We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms Need a facelift” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Bryn Mawr, Pa.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rooms Need a facelift”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel is has some excellent qualities such as the spa, pool, gym and tennis. Where it stumbles is in the quality of the rooms which are way overdue for an entire facelift. In addition the hallways have a musty odor. The lobby is very nice. the staff were excellent. The bar-bistro was fine but again the main restaurant badly needs a modernization. Beautiful grounds. Looking forward to seeing what the Fairmount does in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeandjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. It is regrettable to know that you were disappointed in any way by our historic hotel or feel that any area was not at its best. We will share your thoughts with our management team. It is our hope that you will stay again and let us know how we can best accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    349
    192
    127
    109
See reviews for
353
402
93
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We live in San Francisco and had our wedding in San Rafael. We had one night to spend in a hotel of our choice before we headed out to a more tropical destination. I wanted to choose a hotel that would serve as a spectacular start to our honeymoon and the Claremont was perfect! The service at the hotel was Fantastic! They even treated us to champagne and chocolates in our room since it was our honeymoon. After the stress and excitement of our wedding we were very happy we stayed here for our first night of our honeymoon and would recommend it to anyone. We spent some time at the pool, which is a Bay Area luxury. (We wish they had more hot tubs on the premises.)

We had just seen the movie "The Grand Budapest" and loved the idea of historical hotels and their role in a "civilized" society. This seems up there with "The Grand Budapest". We had a lovely late lunch on their balcony restaurant looking at the San Francisco skyline while eating superb oysters and enjoying delicious drinks. The service at the restaurant was decent. It was graduation weekend and they seemed unprepared for the influx. We were on our honeymoon and nothing could phase us so we didn't mind.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sareye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
What a lovely start to your honeymoon! We are delighted you chose to stay at The Clarmeont Hotel Club & Spa and enjoyed the special touches that we shared with you for the occasion. From champagne and chocolates to relaxing poolside, your entire stay sounds like it was the best way to relax into your new marriage! We do apologize if the weekend you were with us was particularly busy, but it is great to know it did not negatively impact your overall experience. It is our hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a great view from room and from dining room. Have had better furnished rooms with better layout. Charged a facilities fee in addition to parking. If you are just staying at the hotel and not using the facilities (other than dining) is expensive. Parking is expensive as well. Nice grounds. Good service in restaurant. Very extensive Sunday Brunch--well worth tariff. But cancelled our next reservation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are truly grateful to know that you enjoyed the views from our property as well as your dining experience. Thank you for sharing your comments and appreciation for our hotel. We would like to point out that all of our fees are outlined on our website and detailed during the booking process, but we apologize if there was any lack of clarity. It is never our intent to hide any of our charges or surprise our guests with one. Our facility fees cover a magnitude of amazing activities and amenities for all of our guests to enjoy, including wireless Internet service, use of our 3 pools, tennis courts, Mind & Body Center, fitness center and more. We value your feedback and hope to welcome you back again so that you can take advantage of all that we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Good-public areas are fabulous, restaurants have great views, good food and are visually appealing. Our room was in the newer section and good points are: large room, large bathroom, plenty of lighting, separate tub and shower, marble everywhere, lots of towels, beds are comfortable, small desk, refrigerator and personal sized coffee maker.

The bad-towels very thin and some with small holes, faucet had a leak when turned on, that flooded the backside of sink area and any personal items on the counter. Water pressure in shower was very low. Only 1 bathrobe in closet, guess we were supposed to share! Very thin comforter on bed. Wall paper peeling in some areas. Daily parking charge.

This hotel will become part of the Fairmont brand and the rooms are due for an upgrade in the hotel rooms. The public areas are well maintained, as we saw painters doing touch ups in areas of the hallways, and near elevators that get a lot of fingerprints. We had breakfast twice in the main dining room and our servers remembered us from previous days visit and greeted us warmly. Service and food was great. Great view from this dining room. We also had dinner in the main dining room on our first night. We did not have reservations, and they managed to fit us in at the time we wanted to dine, which was appreciated after traveling all day.

The Claremont is expensive, but worth the money at least once to see the historic hotel and the public rooms.

If the hotel room would have been better, would have given the Claremont 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnie4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. While we are truly happy to learn that you appreciated the service you received at our hotel as well as the beauty of our historic public areas and spacious accommodations, it is disappointing to read that your stay was not positive in every way. Your feedback is of great importance to us and we wished we could have known of your concerns while you were here, when it would have mattered the most. We have shared your issues with our maintenance team as they seek to make all areas of our property the best they can be. Thank you for your comments, if there is anything else we could have done to improve your experience we would love to know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

From the moment we drove up to the hotel to the minute we left, everything was perfect!

At the check in desk we were greeted by a happy and smiling Elizabeth who did a wonderful job. I told her we were there for our 20th anniversary and that we were excited to be there for the first time.

After checking in, we took a trip to the spa to use the facilities which was included in our stay. I met Brandon there, the very personable and professional spa attendant. He showed me the facilities and made me feel right at home. . I enjoyed the hot tub, eucalyptus steam room and the deluge which was AWESOME!! After the spa we went back to the room and found a bottle of Champagne, chocolates and a beautiful note from Elizabeth and the front desk staff. Completely unexpected but what a nice way to start the weekend!

From there we went to our dinner reservations at the Meritage Restaurant and was seated at a nice table with a beautiful view. Our waiter was Mario and after greeting us by name with a Happy Anniversary, he brought us complementary glasses of Champagne to celebrate which was again, unexpected but a very nice touch. He explained the menu, we had a great conversation and although I didn't have the daring to try the bone marrow entree, my wife and I enjoyed a first class meal. Mario has been serving at the Meritage for 22 years and it was apparent why, he was the best waiter I have ever had.

The next day we took a walk around the facilities and ended up at the pool and workout area. We worked out in the gym for a while then changed in to our suits and thoroughly enjoyed sitting in the padded lawn chairs around the pool in the shade the rest of the day. We enjoyed drinks from the poolside bar, live music and beautiful weather. We could not have had a more relaxing day.

That night we went out to dinner on the patio at the Paragon restaurant which was also amazing. Carol checked us in with a smile, the view was spectacular, the food was terrific and the experience was again top notch.

To finish off our stay, we went from dinner to the piano bar by the Meritage. We sat and enjoyed drinks while listening to Jeff-the pianist who is also amazing. What a great experience!

I was definitely not expecting such a magical time. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. It was a visit my wife and I will always remember. Thank you so much Claremont! Next time we will bring the kids!
The Allens, Danville, CA

Room Tip: We were in room 429 and it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Case A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We can’t think of a lovelier way to celebrate your special time! Thank you so much for sharing not only your anniversary with us, but your very kind feedback about your stay. It is always our joy to help create special memories and our associates love to ensure that our guests enjoy their time, whatever the occasion. An unexpectedly magical stay is what we are known for here at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We reserved a Pure Allergy Free room for Memorial Day weekend. The room was lovely, facing the tennis courts and the bay. My husband enjoyed the sports facilities--the spinning bikes. I took my 2 yr old granddaugnter to the 3 pools every day. True, the restaurants were expensive, but the breakfast in particular was excellent. The staff was friendly. We will definitely come back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank deelurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. We are delighted you found it to be both lovely and welcoming! Our PURE rooms are designed to offer allergy-afflicted travelers their best option as each are treated extensively, ensuring an inviting stay every time. It sounds like your entire family, including your granddaughter, were able to make good use of our amenities. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Staff was friendly, concierge was very helpful with suggestions of things to see in the area. Beautiful setting but due to the very nature of the building many rooms do not have a great view. So if that's important to you ask for a room with a good view. There is a
$30 per night parking fee if you have a car but if you make a request at the time of
reservation they may waive that fee as they did for me.
One other thing, if you're hoping to use their spa facilities make sure and check on the maintenance schedule when you first check in. I made the mistake of waiting till the last day to try out the spa and it was closed for maintenance. I was there for a conference which was great so missing the spa was not a big deal to me.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whoever59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for sharing feedback of your stay with us. We are delighted to know that you find The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa to be so quaint. Our helpful service is just one of the many reasons that guests return to visit us again and again! As you mentioned, we do charge for parking. All of our fees are outlined on our website and during the booking process but we apologize if there was any lack of clarity. Our Spa is always such a treat and we work hard to ensure that everything is at its best, but we do regret if there was any scheduled maintenance closure during your visit. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.0 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#10 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Property: Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Address: 41 Tunnel Rd, Berkeley, CA 94705-2429
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening its doors in 1915, Claremont Club & Spa has been revered as one of America's iconic luxury hotels. As it celebrates its 100th anniversary, Fairmont Hotels and Resorts is proud to unveil our newest member of the Fairmont collection, ushering in a new era of luxury for the next 100 years! Overlooking the San Francisco Bay, Claremont Club & Spa in Berkeley sets new heights in service, amenities, and accommodations. For the past 100 years, Claremont has been recognized as an icon in the Bay Area. Conveniently located in the heart of Berkeley, the hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown San Francisco. Private parking is available. Its 276 beautifully appointed rooms offer a mix of old world charm and California comfort, many boasting breathtaking views of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing