We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great b'fast/lunch place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 900 Grayson

900 Grayson
Ranked #58 of 692 Restaurants in Berkeley
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great b'fast/lunch place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Biggest problem is the sometimes long wait. Food's great once you are seated. Food is straightforward, creative take on diner food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oakland_diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A "Don't Miss"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

While visiting family, our son suggested this great breakfast spot. As someone else mentioned: rather unassuming, but then again, I'm not looking for a date! It was clean, the staff was friendly and warm, and the food speaks for itself. The Demon Lover was my dream of starting a day. The fried chicken, waffles and white gravy were absolutely wonderful. My wife's hash browns were some of the best I have ever had. In a world of good places to eat, it's nice to enjoy a meal you won't soon forget!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyDays39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lunch for locals and foodies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

I am reluctant to rave too much as there. Is already a wait most days to be seated, but the somewhat ramshackle structure on Berkeley's southwest, has great food. Known for having the best burger in the Bay Area, it excels at fish, chicken, and veggie items. Soups are great and deserts, if there is room, satisfy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ggobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great breakfast/brunch, don't miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

"Toasting makes me uncomfortable. But toast I love. Never start the day without a good piece of toast. In fact, let's toast to toast."

Will be adding these guys to our "rotation" - solid fare for breakfast & lunch with a menu that has a few twist's & turns - good ones, which makes for FUN.

Host, wait staff, and back counter have their thing DOWN for the most part - greeted & seated with a fresh squeezed OJ, coffee, and latte (good coffee & espresso, took another set to go) in under 5 min @ 11am on a Saturday - me LIKES that.

2 eggs over easy, bacon, hash browns, toast for the 3 year old - she SCARFFED it as usual - nice crispy hash browns, with a heart of tenderness.

Corned-Beef Hash (potatoes & parsnips), 2 soft poached eggs, toast for the wife. Solid & plentyful, otherwise ordinary breakfast standard, except for the parsnips, which gave a nice sweetness. NOTE: I'm a stickler when it comes to poached eggs - I asked the server to make sure they were SOFT poached, when cut in to, they did not "oooze". I was going to send it back - but Carla waved me off, even though she spent most of her time reaching over in to my Demon Lover (chick-a-chick, chick-a-bong bong).

The Chicken & Waffles (Demon Lover) were a nice surprise, I was going to pass on the gravy, but was glad I went with it - I could still taste the waffle too. Nicely breaded, all white chicken drizzled with enough of the creamy white gravy to make things interesting.

Hint: Don't miss the homemade preserves served with your toast... YUM!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Right Bright Berkeley Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Friendly busy place, serving good home style food. Get there early or be prepared to wait. No brunch reservations taken. We were a party of two on a Saturday morning. We got there a bit before half past eleven and had a twenty minute, wait. When we left a bit before one p.m. there was quite a crowd out front waiting to get in. Recommended are the house salad and chicken and waffles aka the "Demon Lover". No liquor license, the cocktails made with a South Korean rice wine are quite tasty, but tame. Kid and family friendly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DetailsAreEverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 900 Grayson also viewed

 

Been to 900 Grayson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing