We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,714)
Filter reviews
1,714 results
Traveller rating
805
410
232
141
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
805
410
232
141
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts steam room meritage restaurant grand old hotel bay view beautiful hotel san francisco hotel guests old world charm berkeley hills golden gate the east bay fitness center valet parking old style rick concierge
Filter
Updating list...
1,034 - 1,039 of 1,714 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013

That beautiful white hotel high on a hill in Berkeley is as good as it looks! Charming and historic, this hotel and spa offers beautiful views of the San Francisco bay from many of its rooms, good food and excellent service in both restaurants. Don't miss an incredible massage from one of their highly trained masseuses and then enjoy a Feng Shui cocktail after in the lively Paragon Bar.

Room tip: Book a room a view of the San Francisco Bay--it is definitely worth the price.
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelapond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

A relaxing massage followed by a delicious cocktail at Paragon sounds like the perfect day! Thank you so much for sharing your review and appreciation for The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We are delighted you found everything to be, as you put it, as good as it looks. Reviews like yours remind us why we all love what we do. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I like to visit my sister and daughter who both live in the bay area. My daughter is in her last year of undergrad school, we sometimes stay with her in her apartment or sometimes stay at a hotel. I've usually stayed at the double tree in Berkeley marina but this time decided to splurge a little and stay at the Claremont. Wow, what a difference!. The quality of service at the Claremont was superb. The room was quaint, but nicely appointed. The food at the Sunday brunch was fabulous. i was extremely happy with the Claremont. We will stay there again. Next time, we will reserve a spa treatment!

Room tip: Next time, we will choose the spa level room, they have larger bathrooms!
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelvU6718OU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

What a wonderful way to enjoy your family visit to the area! We're delighted that you had such a memorable time at The Claremont Hotel, Club & Spa and were able to appreciate so much of what we have to offer. From your luxurious guest room to your Sunday Brunch experience, it seems as though you made the most of your stay and for that, we are truly grateful. Everyone here will be anxiously awaiting your return, as it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Perched high on the hillside above Berkeley, the Claremont is tribute to resort hotels of old. Spacious public areas, top flight restaurants and that old world feel (in furnishings and decor).

Rooms are spotless and nicely appointed - with free wi-fi and flat screen TVs Those, along with microwaves and small fridges in some rooms, are the only nods to 21st century accommodations. Bathrooms have been recently renovated, with glass shower enclosures.

The facilities - spa, tennis, fitness center - are exactly what you'd expect from a multi-star resort hotel. Multiple pools (one just for laps) and children's activities make the Claremont a great destination for adults or families.

And you can't beat the view. On a clear day (or early evening) you can look across the bay to San Francisco. If you're lucky enough, the sunset will silhouette the skyline in breathtaking color.

Best of all, you can walk to nearby restaurants and activities. Leave your car in the lot and enjoy the sights, sounds and shopping of this decidedly upscale college town.

Room tip: If you care, ask for a room on the west side (mine was on the south-side with a view of another roof. But even if you don't, there are plenty of public spaces (both inside and out) from which to enjoy the view.
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

You have certainly captured the true historic essence of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa with your kind words! From your account of your time it seems as though you enjoyed so much of what we offer including the beauty of our property and guest rooms to our spa, and of course, the amazing views. It brings us a great amount of happiness to know that we lived up to your expectations. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again. Thank you so much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Sitting on the side of a hill, it looks quite imposing. A grand old white hotel with lovely grounds. Our hotel room was very clean and beautifully appointed, although the best thing about it was our view. We had a spectacular corner room with views of the bay bridge and the golden gate bridge with all of San Francisco in between. We were there as part of a conference, so did not dine in the regular restaurants, and were served conference buffet food which for the purpose of this review is irrelevant. There are a few places to get a meal here, and they all looked upscale and very nice, with good menus. The lobby is beautiful, and all the staff were quite friendly and helpful, especially the concierge who helped me figure out how to take BART into SF. Note: it really is quite easy and inexpensive to do, the station is 10 min tops from the hotel. We had beautiful weather for the end of October and were able to sit out on one of their many lovely patios and have cocktails one afternoon. I didn't use spa services, but found their outdoor pool area a little in need of renovation...the coverings on the chaises had seen better days, and there was no serviceable bar to get a nice drink to sit by the pool with. Other than that, had a great stay here for three nights.

Room tip: A corner room on any floor facing San Francisco is definitely your best bet. There aren't many though and I hear they book up quickly.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcdedrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Exceptional guest service is our top priority at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. It truly pleases us to read a review such as yours and know that we have succeeded in creating a great experience for a valued guest. We are so glad you enjoyed your conference stay and found your guest room to be clean and comfortable. Our Concierge is the perfect resource when guests are interested in knowing the best way to enjoy the area. We do apologize if you found anything to be lacking by our outdoor pool and your comments will be shared with our maintenance team. Thank you for your feedback. We hope you find your way back to us soon, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My weddding night was spent at the Claremont and from the moment i walked into the hotel, I dealt with nothing but class. The man at the front desk was Frank Flynn. He was so polite, and went above and beyond his assigned duties. The room was small, but gorgeous and the view was spectacular. Room service in the morning was great. Mamour was the man who took our order and brought our food, he even carried it up the four flights of stairs to the top of the tower and gave my husband and I a history lesson on the Claremont. I am very satisfied with my stay and the employees i encountered.

Room tip: I recommend the tower suite!
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharper1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

What a lovely way to enjoy your first night as a married couple! We couldn’t be more pleased that you had such a great experience celebrating your love at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Thank you for sharing your story with us. Providing our guests with exceptional service is of utmost importance to us and we are so glad your stay was a memorable one. Our tower suite is truly such a special treat. We hope you will come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews