We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis of Cool and Calm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Oasis of Cool and Calm”
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Exceptional service, exquisite dining and a beautiful outdoor lounge with a cool vibe makes this beautiful hotel a calming oasis within walking distance of all Beverley Hills famous sights.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmackeigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PradeepRaman, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Avalon hotel and for taking the time to write your comments. I am very pleased to hear that numerous instances lead to a very satisfying stay for you at the hotel. Such comments are important to us as we continue to provide exceptional service and comfort levels to our guests.

Thank you very much again and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Avalon hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Pradeep Raman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    255
    119
    50
    43
See reviews for
143
295
58
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
237 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I was in a room that required me to cross an alley - uncovered to get to another building - seems weird and not fun in the rain. My room was fine - nothing special. The size was good but there was really no place to sit except the bed and clearly there was enough space for a comfortable chair. Nice flatscreen TV. The toiletries are great but you cannot take them with you ($65) charge since they come in large containers. The bed has a duvet - but no top sheet - so it was rather warm. There are great places to eat in the area - I had hoped to enjoy their happy hour - BUT found out they were closed that night (as was the pool) since they were having a private party.
The buildings are clear old mote/apartments converted and some of the retro is fun and some is just silly (open light bulbs in the somewhat dingy hallways). I had a rotten experience at the front desk. I had been patiently waiting for a woman to check in - and had stepped back to so as not to crowd the transaction. When the woman left - theclerk allowed a man that just walked up to take my turn and then get involved with some complicated issues regarding a package delivery - all because this guy was cute and flirty - really? When I finally was acknowledged - I asked for a coffee maker to be delivered to my room. I left to go get dinner. When I arrived back from dinner - still no coffee maker. When I went down again...you would think she would remember that she was supposed to get me a coffee maker...no just a blank look. I reminded her about the coffee maker and I swear you would think I was asking this for the FIRST TIME - oh, I am sorry, I forgot. Geez - not impressive service.
I did have wine and tapas the next day and they were both good at the restaurant.
Overall, not impressed.
The photos are better than the real thing - it looks larger than it is.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PradeepRaman, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write about your experience. I am sorry to hear that numerous instances lead to a less than satisfying stay for you.

Rest assured, we will investigate this and make amends to the levels of service provided to you. All the employees at the Avalon take immense pride in providing all our guests with a memorable experience based on highly personalized service and I am sorry that we were not able to provide that for you.

We thank you for the feedback and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Avalon in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Pradeep Raman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Avalon Hotel is a small, friendly boutique hotel. The location is great, the rooms are clean, the price is reasonable and the atmosphere is fun. The staff is friendly, capable and professional. We have stayed at the Avalon several times and will continue to do so

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwkrull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PradeepRaman, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Avalon hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to write your comments.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. I am also very happy to hear that you found all our employees to be friendly and willing. We at the Avalon hotel take pride in providing every guest with a memorable experience and I am glad that we did for you.

Thank you once again and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Avalon hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Pradeep Raman

Kind Regards,
Pradeep Raman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
131 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

The entire staff at the Avalon went above and beyond to give us an amazing experience. We brought friends together from around the world for a week in LA and after a day or so found the Avalon to be the perfect location. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The resturant has an amazing atmosphere and the Sunday happy hour was tops!

I would certianly recomend this hotel for both business and pleasure!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmordski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PradeepRaman, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our guest at the Avalon hotel and for taking the time to write your comments. I am very happy to hear that you found your stay up to your satisfaction.

All our employees at the Avalon hotel take pride in providing every guest a memorable experience based on highly personalized service. I am thrilled to see that we just did that with your stay.

Thank you and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Avalon hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Pradeep Raman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Stayed there just for one night at the end of our 7 nights in LA due to to a last minute change in flight plans back to Australia. Booked through hotwire and got a great rate. The hotel is an older style building but looks recently refurbished and has a funky retro chic vibe and cute little pool area with palm trees and seating nooks. We had a room in the annex building across the street behind the hotel. Room was large and very comfortable and nicely decorated. Bathroom wasn't quite as impressive - although clean and functional it clearly looked like a limited amount had been spent on the fit out and didn't quite match the style & standard of the bedroom. Staff we encountered were friendly and professional. Location was more of a residential area within walking distance of Rodeo Drive but not on a major bus artery as far as we could work out.
All in all a trouble free and comfortable stay in a cute retro chic environment.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ_SYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PradeepRaman, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your comments. We appreciate your comments. The hotel rooms are being renovated and we are confident that our finished new product would be well received by all our guests. We have started getting numerous positive comments on our new room product by guests who have experienced them thus far. I am very happy to hear that you found all our colleagues were very friendly and professional.

I wish to thank you again and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Avalon hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Pradeep Raman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deggendorf, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Very good service, excellent food, nice rooms, very good located to walk to Rodeo Drive

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PradeepRaman, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for being our guest at the Avalon hotel and for the very positive comments. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us.

I do hope that your future travels to Beverly Hills brings you back to the Avalon. We will be thrilled to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

With best wishes for the reminder of the year.

Kind Regards,
Pradeep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Wells, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

I planned a celebration for my daughter at the Avalon Hotel. Allison in Sales made the arrangements seem easy, Oliver greeted us at the front desk when we checked in and introduced us immediately to Peter the Director of F&B who thoughtfully helped me select the wine and the food. The cabana by the pool was a perfect location and our waiter Mathew was everywhere at once making sure that everyones' needs were attended to. It was a perfect evening thanks to the extraordinary care and attention to detail and the wonderful service we received from everyone at the Avalon Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PradeepRaman, General Manager at Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 24 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our guest at the Avalon and for taking the time to write this review. I am thrilled to hear that numerous instances lead to a memorable experience for your guests and yourself.

All our employees at the Avalon hotel take extreme pride in providing each and every guest with an exceptional experience based on highly personalized service and I am so happy that all my colleagues, Allison, Oliver, Peter and Matthew were able to provide that for you. I will certainly communicate your very kind words with them.

I wish to thank you and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your guests back to the Avalon hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Pradeep Raman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beverly Hills hotels
Beverly Hills
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
#5 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hilton
The Beverly Hilton
#7 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
Beverly Hills
SIXTY Beverly Hills
SIXTY Beverly Hills
#8 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Beverly Hills
Hotel Beverly Terrace
Hotel Beverly Terrace
#6 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
#3 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills

Property: Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills
Address: 9400 W Olympic Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212-4552
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Beverly Hills > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#10 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
#10 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished by its historical and novel physical space, this chic Beverly Hills boutique hotel is set around an iconic hourglass-shaped pool and terrace with private cabanas and Viviane restaurant- all just steps from Beverly Hills' most exciting shopping, entertainment, galleries and restaurants. Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills offers luxury amenities and services, stylish accommodations, and creative meeting and event space in the heart of Beverly Hills. Inspired by the relaxed "patio lifestyle" of mid-20th Century Southern California, Avalon Beverly Hills' 84 guest rooms, suites and penthouse studios offer comfort and style in the heart of Beverly Hills. With custom-designed furnishings by International design icon, Kelly Wearstler other luxury appointments include sumptuous Italian linens and Momo by Davines bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Avalon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing