We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“aging and past its prime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Sf Bay Area
Level Contributor
252 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“aging and past its prime”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Spent two nights here on a business trip. Overall, it was ok, but everything felt a bit dated and somewhat run down. My room (908) was at the far end of the "spa wing", which was a long long walk from the main part of the hotel. My room was ok, although it was impossible to adjust the AC to a comfortable temperature. It bottomed out at 68F, which was a bit warmer than my preferences for sleeping comfortably. Additionally, the wifi was just about unusable. It would work for about 15 seconds out of every minute, and only got worse later in the day. Breakfast was obscenely expensive. $19 for eggs benedict? And it was easily the worst eggs benedict I've ever had. Not even a full English muffin (just 1/2?!?) underneath. The shower curtain rod was broken in my room, such that the curtain always slid to one side on its own. The desk light bulb didn't work.

The staff were generally friendly and helpful. Hopefully the facilities will be updated once Fairmont takes over.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, General Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Whether positive or otherwise, we are always grateful for the feedback we receive from our valued guests. From your account, it seems we missed the mark regarding several issues and for that, we sincerely apologize. It is disappointing to learn that you found anything amiss in your guest room or if the temperature was not more to your liking. Please know that one of our associates is always ready to help in any way they can and we regret not having the opportunity to impress you completely while you were here, when it would have mattered the most. Your comments have been shared with our maintenance team as guests should always expect all areas to be at their best. It is our hope to welcome you again and provide you with the type of experience you deserve. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    351
    193
    128
    109
See reviews for
356
406
94
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, Ca
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have grown up visiting the Claremont for special occasions and it is near and dear to my heart. Currently, I visit their casual restaurant, The Paragon, for drinks and a bite about once a month. Their outdoor area has one of the best views to watch the sunset in all of the Bay Area! This time, I treated an out of town visitor to an overnight stay so that the two of us could have a "Spa Day" and enjoy the hotel's amenities. The hotel has a great spa, gym and 2+ beautiful pools. We asked for an early check in and although they had noted that, our room wasn't ready until after three. However we had packed a gym bag and were allowed to use all the facilities until our room was ready. It was a rare, warm weekend for February in Berkeley and the pool was fantastic. Unfortunately the website hadn't been updated as to their exercise class schedule, and we missed a number of classes we had planned attending. We finally checked in after 3:30 (apparently check in isn't until 4) and we had a beautiful, albeit expensive, room with a fantastic view of the San Francisco Bay. However one of the curtains was stuck and couldn't be opened, there was hair in the shower drain, and when we tried to open a window, it popped out of the frame! It was awhile before maintenance arrived but they fixed the problems. We were in one of the allergen-resistant rooms ("Pure") which had great beds, bedding and an air filter. Unfortunately, I coughed most of the night from something in the air! Our spa services (massage, pedicure) were wonderful with very professional, talented staff. We had heard ahead of time that Fairmont would be purchasing the hotel at the end of the month and that was much on the minds of all who worked there. You could tell there was a lot of stress about the unknown. I am a fan of Fairmont Hotels and am hoping that they keep all that is wonderful about this treasure, while fixing up an aging hotel and supporting the staff. We enjoyed our drink at the Paragon but they have recently taken off some terrific appetizers at the bar and that was disappointing. When we later called down for a cab, we were told it would be a five-ten minute wait. After waiting ten minutes to go downstairs, we were told it would be another ten minutes. That was very frustrating and the person responsible for that was quite rude. However the rest of the staff was very friendly and helpful. One hope for a change is to have a parking attendant at the gate since usually when leaving, no one is there and their system is complicated to exit. Hopefully the Fairmont will address that issue.
On another note, my family hosted a buffet luncheon a few months ago for a funeral gathering and the catering staff was so lovely and accommodating. The hotel has a number of small rooms for events and although not cheap, the view is worth it. I am looking forward to seeing what changes Fairmont makes, without taking away from its historic value to the community. With changes in the wind, I would check that any renovations won't impact your stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwolff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, General Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you so much for providing such a comprehensive review of your recent time with us. We are delighted you appreciated much about your recent stay from the historic charm of our hotel to the excellent spa experience you have shared. The views from our property can be quite extraordinary and sunset from Paragon, in particular, is always such a treat. While it is great to know that our maintenance associates were able to resolve any issues you had within your guest room, we do hope that it was not cause for too much inconvenience. Your recommendations are of great value to us as we always hope to improve upon our offerings and services. It is our hope that we can continue to welcome you back to The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

This is THE place to stay in Berkeley. The Fairmont has just bought this historic property in the East Bay, so even better things are in store for our already fav place. The surroundings and the Club and Spa are top notch. The service is always a touch above. The bell staff, namely Michael Lewis is the standard for the service industry. His warmth and genuine caring for the guests is a treasure. This is how it should be done for all hotels. And Hey! You get what you pay for, Claremont Resort.
I wonder if it will be
The Claremont Fairmont
Or
The Fairmont Claremont :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alcandriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, General Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa exudes old world charm combined with modern convenience and we are delighted you have enjoyed visiting! Thank you so much for sharing your impressions of our classic and historic property. A visit is always made more complete by making use of our Club and Spa facilities and we are glad you agree. What really stands out, however, are your comments regarding our warm, hospitable service. Thank you so much for letting us know about your encounter. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Had the opportunity to stay at this resort during a business conference. It is beautiful and nicely maintained. The meeting rooms were comfortable and the food was probably the best food I have ever had at a business event. Service was outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KileyClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Reading your feedback brings us such great happiness. Thank you for sharing your time with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We are delighted your business event was such a success and that our efforts contributed to your positive impression from the beauty of our resort all the way to your dining experience! We do hope to welcome you back again, whether your visit is business or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Spontaneously and after a great evening out, we made a reservation toward midnight on Feb 14th. Not surprisingly, the only thing available was one of their pricier rooms and we took the package. I was okay with standing in line for check-in, after all it was the morning after Valentine's Day. Once we checked in, we found out that all the Spa Services were actually booked that weekend. Well okay, but we also found out that the Spa itself was all booked up and had been since Thursday (before they sold us the reservation in the first place) and we couldn’t even use the spa showers, hot tub, etc. which was included in the room rate and the whole reason we went there. We left. They said a manager was going to call us about our experience but that never happened. Clearly the staff doesn’t communicate with each other. Make sure you find out about availability of all services before you go in order to avoid the “bait and switch.”

Room Tip: Make sure you find out about availability of all services before you go in order to avoid the “bait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tokayo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Our guests’ complete satisfaction is of utmost importance to us. With that being said, we must sincerely apologize if your encounter at our hotel was anything different. Valentine’s Day is always a popular time here for romantic stays and Spa treatments. With many guests reserving far in advance for such special events, the holiday can fill up quite rapidly, but it certainly regrettable if there was any confusion and we can understand your disappointment. Please know that we never intend for any of our valued guests to feel misled in any way. Your comments will be shared with our management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here for our annual Sales Kickoff - I'm local to the area. Had a junior suite with a phenomenal view of the GG Bridge and the San Francisco skyline. Service couldn't have been better - super friendly and attentive. Location is great, but still a few miles from Berkeley's gourmet ghetto and shopping. It isn't advisable to take public transportation here - rent a car. Overall, a grand experience that with a couple tweaks could be legendary.

Pros:
Billion dollar view from suites
Classic elegance
Great Service
Spa facilities - gym, pool, classes, spa
Restaurant food - however, you really should venture out.
Conference facilities - phenomenal view, but dated - need updating.
Comfortable bed, quiet room

Cons:
Surcharge on everything- could be a city thing
$30 per day lot parking - just build this into the cost of the rooms - no need to nickel and dime people
Weird maintenance schedule - had to suffer through paint fumes outside my room for a day.
Inconsistent room sizes/types - some rooms are super small with weird rooflines.
Limited giftshop

Room Tip: Ask to look at the room first - there are distinctly different room types here. There is no standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
It is always such a pleasure to read feedback from our valued guests, thank you. At The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa is it our top priority to create an excellent stay for all and we are thrilled that you enjoyed so much of our property. The views from our windows are truly magnificent! Every room in our historic hotel is completely unique with different decor and layout. We do apologize, however if your peace was disrupted in any way by any maintenance taking place outside your guest room or if you were troubled by any of our fees. We will share your comments with our management team. Thank you for your review. We hope you will come back for another, stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I cannot say enough nice things about this lovely hotel and its staff. My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel, celebrating our 2 year anniversary and Valentine's day a little early. When we checked in, Joy at the front desk, greeted us with a big smile. Because we were celebrating an anniversary, she hooked us up with a very lovely room, with a nice king size bed and a tub to kill for. She even gave us complimentary bath salts!
When we got to the room, we were quickly greeted with a complimentary extra plush robe and a bottle of champagne with a hand written card wishing us a happy anniversary.
We took advantage of the wonderful Meritage bar. The bartender was great and Jessica Wraa was outstanding. She made sure our experience was exceptional.
When we got back to the room, sadly the roof was leaking! We called the front desk and they quickly moved us to another room within minutes.
When we went to check out, to our surprise, Joy was all ready for us, calling us by name and everything. We thanked her for the amazing room but told her the story about the leaky roof, so she graciously took $75 off our bill.
Joy went over and beyond for us and coming from someone is the service industry, I appreciate outstanding service. Because our stay was so positive, we will now be making the Claremont an annual anniversary event, and hopefully get back there again soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, General Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Happy Anniversary! Thank you for sharing such a lovely story with us. We are truly honored and humbled by your glowing review. How wonderful that your time at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa was such a special getaway for you and your boyfriend. Reading your review brought us a great amount of joy as we learned of your appreciation for all of the special touches. Our associates will be thrilled to know they made such an impact on you and we will share your comments with everyone here. We are grateful that any issues you encountered with your initial guest room were minimal. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for your next celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.0 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Property: Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Address: 41 Tunnel Rd, Berkeley, CA 94705-2429
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening its doors in 1915, Claremont Club & Spa has been revered as one of America's iconic luxury hotels. As it celebrates its 100th anniversary, Fairmont Hotels and Resorts is proud to unveil our newest member of the Fairmont collection, ushering in a new era of luxury for the next 100 years! Overlooking the San Francisco Bay, Claremont Club & Spa in Berkeley sets new heights in service, amenities, and accommodations. For the past 100 years, Claremont has been recognized as an icon in the Bay Area. Conveniently located in the heart of Berkeley, the hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown San Francisco. Private parking is available. Its 276 beautifully appointed rooms offer a mix of old world charm and California comfort, many boasting breathtaking views of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing