me in March in error and charged us as a no-show. I left messages twice with the manager to discuss and never heard back. I was forced to challenge the charge through Visa (successful) and make other arrangements. The manager has no business being in a customer service position.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Slojason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graduate Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graduate Berkeley

Property: Graduate Berkeley
Address: 2600 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704-1711 (Formerly Hotel Durant)
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#3 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Graduate Berkeley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME BACK TO THE GLORY DAYS OF COLLEGE LIFE, WITH A FEW OF THE NEW COMFORTS YOU PROBABLY DIDN’T HAVE THE FIRST TIME AROUND. Graduate Berkeley—where your intellectual curiosity meets your favorite place to stay. Located one block from the nations' top-ranked public university, UC Berkeley, the Graduate Berkeley, is a full-service, 144 room boutique hotel. Graduate Berkeley is a one block walk to campus at the corner of the city stir and game day buzz. Steps from Telegraph Avenue shops and stops. A quick five-minute walk to entertainment at Cal Memorial Stadium, Cal Performances or the Greek Theater. The hotel is a virtual post card from its counterculture past, Graduate Berkeley now resides in the historically renovated Hotel Durant, making it the most storied place around. The lobby invites nods to the arts and academia, the well-traveled local and Berkeley’s Bohemian roots. Collegiate plaids mix with a faraway but familiar feel, like a home away from home. Thousands of “Nat Geo” magazines journey across the front desk walls, dressing them in California gold. Curl up with a book amidst Ikat patterned easy chairs and printed velvet sofas in deep blues and burgundy with a vintage vibe. Sweeping wood floors are layered with hand-woven rugs from India, while graphic street art mixes with chinoiserie accessories offset by original millwork and moldings. Gather some Golden Bears for a post-game bite at the restaurant Henry’s or convene at a communal wood table; it’s the perfect hub for conversation, camaraderie and robust exchange of ideas and intellect. So whether you’re in town for a meeting or meet up, cheering along with Oski on The Hill or enjoying a show at the Greek, the Graduate Berkeley is here to make it memorable. You will feel like a local, at home again even if it’s your first time in town. Graduate Berkeley rooms are ready for a night like you’ve never had before, where little moments of surprise and discovery will meet you down every corridor and around each corner. This is Graduate—be ready to be inspired. Rooms amenities include complimentary wireless hi-speed internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, in-room laptop safe, triple-sheeted linens and designer bath products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Graduate Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing