We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,672)
Filter reviews
1,672 results
Traveller rating
773
403
230
140
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
773
403
230
140
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtssteam roommeritage restaurantgrand old hotelbay viewbeautiful hotelsan franciscohotel guestsold worldold schoolberkeley hillsgolden gatethe east bayfitness centerold stylevalet parkingparagon
Filter
Updating list...
997 - 1,002 of 1,672 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My wife and I are life-long bay area residents who have always wanted to stay at the Claremont. A few weeks ago I thought I would surprise her by reserving a room for our 29th anniversary. We arrived at 2PM and our room was not available (My mistake not realizing that check-in was at 4PM) but the nice girl at the front desk said that instead of our room with a Bay view she could put us in a room on the spa level that was larger and had been updated. It may have been larger but we did not see anything to make us believe it was updated. At 9 PM we had enough of the unruly room above us (sounded like a bunch of kids running around and jumping around) and called the front office, around 10 PM they finally quieted down. 7 AM they were right back at it. Again, we called the front desk and was told they would again send someone. At 8:30 we called back, and was told security went to the restaurant to find what the noise was instead of going to the room above us. How does that happen?! We commented to the front desk during checkout and was told they would “make it up to us next time”. By doing what, there was nothing given or offered to us to come back with next time. But that wasn’t what bothered me the most.
My wife has had 4 back surgeries and walking can be difficult at times for her. When we first arrived, there were no handicap parking spaces available. I DID however notice a Rolls-Royce was allowed to park in one of the spots, with NO placard or proper plates. Later that evening, I noticed the owner of the Rolls had left, returned and they reserved the handicap parking space for him. To me this showed that money is more important than doing what is right, and obeying the law. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raider23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Your candid review is appreciated. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced during your recent visit to our hotel. The incidents as described do not reflect our high standard of service and we appreciate that you have brought this to our attention. It is truly disappointing that sounds from other guests were of any disruption to your peace. While it is not clear in this forum as to the particulars of the parking incident you described, please know that our hotel strictly follows all laws regarding handicapped accessible parking. Your comments will be shared with our management team. We hope that you will give us another chance to earn your trust back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Spent a great weekend at the property. Spa/club is very nice and included in the $26 guest fee. Views from higher rooms facing west are spectacular on clear days. Rooms and property are older charm, so if you want brand new, stay at a Hampton. Very nice property and wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave85715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your review of The Claremont, Hotel Club & Spa. It is our goal to provide an exceptional experience. We are elated that your recent stay reflects the type of encounter we hope everyone will have with us and your comments will be shared with all. Our on-site Spa and Club offers our guests some amazing opportunities to relax and we are glad you found value in them. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I had occasion to stay at the Claremont twice in the past month for business. From a distance, this looks like a great place to stay. On the inside, not really. The rooms need updating and most of the hotel has a musty odor to it. Unfortunately, it seems like this hotel has been ignored by its owners. My room was noisy - the doors are not long enough, so you can hear everything that goes on in the hallway.

Then, there is the service. The best thing about the hotel is the "on hold" music is great. Get used to it because you will hear it a lot. The service here is probably the worst I have seen for a hotel of this type. You can tell it all starts at the top. I wonder what the General Manager is thinking. The entire hotel is understaffed, so from check-in to bell service to hotel operators, there is essentially no one there. If you call the front desk they simply don't answer. If you call the bell desk, they rarely answer. The second time I was there it took 30 minutes to check in and another 30 to get the bags delivered to the room. And both visits were mid-week, where it didn't appear that the hotel was too busy.

The staff is clearly overworked, and who can blame them for not being friendly. The entire experience was disappointing and its a shame. If there were competent management, it might be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

All guest feedback, positive or otherwise is of great importance to us. We are, truly saddened to learn of your experience and we ask that you accept our most sincere apologies that your entire encounter at our historic hotel was not all that you had hoped it would be. From what you have described, this is not the type of stay we would hope for any of our guests and your comments will be shared with our management team. We encourage our guests to let us know any concerns they might have during their visit so we can tend to these issues as they arise and we regret that you encountered any delay in service. We will use this opportunity to strengthen our commitment to providing the best in service to each and every guest. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Claremonts bills itself as a 5-stay but it is in desperate need of a makeover. This property has seen it's day. The staff is wonderful-they couldn't do enough. We were in a 1 bedroom "suite". Once they converted the sofa to a bed, we still didn't have pillows or blankets & had to call to request them. The casual restaurant was great tho'-the food was good & if you sit outside, there is a view. But I wouldn't recommend it until they updated the 1950's bedroom furniture. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneidaelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, General Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

While we are grateful to know that you enjoyed your dining experience as well as the service you received from our associates, we couldn’t be more disappointed to learn that you were not impressed with your accommodations. Our historic hotel dates back to the early days of the gold rush and is most certainly unique, with no two rooms, or decor exactly alike. We hope that you will consider staying again in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews