We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Just Don't Make Them Like This Anymore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“They Just Don't Make Them Like This Anymore”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

100 years ago, visiting a hotel was a rare experience -- travel was limited, and a visit to somewhere was a once-in-a-lifetime event. Monumental hotels were built because there weren't many from which to choose. In Berkeley, in fact in Northern California, one of those monuments is the Claremont Hotel. This sprawling edifice, lovingly restored and maintained, still conveys this era -- long hallways with many doors, a large campus with so many things to do, fine dining and always-friendly staff -- it does not take much to retreat to 1915 when the hotel was built and imagine being there.

Rooms vary in size and décor -- check them out and make sure you like the one in which you are being placed. Many are delightful, but the views vary widely -- the really good views of the Bay are worth fighting for. The restaurants are both good. Breakfast is wonderful -- order what you like (on or off the menu) and they will make it for you...just like in 1915! Farm-to-table dining at Meritage with a view of the Bay is a delightful way to end a day.

On the down side, this is a LARGE hotel -- boutique is not what you get here. Sometimes it is completely full with some group or another which, for any property, detracts from its charm. But they handle such crowding better than many other properties. Whether jammed or sparse, staff is unfailingly polite and solicitous -- and that REALLY feels like a throwback to another era.

In short, this is a deserving Bay-Area alternative if being in the City has become passé or you are craving something different and upscale.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a decent Bay view -- many rooms do, but you may have to take a look to see if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rakrakrakrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
What a lovely review, thank you! The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa pays tribute to another time with our historic accommodations and we are delighted you enjoyed that aspect of your stay so immensely. From luxurious surroundings to well appointed guest rooms, we strive to create the ultimate encounter for each of our guests. Dining at both Paragon and Meritage can be such a treat with the freshest ingredients available and truly unique flavors. Our property was once built as a castle in the early days of the Gold Rush. Although it is quite large, our associates strive for personal service in all they do. We do hope you will come back again for another outstanding visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    359
    196
    128
    110
See reviews for
365
412
96
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I like staying at the Claremont when i am in Berkeley. It is a beautiful charming hotel in a great location.The service is always exceptional. Both Paragon and Meritage are great places to eat. If the weather is nice get a table outside at Paragon. The spa and fitness facilities are very good but can be crowded at times. The rooms though, and I can see where some people might be turned off by this, are outdated and a tad quirky. If having a closet tucked into the corner of your room with a door just big enough to squeeze your arm into or having to open the room door, enter, and then close the door before you can get into the room bothers you greatly, than perhaps you would happier somewhere else. I personally don't mind these things as the all the other aspects of the hotel more than make up for the rooms but be forewarned.

The only thing that really bothers me about the Claremont is the cost of the parking. It is $30 a day which seems really high for self parking at a hotel. Parking should be free for paying guests.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisF334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We are so glad to know that The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa is your choice of hotel when you visit Berkeley. With amazing dining on site, beautiful views and great amenities that include our full service Spa and Club, our hotel has so much to share with our guests. As a historic property, we seek to maintain our unique charm which extends to our guest room accommodations. Each is different than the next and it's our desire that our guests enjoy a comfortable stay. Our associates are always on hand to help you chose the space that would make you most at home. We do regret if any of our fees troubled you. Please know that we feature a number of savings packages that include the parking fee. We would be happy to welcome you back again for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I had an excellent last minute stay, at the desk I was informed they didn't have anymore of the type of room I booked so I got upgraded to a suite with a bay view (score!). I stayed on site and enjoyed the two restaurants and bars. I experienced excellent customer service. After a week of fieldwork it was an excellent place to relax & unwind.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaneDamage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We are so glad that you did discover us! Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review of your time at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. An upgrade to one of our suites can be such a pampering way to enjoy your first stay. Both Meritage and Paragon offer distinctive, Bay Area flavors in beautiful settings and our associates will be happy to know that you found their service to be excellent. We hope you will come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Great location and grounds, but the rooms and public areas in the hotel are a bit worn-out; the new owner, the Fairmont group, is planning major renovations- which are expected to begin around the end of 2014. The tennis facilities and pool/spa (which we did not use) look great.

Our room took forever to reach (2 elevator rides and 2 long hallway walks), was big with nice views- but the furniture (comfortable) was a bit over used.

The concierge services were great- restaurant reservations, car services, etc. Other staff was also good/responsive.

We had a disaster at their best restaurant on Saturday night: after not having our first course served for 1 1/2 hours, they acknowledged a major breakdown in the kitchen (they had a big wedding party plus a full restaurant to serve)- and they moved us to their other restaurant where we finally ate (complimentary, with many apologies.)

Room Tip: ask for bay view and a king-bed room (double rooms are smaller.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your encounter with us. While it is great to know you enjoyed the service you received from our Concierge as well as our other associates, we must apologize for any issues you encountered while dining. While the circumstances surrounding your encounter and not fully clear, one of our dining associates are always available to ensure that our guests are enjoying their experience to the fullest and we regret if your meal was delayed. We appreciate that you allowed us to make things right. It is our hope that you will join us again so that we can ensure your time is the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I am a member of the Club at the Claremont. I have gone to the spa many times and use the same masseuse every time. She is great. They have added a 19% mandatory tip. Total, including tip $150. Also- the hot tub was only lukewarm when I entered the spa. When I told them as I was leaving they said no one else had complained. They promised to look into it. Not that happy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for reaching out to us. We value our Club members and your opinion is of great importance. It is regrettable if any of fees were disappointing to you. As we offer a variety of services, we hope that you know our associates are always happy to help in any way they can. The comments you have shared regarding the hot tub have been shared with our maintenance team to ensure that the optimal temperature is maintained. We hope that for your next visit you will allow us to ensure your time is the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We won a free one night stay with our dog on a raffle. The gift certificate is for Pet Furr-iendly Package that includes the resort fee, parking, overnight stay, waived the pet fee, two feeding bowl, two dog biscuits and one comp-in doggie room dining. This was AWESOME! We took our dog dusty (Snauzhier Terrier) and he had blast. We ordered his room service dining of steak/mashed potatoes with steam spinach and he ate it all. The room was great and comfy bed. The check in was fantastic- Joselyn was very accommodating and gave us the bay-view. I guess all pets must stay on lower floors incase of fire. We enjoyed the spa, work out room and the pool.
CONS: The bathroom is tired and old. The shower was not working properly, you can hear your neighbor whenever they use the bathroom. The room was very tight but good enough for 2 people. The room service was great and fast. But I wouldn't order due to the service fee. (ours was waived/comp). Overall stay was wonderful experience. We did not eat on their dining area as we have the dog. The front desk (Joselyn) recommend few restaurants down on College Ave. We went to Italian place and it was great food. We would not stay here if we had to pay the $300-room plus resort fee $26 and $30 parking. I would recommend to stay here if you are attending a wedding to experience the ambiance of bay area view. .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edelyssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you, and Dusty, for joining us at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa! We are delighted your overall experience was so positive. Our guests and their four legged friends are always welcomed and our pet package is designed to offer your pup the ultimate in pooch pampering. It is great that you were able to take advantage of our spa, pool and fitness facilities. We do apologize, however, if you were not fully impressed with your guest room. Our hotel features a variety of styles and types of rooms and our associates are always happy to help make you more comfortable. It is our hope that you will come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were attending a wedding in the Berkeley hills so the location was perfect for us. We loved the old-fashioned charm of the hotel, which has been beautifully maintained in the public areas and restaurant. We chose the bed and breakfast package and were offered the choice of room service or breakfast in the dining room. The food offerings were fresh and delicious. We took advantage of the spa (complimentary for guests) and the pool area. The spa is a cocoon of luxury; the pool area needs a little updating. The dining option at the pool was not up to the standards of the rest of the facility. We asked for a bay-view room; it was up in the eaves, with a small window. It did not reflect the level of quality in the public areas. The bathroom had the requisite marble but the tub was shallow, typical of a cheaper hotel. The king bed was very comfortable. What sets the Claremont apart is the quality of service. Everyone from the man who parked the car, the check-in, restaurant staff, and charming bartender at Meritage, seemed genuinely invested in making our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAREMONT_H0TEL, Manager at Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We are all truly invested in making each guests’ visit better than the last and it is wonderful to read that you valued the efforts we have made. Thank you for sharing your review of your time at The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa. A package is a great way to take advantage of much of what we offer and a visit to our Spa is always relaxing. We do apologize if you were not fully impressed with your dining experience at the Bayview Café poolside or if some of the finishes in your guest bath were not more to your liking, however. If there is ever anything we can do to help, please know that our associates are on hand. It would be our hope that you would come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,247 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.0 mi away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
256 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
374 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel

Property: Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Address: 41 Tunnel Rd, Berkeley, CA 94705-2429
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening its doors in 1915, Claremont Club & Spa has been revered as one of America's iconic luxury hotels. As it celebrates its 100th anniversary, Fairmont Hotels and Resorts is proud to unveil our newest member of the Fairmont collection, ushering in a new era of luxury for the next 100 years! Overlooking the San Francisco Bay, Claremont Club & Spa in Berkeley sets new heights in service, amenities, and accommodations. For the past 100 years, Claremont has been recognized as an icon in the Bay Area. Conveniently located in the heart of Berkeley, the hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown San Francisco. Private parking is available. Its 276 beautifully appointed rooms offer a mix of old world charm and California comfort, many boasting breathtaking views of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Club Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Club And Spa
Claremont Resort Berkeley
Claremont Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing