We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
St Andrews/Sacramento CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Grew up in Berkeley so it was fun to come back to the Claremont- It is an older hotel, but remains quaint and distinguished; Our room was on the 7th floor and even when we checked in in the afternoon the party in the next room was loud- I asked for another room which we were graciously given - I would suggest that parking should be free....there is no where else to park if you do not want to use their lot; Spa looked amazing and the class schedules for fitness classes were varied.. cycle, yoga, pilates etc. I would recommend-

Room Tip: Don't get an adjoining room....unless you want to hear all the conversations of those next to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SS0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your recommendation of The Clarmeont Hotel Club & Spa! Berkeley is such a wonderful area and it is great to know that you were able to come back and stay with us. Our associates truly care about our guests’ experiences and it is great to know you appreciated the efforts they made to ensure your comfort. As you mentioned, we do charge for parking in our secure lot and we hope that it wasn’t too much of an inconvenience for you. Our Club and Spa are a highlight of many guests’ visits and we hope you can come back again to take and take advantage of all that they offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    364
    198
    128
    114
See reviews for
371
419
98
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely old hotel. Very stately. Wonderful facilities including two swimming pools with lap lanes. Views are wonderful.

Been to the spa in the past and it is awesome. Love the multi jet showers! Luxury !

Felt kind of like I was starring in an old Hollywood movie.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We love that you have likened a stay with us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa to starring in an old Hollywood movie! Thank you so much for sharing your review and appreciation for what we have to offer at our historic property. The Spa here is serene retreat for all who have the opportunity to experience it. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Bayview room - which you pay more for, has ONE window that is 3' by 5' tall. Crazy. Room is big but dark and musty - as are all the hotel floors. The Spa is only open from 12-5??? Skip this hotel - even the Sheraton is nicer!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, General Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for the encounter you have shared. We are deeply committed to providing an excellent stay for all of our guests and achieving your complete satisfaction on all levels. It is disappointing to know that we failed to meet your expectations regarding your accommodations. Please know that our Spa associates always want to meet your needs completely and we ask that you accept our apologies if our hours were not more convenient for you. Your feedback is critical and we will use it to share with all of our management team. Thank you for sharing your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a lovely old hotel full of history (with the photos to show for it!). The Paragon restaurant was good, although it could use some help in the decor. My only real complaint would be that room 709 is not the best. The thermostat was hard to control, and there was an automatic motion sensor light in the bathroom which was very annoying at night....plus the water temperature in the shower was so sensitive, it was easily too hot or too cold and the vanity mirror was installed at a level so low only a child could use it..........

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanandalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you so much for letting us know of your appreciation for the history of The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. Our property dates back to the early days of the Gold Rush and we love to share in the magic that has happened within our walls. Dining at Paragon is a favorite with many of our guests as we create delicious, familiar choices with a twist. We do apologize if some aspects of your guest room were not more to your liking or if you experienced any issues with the thermostat. The automated light sensors and the bathroom vanity mirror height are to ensure ADA compliance in some of our guest rooms. Nonetheless we regret any inconvenience it may have caused. We will be sure that our maintenance team is aware of your concerns for future stays. It is our hope that you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Claremont is one of a kind. Beautiful victorian architecture in the Berkeley Hills overlooking SF Bay and the Golden Gate.

Upgrade to a West (golden gate) view. Enjoy the pool and the views. Look for deals on priceline and hotwire.

Romantic getaway

Room Tip: get a west facing room overlooking the Golden Gate and SF Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa truly is one of a kind! Thank you so much for appreciating what makes our historic property so unique. There is nothing quite like the views from our hotel. It would be our privilege to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I really enjoy this hotel but in the recent years it has changed owners and some of he service has dropped. The restaurant has never really been that good but breakfast is a sure pass.The pool is great and the view is great! I just wish this hotel was updated a little and the service back up to par. The jewelry gift shop is a plus for this hotel .Great local made jewelry

Room Tip: Get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadiepdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. Rising high in the hills of Berkeley, our historic property has offered our guests some amazing stays over the years and we are glad you have enjoyed it on a number of occasions, but we do regret if your recent experience was not all you had hoped for. Please know that we always want to know how we can help improve as it is only through our guests’ eyes do we have the ability to assess our offerings. Your comments will be shared with our management team. It is our hope that you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,262 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.0 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
258 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
375 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Property: Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Address: 41 Tunnel Rd, Berkeley, CA 94705-2429
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening its doors in 1915, Claremont Club & Spa has been revered as one of America's iconic luxury hotels. As it celebrates its 100th anniversary, Fairmont Hotels and Resorts is proud to unveil our newest member of the Fairmont collection, ushering in a new era of luxury for the next 100 years! Overlooking the San Francisco Bay, Claremont Club & Spa in Berkeley sets new heights in service, amenities, and accommodations. For the past 100 years, Claremont has been recognized as an icon in the Bay Area. Conveniently located in the heart of Berkeley, the hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown San Francisco. Private parking is available. Its 276 beautifully appointed rooms offer a mix of old world charm and California comfort, many boasting breathtaking views of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing