We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to revisit Berkeley”
Review of Graduate Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Graduate Berkeley
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Mill Valley
1 review
“A great way to revisit Berkeley”
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Very nice hotel. I will be staying there again. Berkeley does not have many choices. I would say this is the best.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimMillValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    256
    140
    58
    40
See reviews for
211
177
70
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Overall, this place is fine. It's probably the best that you are going to get in this town. However, I wanted more from my experience. True, this place is a good deal despite the $16 parking fee. I expected a more classy experience. Instead, I saw grown adults dressed in school inspired uniforms, a bong lamp in my room, a massive amount of junk food in the room, and dorm type paraphanelia everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendocino, CA
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2010

I stayed here over the Christmas holidays this year and had a fabulous time. I didn't get the chance to eat in the restaurant because I was busy with friends and family, but I know from past experiences the restaurant is fabulous. My bed was comfortable, the TV was great, bathroom was nice size and clean, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The window in my room was difficult to open/close, and each time I called the front desk the promptly sent someone up to help me, and with a smile even! I highly recommend this beautiful hotel to anyone. It is close to Telegraph Ave, but on a much quieter street. Easy to find.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinti74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mary, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2010

After cross country business air travel, I was very pleased with the greeting and assistance I received from the front desk staff once I arrived at the hotel. I have been to this hotel before for business in the previous year and the service is top notch and is very consistent. The rooms are comfortable and the location to the UC campus and the rest of Berkeley is ideal. One major benefit of the hotel is the opportunity to use UC Berkeley's recreation facilities for swimming and working out. Overall, a great experience again and I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the bay area for business or travel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler0072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

On approaching the hotel, I didn't see any signs for their parking lot, nor were there any free spots in front of the hotel for me to stop to ask. So I drove around the block to see what I could find. Second time around there was a spot, so I parked, walked in and asked. Turned out I had passed it on the parallel street, but really, without specific directions I would never have found it. Parked and got luggage to go in and check in. Found that I had to carry my luggage down an outdoor flight of stairs and up a few steps to get into the lobby - really terribly inconvenient.

Brisk and efficient desk clerk checked me in. Confirmed my Joy of Life account on the account (this is a Joie de Vivre hotel, Joy of Life is their frequent guest program) and said "it was busy, so they didn't get to in room amenities". Normally, there is a bottle of wine in the room for me when I check into a JDV hotel. It's a plus, and a nice one, so that was a minor disappointment. The inexpensive bottle of wine was not the main reason to be there - it was a small point, but it would have been nice if they'd paid attention to that detail, even if "it was busy" that day.

The elevator took ages every time I needed it. There are two elevators, but they are in different parts of the hotel, so the central elevator is in continuous use.

This was New Years Eve and I discovered that their bar and restaurant were closed, so I had to leave for dinner and a drink when I had planned to just get something quick in the hotel, which on New Years Eve took a lot longer than I would have liked. Understandable that their restaurant was closed, but still a small inconvenience, particularly when the hotel seemed quite full. And it would have been nice to have a notice about the closure on their website when I made the reservation the day prior.

The room itself was nicely renovated - hip, modern furniture, yet still elegant. I very much enjoyed the decor. Also, the sink was in the room, which is nice. And the separate bathroom contained a shower and toilet. But the shower had not been renovated. This is a pet peeve of mine: a beautiful room, new furniture and furnishings but an unrenovated bath area. It just detracts from the overall effort. My other issue with the room was that there is no individual temperature control - no air conditioning at all that I could see and the heat is through a radiator system throughout the building. I much prefer to control my own temperatures!

Restful night - I was on east coast time, so didn't stay up until midnight, but was woken up by fireworks. And by the dogs howling up and down my hallway. It seems they accept pets - and of course the owners were all out celebrating, so when fireworks began, the poor dogs started howling. The hotel couldn't do anything about this specific phenomenon, but they COULD put dogs in a separate part of the hotel from those of us traveling sans pets.

Overall, a nice enough stay, but the little things (parking lot stairs, inattention to frequent guest details, no notice on their site that restaurant would be closed, incomplete renovations, etc.) detract from the very nice bedroom furnishings. Thus only three stars.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMinATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa barbara
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Honestly, I had wanted to stay at the Clairmont Hotel but due to my displeasure with my phone conversation with their reservation person I got back on the internet and found the Hotel Durant. I didn't know anything about it, but I liked the price and the fact that you could park your car for free if it was a hybrid. I was so happy when I arrived. The girl at the check-in counter was very pleasant. My room had a nice king bed, a large flat screen tv, and my favorite thing, a coffee pot. I felt like I was in Europe. The room was cozy and just had that European flair. The next morning when my coffee pot didn't seem to work I called downstairs and within a few minutes someone was at my door. It turned out to be my (operator) error but the man was very kind about it and made sure I was satisfied that the coffee maker worked. Not only was the hotel enjoyable it is located in easy walking distance to the university and across the street from the Art Museum. I know when I return I will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santabarbara33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, oregon
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2010

My son attends Berkeley, and Hotel Durant was so perfect for the visit. Very comfortable. Charming. Took the train down from Portland, and I was happy with my stay there.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolngeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,282 reviews
1.0 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#7 of 20 in Berkeley
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
380 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graduate Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graduate Berkeley

Property: Graduate Berkeley
Address: 2600 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704-1711 (Formerly Hotel Durant)
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#3 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Graduate Berkeley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME BACK TO THE GLORY DAYS OF COLLEGE LIFE, WITH A FEW OF THE NEW COMFORTS YOU PROBABLY DIDN’T HAVE THE FIRST TIME AROUND. Graduate Berkeley—where your intellectual curiosity meets your favorite place to stay. Located one block from the nations' top-ranked public university, UC Berkeley, the Graduate Berkeley, is a full-service, 144 room boutique hotel. Graduate Berkeley is a one block walk to campus at the corner of the city stir and game day buzz. Steps from Telegraph Avenue shops and stops. A quick five-minute walk to entertainment at Cal Memorial Stadium, Cal Performances or the Greek Theater. The hotel is a virtual post card from its counterculture past, Graduate Berkeley now resides in the historically renovated Hotel Durant, making it the most storied place around. The lobby invites nods to the arts and academia, the well-traveled local and Berkeley’s Bohemian roots. Collegiate plaids mix with a faraway but familiar feel, like a home away from home. Thousands of “Nat Geo” magazines journey across the front desk walls, dressing them in California gold. Curl up with a book amidst Ikat patterned easy chairs and printed velvet sofas in deep blues and burgundy with a vintage vibe. Sweeping wood floors are layered with hand-woven rugs from India, while graphic street art mixes with chinoiserie accessories offset by original millwork and moldings. Gather some Golden Bears for a post-game bite at the restaurant Henry’s or convene at a communal wood table; it’s the perfect hub for conversation, camaraderie and robust exchange of ideas and intellect. So whether you’re in town for a meeting or meet up, cheering along with Oski on The Hill or enjoying a show at the Greek, the Graduate Berkeley is here to make it memorable. You will feel like a local, at home again even if it’s your first time in town. Graduate Berkeley rooms are ready for a night like you’ve never had before, where little moments of surprise and discovery will meet you down every corridor and around each corner. This is Graduate—be ready to be inspired. Rooms amenities include complimentary wireless hi-speed internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, in-room laptop safe, triple-sheeted linens and designer bath products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Graduate Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing