We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Get Away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eungella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Get Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We have just experienced a wonderful week away at Broken River Resort. This is the second visit since we have moved to Airlie Beach and would highly recommend it as a relaxing or active place for all share. Dennis and Judy along his staff are more than pleasant and great fun to be with. The chef and his wife (Thomas and Jane) nick named Tarzan and Jane by us, provide a fantastic menu and the steaks are to die for. Keep the door open guys we will definitely be back.
Fond memories Rod and Carol Airlie Beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
You must be passing the good word around. We have had a flush of visitors from Airlie Beach. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    87
    21
    5
    0
See reviews for
50
103
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had a wonderful night here- saw platypus in the river at dusk, and had two of the best meals we've enjoyed at any restaurant in Queensland (dinner and breakfast)- fresh, and cooked with such obvious care and passion for flavour. Congratulations to the new couple in the kitchen, and thanks for the fantastic overall service and welcome. We'll be back with friends and family as soon as we can :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Look forward to seeing you when you come back with friends. Just perfect here at the moment. It always makes my day when I see platypus also and so easy to see here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

A wonderful weekend away. Spent the night at the resort and enjoyed a super delicious meal prepared by the new chef. The best Barramundi I have ever eaten, thank you. Accommodation was very comfortable and clean. Judy at reception was informative and friendly and the lovely lady in the bar and on table service was delightful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay. The food is good isn't it. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here at a thursday night, so we were lucky that we could both do the guided nightwalk and the morning birdwalk. Both were free of charge to join! We were the only guests, so both walks it was just us and Myles, the guide. It was incredible how much he knows about the wildlife and nature here. Very interesting! At night we had a good view at the platypus and were able to learn about it. In the morning we saw lots of different birds, also very interesting.
The unit we stayed in was comfortable and at a beautiful location. It was great to have our breakfast at the veranda surrounded by wildlife. The receptionist is a very friendly lady who made us feel really welcome. Great place, highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catharina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the guided tours. Myles is very passionate about the wildlife isn't he? Glad you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

The wildlife here is amazing and the best chance of seeing Platypus in the wild. We saw them in the afternoon and the morning! Surrounded by rainforest the resort is simple but sparkly clean. The resort receptionist who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. We stayed here on Boxing day and our meal at the restaurant was meant to be a treat for us. However the staff in the kitchen made us feel like we were an inconvenience and gave the impression that they couldn't get rid of us fast enough. We barely finished our main meal and our dessert was bought to our table - in fact they were in such a rush the desserts hadn't even thawed out. The only good thing about this restaurant was the wild Possums that come down at night. A great place to stay but we would advise to give the restaurant a miss & take your own food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your restaurant experience. The restaurant is leased and we will be having a new chef arriving mid January. I wish you had spoken up whilst you were still here so that I could have dealt with the problem at the time. The only excuse I can offer is that both chef and his wife were very tired after the Christmas Day celebrations, were they did a full Christmas lunch for all our guests and no staff were available to help. Being so rural it is not easy to get staff especially over the Christmas holiday. Please except my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

The Broken River Mountain Resort lies at the Eungella Nationalpark. We stayed in the platypus lodge for two nights in november 2013. On both days, we went to the playtypus viewing platform and saw three of those shy creatures just a few metres away.

Our room had an ensuite bathroom and a small kitchen, equipped with toaster, kettle and all cutlery. The room was clean and tidy and the bed comfy. In our opinion, the light in the room was a bit too bright to create a relaxing atmosphere in the evening.

They offer free shuttles for bush walks at 9 and 9:30 in the morning. At one day, we were the only guests to use the shuttle, therfore we had the bus for ourselves.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Puschelgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
We might have taken you early on the shuttle as you were the only ones but we usually do our shuttles at 1000 & 1030 each day. Did you manage to take in any of the complementary guided tours? Great that you were able to see so many platypuses. Guests are seeing them all day at the moment which is unusual when it is so warm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hogla
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

maybe most of the people come for platypus's watching and they indeed doing that.but to my humble opinon that is also the right place to take a rest and to clean your head in a place "full of nature".it not only the stroll in the forest,it's also to sit with a coffee and look and hear the birds and even the frogs.
the highlight is the staff which let me feel like one of the family,and it was each one of them.
so if you like to be refresh tats the place to do it

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poudov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I will pass on your comments to the staff. We all love it when someone really enjoys their stay and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eungella
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Long Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella

Property: Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella
Address: Eungella Dam Rd., Eungella, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Eungella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eungella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken River Mountain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing