We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay at historic hotel”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Although the hotel could use some maintenance and updating, it is overall in great shape and a great place to stay in the Bay area if you have your own transportation as it is a couple of miles from most businesses in Berkeley. The swimming pools, tennis courts, and physical fitness facilities are excellent. We rented two rooms. Each had two full double size beds which felt small being used to queen size. One room was a bit cramped but the other was quite large and comfortable. Some rooms in the hotel are specifically designed to minimize allergens - "Pure" is what they are called. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Dining facilities at the hotel are rather formal. Fortunately, there is an excellent restaurant right across the street that is family friendly.

Room Tip: Check room size as they do vary. Ask for "Pure" room if you have allergies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, General Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback about your experience at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We're thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and were able to appreciate some of the amazing amenities we offer from our outdoor pools to our tennis courts and Club facilities. As you mentioned, we feature PURE Allergy friendly rooms, the most complete, allergen-resistant rooms on the market. Our associates always hope to leave guests with a positive impression and will be thrilled that you found them to be so friendly. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    369
    200
    131
    116
See reviews for
377
430
99
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Pulling up to the Claremont I was in awe of how majestic it looked sitting high up on the hill. The hotel has a very interesting history to read about and there are plenty of old pictures in the lobby to check out.
All the staff were super friendly and asking if we needed anything all during our stay. When I was in the Spa just checking out their retail area, a very kind woman took me over to the Spa check in and suggested I take advantage of the Spa facilities for free since I was a guest at the hotel. I had no idea I could do this so I was very appreciative as I ended up going there each day I was there. Loved their different shower facilities (especially the 10 shower head option).
The pool and gym area were very nice and kept well maintained. However, it is a bit of a walk (a very pretty walk) so keep that in mind when heading out. The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous with different vegetation and colors, and the views not only from our room but the balconies and restaurant were amazing!
Our room was perhaps a little in need of updating, but with it being such an old hotel it was better than I expected. Spacious bathroom and room. I also liked that they had a robe in the closet as some places these days do not offer that.
The location was perfect distance from some cute shops. Such great weather, it was nice to wake up and head down to sit outside to enjoy a coffee and croissant.
Hopefully we will be back someday!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, General Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We are delighted to read that you loved everything about your stay! Thank you for taking the time to share details of your visit to The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. With the finest of Berkeley just steps from our front door, guests can enjoy so much of the area quite easily or stay right at our resort and take advantage of all that our property has to offer. Our associates always hope to enhance your stay in every way and it is great to know you appreciated their efforts, particularly while visiting our Spa. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to our historic hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This hotel was beautiful! The room was comfortable, roomy and nice, and the view out the window took in San Francisco Bay, the Bay Bridge, and the city of San Francisco. It was awesome both during the day and at night with the lights of the city. The service at the hotel was very competent with every person we encountered having a positive and friendly attitude. The spa offered many different options, and we wished we had stayed longer to experience them.
We had an excellent dinner in the Meritage Restaurant, with an attentive, helpful waiter, good wine and special food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squirrelly975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, General Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
What could be better than exceptional? We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, thank you for sharing your many compliments of our accommodations and service. Dining at Meritage can be such a wonderful event and we delight in preparing the very best cuisine for our cherished guests. Our Spa is a highlight for many who visit and next time you must experience it for yourself. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed at the Claremont during a work trip. The grounds were beautiful and the location convenient, with restaurants and shops within walking distance. I loved the fitness center especially. The drawbacks were the guest rooms - badly in need of updating, rather dark and small. I asked for a brighter room after checking out my first option and was sent to a slightly lighter selection, although my view was of part of the roof and guest windows across the way. The service in the Paragon restaurant was quite lacking as well, not very attentive and too slow.

Room Tip: if you are definitely staying here, upgrade to opt for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, General Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you so much for providing details of your business stay with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We love to hear from our guests, both to know what they have enjoyed, as well as what areas might need our attention. It is wonderful that the views from our hotel were some of what you valued the most of, as well as our Club facilities. Part of the charm of our historic hotel is the uniqueness of our accommodations, with no two exactly alike, just as no two guests are the same! We value your feedback and hope to welcome you back again so that you can take advantage of even more that we have offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Beautiful classic hotel, loved our stay. Large room, comfortable king sized bed, large bathroom and shower. We had a great time visiting the bay area and the Claremont was a great home-base. Located in a great neighborhood in the Berkeley area, nice restaurants, breakfast spots, and bakeries. Rick And Ann's restaurant, located a block from the hotel, was a great spot for breakfast. Paragon, located in the hotel, had awesome views of the bay at night and was a great spot for a few drinks after roaming the city all day. Friendly staff, clean hotel, knowledgeable spa staff, and the athletic club passes were great. Views from the room included the bay bridge and golden gate bridge, could just make out the bay bridge lights at night! Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Spa Elite King rooms have great bay views, could see the bay bridge and golden gate bridge from our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We couldn’t be happier to know you enjoyed your stay so completely at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Our location is perfect for taking in all of the exciting attractions that Berkeley has to offer. Whether dining at one of our on-site restaurants or experiencing a pampering spa treatment, we hope all of our guests are able to make the most of their visit with us. We value your feedback and would love to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Osos, California
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This $300+ per night hotel really shows its 100-year age. Looks like last attempt at remodeling "view" rooms is over 20 years old. Ergonomics in our room were awful--closet was way too large, as was the bathroom. Plus, a large part of the room was walled off--probably having to do with a prior attempt to convert the hotel to condos, with kitchens. What was left was about enough for two beds and not much else.

Mold around the tub, dirty windows, ancient small toilet, strange beds about 3.5 feet off the floor...

There is hope--a crew of people were seen "measuring" the entire interior of the hotel in preparation for a total remodel--it had been bought by the Fairmont group the week before our stay.

Room Tip: Wait for the remodel to complete, then don't pay extra for the "view" rooms--smog and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harold b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your candor. As you mentioned, our hotel is indeed a historic property dating back to the early days of the gold rush and with it comes all of the unique architectural styling of days gone by. Every guest room in our hotel is completely unique from the next, but we do apologize if you were fully impressed or if you encountered any issues with your bathroom. Your comments are being shared with our housekeeping associates. It is our hope that you will give us another chance in the future to fully impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

we stayed for 2 days breakfast was quick and great service this saturday servers danny and hugo were amazing and polite short rib hash came the way he described fresh orange juice ,we have to wait few minutes in order to take our order but was busy otherwise great service

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 518douglas_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Everyone at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa works hard to provide the very best in service and accommodations. We are delighted you enjoyed our very popular breakfast experience and found our service to be so exemplary. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,279 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.0 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#7 of 20 in Berkeley
261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
380 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Property: Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Address: 41 Tunnel Rd, Berkeley, CA 94705-2429
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening its doors in 1915, Claremont Club & Spa has been revered as one of America's iconic luxury hotels. As it celebrates its 100th anniversary, Fairmont Hotels and Resorts is proud to unveil our newest member of the Fairmont collection, ushering in a new era of luxury for the next 100 years! Overlooking the San Francisco Bay, Claremont Club & Spa in Berkeley sets new heights in service, amenities, and accommodations. For the past 100 years, Claremont has been recognized as an icon in the Bay Area. Conveniently located in the heart of Berkeley, the hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown San Francisco. Private parking is available. Its 276 beautifully appointed rooms offer a mix of old world charm and California comfort, many boasting breathtaking views of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing