We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected More”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

One of the main reasons to stay at this hotel might be because of its name, and great service. That’s fine, but for us the hotel fell short in some other important areas.

We feel the most important part of a hotel stay is the room, and this is where we were most underwhelmed. We stayed in a deluxe room that overall was very nice with soft tones, good moldings, and a nice balance between contemporary and elegant décor. It was nice to have French doors which we enjoyed leaving open at times. We were also very happy with our room placement, facing west with afternoon sun, and overlooking the front motor court. But then there was that sad lonely undersized chair and ottoman in the corner. There was plenty of space for something larger and more interesting, especially since the only other option for seating was desk chairs. The other problem we had was the lack of storage space, only three drawers, none big enough to place pants or even shorts without folding them. We did not expect to live out of our suitcases. The bathroom was classic high end luxury and included a TV in the mirror, but only one sink.

Another area we were not overly impressed by was the pool terrace. The pool is nice, and the rooftop views pleasant, but the layout of this space is not ideal. There are a dozen revenue generating cabanas next to the pool with south facing loungers that you need to pass on your way to the twenty five or so tightly packed loungers set around the hot tub and facing north, at the far end of the terrace. It is very much like passing first class on a plane on your way to coach. Also, several lounge cushions were very stained and the various blue colored towels that are place on top of them did not do much to dress up the area. You also need to pass directly through the roof top outdoor restaurant to get to the pool, including if you need to use the bathroom. The spa and gym are also on this level and are pretty nice, but not very large.

We had breakfast each day in the Belvedere restaurant which is very nice with indoor and outdoor dining. The food was very good, but our server who was the same each day was not overly friendly or attentive. In addition, we ate early and at times were the only ones in the room so that it was very easy to hear the very chatty staff talk often in the restaurant, and we could even hear their conversations from the kitchen.

Despite our disappointments, overall the hotel is very nice. The public spaces are attractive, the hotel is small and boutique like. The staff in general was very nice - especially the front desk and valet staff. The location is very central for Los Angeles, and downtown Beverly Hills is a very easy walk away. If only the room met our needs a little bit more, then maybe our overall impression would have been better. That said, the room disappointment was too much to ignore at this hotel given its stature and reputation as one of the best in the country.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lowest floor may have limited views and light - try for floors 4 or 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had the opportunity to stay an afternoon for a tea in the "Living Room" with great friends.
The service is excellent and the food is 1st class.
Decoration and ambience is a real luxury sensation and I really recommend it.
Of course is expensive but you know... that's Beverly Hills Peninsula!
You expect what you pay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Federico V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Los Angeles is not a bastion of great hotels. Many are living off reputations garnered two decades ago. The Peninsula is the best of what is there. The service is up to the impeccable worldwide Peninsula level. The Concierge, the wait staff, the housekeeping staff -- they miss no opportunity to ask and to try to be helpful. Food service is way better than expected for hotel food...in some cases top of class. Rooms are widely different and not all are amenable to all tastes -- look at your room before you settle in. A different room may suit you better. With that caveat, easily the best place to stay in Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Check out your room before checking in. They are all nice, but some suit certain personalities more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rakrakrakrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I spent a week at the Peninsula Beverly Hills and we were very impressed. The hotel is classy and elegant without being stuffy or pretentious.

We spent a few nights in a patio deluxe room before shifting to a grand deluxe room. The patio rooms offer some pleasant outdoor space but the living space is quite a bit smaller than the grand deluxe room. For us, we preferred the extra space in the grand deluxe room which had both a couch and dresser which we missed in the smaller room. The bathrooms are identical in both categories and are excellent. Since we were out most of the time, the patio was less of a benefit to us. The hotel staff was exemplary in helping us make the move and everything was seamless.

The service at the hotel was excellent and without fault. The hotel is very very well run and everyone is friendly, competent and looks to be of assistance at all times. It was very impressive, indeed.

If I have any complaints or criticism, it would be the pool area on the roof. The hotel is small which in most respects is a plus; however, the pool area is therefore on the small side. The small size is compounded by the ring of private cabanas that surround the pool which leaves an even smaller space for other guests to relax. By the end of a sunny afternoon, the pool area is littered with towels, trays, etc. from the cabanas and it can be a little annoying when each cabana is listening to its own loud music as one tries to swim. Maybe it was a coincidence, but there was also a lot of alcohol being consumed around the pool and hot-tub which lent an odd vibe to things.

Ultimately, the pool staff do what they can to keep things organized and, all things considered, they do an excellent job and are very helpful and solicitous. In the end, however, the pool area comes across as the one somewhat crass locale in an otherwise refined environment.

The spa is excellent. My wife enjoyed a pedicure and I took advantage of the fine eucalyptus steam room on several occasions. The steam room is free for hotel guests. The facilities were clean and amenities were great.

Lastly, we enjoyed a lovely high tea one afternoon. Again, excellent service and delicious tea and scones.

I would whole-heartedly recommend The Peninsula Beverly Hills and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again in the future even with my comments about the pool.

Room Tip: If you are noise-sensitive, stay in the villa or ask for a room facing the villa. They are very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I had a short 2-day stay at The Peninsula in Beverly Hills. Still, I was absolutely impressed by the quality of service offered to their customers, the well-maintained rooms, the spa, the restaurants and the relaxing rooftop pool.
Their rates are high, but understandably so. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean, the beds oh so comfortable (slept like a baby), and noise practically nonexistent. The staff is wonderful, giving the customers the treatment of kings and queens. They do prepare the rooms at night, a small but significant service.
I had breakfast at the Roof Garden. It was a gorgeous morning, and it helped that they gave us fantastic food (I had the frittata with smoked salmon). They also have delicious smoothies and juices. I didn't get the chance to dine at the Belvedere or try their spa, so I hope to be back one day and and get the whole experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Absolutely perfect service. The Concierge is the best ever. Afternoon tea is wonderful. The Sunday Buffett is one of the best. The roof top pool is pure perfection - you will meet great people. This is not your "Fun LA" pool where you meet young kids but a wonderful relaxed pool with successful people! Downstairs bar is great do for a cocktail before or/and after dinner. You can walk to Rodeo Drive, etc. STAY!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klaus m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

well, what can i say, location says it all. Loved the hotel staff, breakfast was awesome, room was very nice. walking distance from rodeo drive and other amazing places of LA. will definaly pick the same hotel if ever go to LA again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulya I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,202 reviews
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
#5 of 15 in Beverly Hills
751 reviews
Beverly Hills
Waldorf Astoria Beverly Hills
Waldorf Astoria Beverly Hills
#4 of 15 in Beverly Hills
191 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 355 in Los Angeles
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Beverly Hills

Address: 9882 Santa Monica Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212-1605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Beverly Hills > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Beverly Hills
#1 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
#1 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range: £500 - £792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only AAA Five Diamond and Forbes Five Star-rated hotel in Southern California every year since 1993, The Peninsula Beverly Hills offers 195 guest rooms, including 38 suites and 17 private villas, nestled among lush tropical gardens in the heart of Beverly Hills. The Peninsula is home to a sumptuous selection of restaurants, including the elegant Belvedere, the only AAA Five Diamond rated restaurant in Los Angeles, as well as The Living Room, where the legendary Peninsula Afternoon Tea is served daily. The Peninsula Spa and The Roof Garden offer guests a refined resort oasis featuring a rooftop swimming pool, private cabanas and outdoor cocktails and dining. The Peninsula is located at the intersection of Wilshire and South Santa Monica Boulevards, within easy walking distance of Century City and Beverly Hills’ legendary Rodeo Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Peninsula Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Beverly Hills Hotel Beverly Hills
Peninsula Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing