We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

It is an OLD hotel. Dirty dishes in the hall for 20 hours,when we checked in at 3:00 they were in the hall, the next morning they were still there. Soon after we checked in we approached the night manager, I watched him get on the phone and request they be picked up. Staff ignored the man. Not as clean as it should have been, needs repair. The staff is nice, we were given breakfast in room and it was yummy. Would I stay again? nahhhhhhhhhhhhh

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 727dlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

It is truly disappointing to learn that your encounter was far from what we expect for our guests. A stay at our historic hotel can be such a magical experience and many of our guests enjoy so much of what we have to offer, including impeccable service. We truly apologize if that was not the case while you were here and will share your comments with our housekeeping team. Thank you for your feedback, we hope that the next time you are in Berkeley you will give us another chance to provide you with the type of experience you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

849 - 855 of 1,523 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

That beautiful white hotel high on a hill in Berkeley is as good as it looks! Charming and historic, this hotel and spa offers beautiful views of the San Francisco bay from many of its rooms, good food and excellent service in both restaurants. Don't miss an incredible massage from one of their highly trained masseuses and then enjoy a Feng Shui cocktail after in the lively Paragon Bar.

Room Tip: Book a room a view of the San Francisco Bay--it is definitely worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelapond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

A relaxing massage followed by a delicious cocktail at Paragon sounds like the perfect day! Thank you so much for sharing your review and appreciation for The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We are delighted you found everything to be, as you put it, as good as it looks. Reviews like yours remind us why we all love what we do. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I like to visit my sister and daughter who both live in the bay area. My daughter is in her last year of undergrad school, we sometimes stay with her in her apartment or sometimes stay at a hotel. I've usually stayed at the double tree in Berkeley marina but this time decided to splurge a little and stay at the Claremont. Wow, what a difference!. The quality of service at the Claremont was superb. The room was quaint, but nicely appointed. The food at the Sunday brunch was fabulous. i was extremely happy with the Claremont. We will stay there again. Next time, we will reserve a spa treatment!

Room Tip: Next time, we will choose the spa level room, they have larger bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

What a wonderful way to enjoy your family visit to the area! We're delighted that you had such a memorable time at The Claremont Hotel, Club & Spa and were able to appreciate so much of what we have to offer. From your luxurious guest room to your Sunday Brunch experience, it seems as though you made the most of your stay and for that, we are truly grateful. Everyone here will be anxiously awaiting your return, as it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Perched high on the hillside above Berkeley, the Claremont is tribute to resort hotels of old. Spacious public areas, top flight restaurants and that old world feel (in furnishings and decor).

Rooms are spotless and nicely appointed - with free wi-fi and flat screen TVs Those, along with microwaves and small fridges in some rooms, are the only nods to 21st century accommodations. Bathrooms have been recently renovated, with glass shower enclosures.

The facilities - spa, tennis, fitness center - are exactly what you'd expect from a multi-star resort hotel. Multiple pools (one just for laps) and children's activities make the Claremont a great destination for adults or families.

And you can't beat the view. On a clear day (or early evening) you can look across the bay to San Francisco. If you're lucky enough, the sunset will silhouette the skyline in breathtaking color.

Best of all, you can walk to nearby restaurants and activities. Leave your car in the lot and enjoy the sights, sounds and shopping of this decidedly upscale college town.

Room Tip: If you care, ask for a room on the west side (mine was on the south-side with a view of another roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

You have certainly captured the true historic essence of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa with your kind words! From your account of your time it seems as though you enjoyed so much of what we offer including the beauty of our property and guest rooms to our spa, and of course, the amazing views. It brings us a great amount of happiness to know that we lived up to your expectations. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again. Thank you so much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Sitting on the side of a hill, it looks quite imposing. A grand old white hotel with lovely grounds. Our hotel room was very clean and beautifully appointed, although the best thing about it was our view. We had a spectacular corner room with views of the bay bridge and the golden gate bridge with all of San Francisco in between. We were there as part of a conference, so did not dine in the regular restaurants, and were served conference buffet food which for the purpose of this review is irrelevant. There are a few places to get a meal here, and they all looked upscale and very nice, with good menus. The lobby is beautiful, and all the staff were quite friendly and helpful, especially the concierge who helped me figure out how to take BART into SF. Note: it really is quite easy and inexpensive to do, the station is 10 min tops from the hotel. We had beautiful weather for the end of October and were able to sit out on one of their many lovely patios and have cocktails one afternoon. I didn't use spa services, but found their outdoor pool area a little in need of renovation...the coverings on the chaises had seen better days, and there was no serviceable bar to get a nice drink to sit by the pool with. Other than that, had a great stay here for three nights.

Room Tip: A corner room on any floor facing San Francisco is definitely your best bet. There aren't many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcdedrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Exceptional guest service is our top priority at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. It truly pleases us to read a review such as yours and know that we have succeeded in creating a great experience for a valued guest. We are so glad you enjoyed your conference stay and found your guest room to be clean and comfortable. Our Concierge is the perfect resource when guests are interested in knowing the best way to enjoy the area. We do apologize if you found anything to be lacking by our outdoor pool and your comments will be shared with our maintenance team. Thank you for your feedback. We hope you find your way back to us soon, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My weddding night was spent at the Claremont and from the moment i walked into the hotel, I dealt with nothing but class. The man at the front desk was Frank Flynn. He was so polite, and went above and beyond his assigned duties. The room was small, but gorgeous and the view was spectacular. Room service in the morning was great. Mamour was the man who took our order and brought our food, he even carried it up the four flights of stairs to the top of the tower and gave my husband and I a history lesson on the Claremont. I am very satisfied with my stay and the employees i encountered.

Room Tip: I recommend the tower suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharper1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

What a lovely way to enjoy your first night as a married couple! We couldn’t be more pleased that you had such a great experience celebrating your love at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Thank you for sharing your story with us. Providing our guests with exceptional service is of utmost importance to us and we are so glad your stay was a memorable one. Our tower suite is truly such a special treat. We hope you will come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My wife and I are life-long bay area residents who have always wanted to stay at the Claremont. A few weeks ago I thought I would surprise her by reserving a room for our 29th anniversary. We arrived at 2PM and our room was not available (My mistake not realizing that check-in was at 4PM) but the nice girl at the front desk said that instead of our room with a Bay view she could put us in a room on the spa level that was larger and had been updated. It may have been larger but we did not see anything to make us believe it was updated. At 9 PM we had enough of the unruly room above us (sounded like a bunch of kids running around and jumping around) and called the front office, around 10 PM they finally quieted down. 7 AM they were right back at it. Again, we called the front desk and was told they would again send someone. At 8:30 we called back, and was told security went to the restaurant to find what the noise was instead of going to the room above us. How does that happen?! We commented to the front desk during checkout and was told they would “make it up to us next time”. By doing what, there was nothing given or offered to us to come back with next time. But that wasn’t what bothered me the most.
My wife has had 4 back surgeries and walking can be difficult at times for her. When we first arrived, there were no handicap parking spaces available. I DID however notice a Rolls-Royce was allowed to park in one of the spots, with NO placard or proper plates. Later that evening, I noticed the owner of the Rolls had left, returned and they reserved the handicap parking space for him. To me this showed that money is more important than doing what is right, and obeying the law. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raider23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Your candid review is appreciated. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced during your recent visit to our hotel. The incidents as described do not reflect our high standard of service and we appreciate that you have brought this to our attention. It is truly disappointing that sounds from other guests were of any disruption to your peace. While it is not clear in this forum as to the particulars of the parking incident you described, please know that our hotel strictly follows all laws regarding handicapped accessible parking. Your comments will be shared with our management team. We hope that you will give us another chance to earn your trust back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,377 reviews
4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
393 reviews
1.2 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
270 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Address: 41 Tunnel Rd, Berkeley, CA 94705-2429
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: £175 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening its doors in 1915, Claremont Club & Spa has been revered as one of America's iconic luxury hotels. As it celebrates its 100th anniversary, Fairmont Hotels and Resorts is proud to unveil our newest member of the Fairmont collection, ushering in a new era of luxury for the next 100 years! Overlooking the San Francisco Bay, Claremont Club & Spa in Berkeley sets new heights in service, amenities, and accommodations. For the past 100 years, Claremont has been recognized as an icon in the Bay Area. Conveniently located in the heart of Berkeley, the hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown San Francisco. Private parking is available. Its 276 beautifully appointed rooms offer a mix of old world charm and California comfort, many boasting breathtaking views of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing