We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing (Diamond Member Review)”
Review of The Beverly Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Beverly Hilton
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Disappointing (Diamond Member Review)”
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Murphy's law..travel by myself and get assigned great rooms...go away for the night with my family and Hilton fails to recognize my status.

Con's
- Booked two doubles directly with Diamond Desk - hotel had no record of this
- No double rooms available so they assigned me a noisy king-size room on the second floor above the function rooms. No view - staring at a flat-roof
- Service was second-tier - the hotel lacked the process and staff to do things right
- Breakfast was noisy and prices in the menu did not match what I was actually charged. Staff were setting up for the brunch - lots of clattering and commotion while people tried to enjoy their $25 sunday breakfast in peace. The food is almost on par with an Embassy Suites. I recommend you go elsewhere.

Pros
- Gym is excellent
- Rooms are fitted to a high standard
- vibe around the pool is good

The Diamond Desk at Hilton Honors told me I would enjoy this hotel because "they really know how to look after Diamond Members"...breaking news...they don't!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeavingOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,676
    1,139
    489
    194
    132
See reviews for
968
1,023
184
795
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I stay frequently at the Beverly Hilton, and over time I have had mixed experiences here.

I love the location - in the heart of Beverly Hills, and it is quite convenient to use as a base when staying in LA. It is certainly not up-to-par with other Beverly Hills hotels - as there are many nicer and better-quality properties with better service. However, they are mostly even more expensive!

The Beverly Hilton provides a sufficient level of "the Beverly Hills atmosphere" without the stuffiness of some other area properties and normally provides a decent stay.

The rooms have mostly all been refurbished within the past few years, but the up-keep is not always great. I've experienced burned out light bulbs, mold in the bathrooms, leaky showers (even the newly-remodeled ones), etc., etc. - and the management typically promises to take care of it, but things don't always seem to get done.

The self-parking is convenient (although not cheap), the fitness center has good equipment but is located in the basement - which is perhaps functional but not an enjoyable experience. It used to be located out by the pool, which was nicer!

The breakfast buffet is always nice, and the staff is friendly.

Overall, the staff of the hotel is professional. They are union and many have been there for many years. I've encountered a few bad apples, but most-often they seem to try.

The hotel constantly has events happening in their ballroom and meeting rooms, so you often encounter ball gowns and tuxedo-dressed visitors. This adds to the ambiance. Although the prestige of the hotel was likely lost many years ago, it remains a fairly happening place for events.

Overall, I enjoy staying there despite the fact that it is certainly not perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravlAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

From the outside of the hotel you start thinking " oh my goodness what have we booked?" but you walking inside and your opinion is wiped from your mind. The reception staff are friendly and welcoming. there was a slight que when we arrived but they apoligised and done everything they could to get the que down. The hotel room was large and spaceous. there was a mini bar within the room and a desk for working on. The room was extremely clean at all times during our stay and the housekeeping staff was amazing. the only down side if i had to complain was the view from the window was obstructed due to a marquee for a conference but a minor thing. The conciege team were extremely helpful and helped us make bookings for dinner and the trips we wanted to do while in LA. The hotel location for myslef was a little too far from the main Beverly Hills and i didn't find many places that close to eat. We did eat breakfast in the hotel on one morning it was of excellent quality and the service in there was also good. a little pricey but not when you consider where you are and which hotel you are staying in. The guys outside arranged for us to be taking to our restaurant reservations in the hotel car which was also great service and would highly recommend enquiring about. Overall a fantastic hotel with fantastic service.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

The hotel is very well located within walking distance to Rodeo Drive.The social area is very nice but too noisy.During our visit on the first night there were a party from T-mobile until 2:00 am and the sound was literaly at our window.At the second night there were an event from the Beverly Hills Police Department and they were isolating the hotel since morning until the next day.To arrive with our car we went through a police search and had to wait in line during almost an hour.That was ok ,but the hotel should have told us previously.
Rooms need to be updated .Room service was expensive and the food had nothing special.Overall although it is a big and nice hotel it was too expensive for the service provided.

Room Tip: Rooms at the Oasis Tower needs to be updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilbertos303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Hmmm....

Let's start with the pros:

-Upgraded to a King Deluxe room. Pretty spacious, our balcony overlooked both the roof and the pool, and had a nice view of LA.

-Bathroom was spacious, they had a deep soaking tub, a small TV and L'Occitane products. Towels were really soft and bathrobes were cozy.

-Beds were SO comfortable.

-I loved the decor, just emulated that old Hollywood feel.

-Good location, close to Rodeo Dr.

Cons:

-Housekeeping needs to fricken dust. There was a very visible layer of dust on the snacks/lotions which were on top of our mini bar. Our bathroom counter was also pretty grimey. I wiped my finger across it and got a full layer of dust. Gross.

-Self parking is $36. Really?

-No coffee/tea maker in the room, just for those of you who enjoy that. I prefer Starbucks.

-Pool staff seemed short handed. There was only one guy running around on a Friday afternoon helping set up chairs and taking drink orders. Needless to say service there wasn't the best, although it seemed like he really was working hard.

I would've loved this place if it weren't for the cons listed above. I just expected more from this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLD88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed 2 nights in early February, a Friday and Saturday night. We used HH points and despite holding the lowest rank membership, and booking the most basic room, we were told at check in we’d got an upgrade to a better room with a balcony on the 6th floor. The room was certainly quiet, with a pleasant view of upscale homes in the distance. As I never saw into any other room, I cannot comment on whether our room was in fact an upgrade, but very probably. For this standard of hotel, it was a fairly small room, and the furniture and sanitary ware was old and a little worn, with an old style TV, too (but I expected this from previous reviews). The bed was huge, the linens good quality, enough storage for luggage and possessions, the bathroom toiletries a good brand. The shower was very poor – not powerful and squirted in all directions.

We drove up in a small rental car but were immediately asked if we were parking for the night and whether we wanted self or valet parking. Our luggage was removed from the trunk and put straight onto a cart by the bellhop, who gave us a receipt for the luggage plus put a note for the windscreen while we checked in. I would consider that decent service, as it should be. The self parking lasts 24 hrs from time of entry into the parking lot, and allows unlimited in/out privileges, but isn’t cheap at $28. The luggage was delivered to our room promptly.

I comment on above service as we were checking in at around 8.30 pm. The lobby was very busy as there was a major function going on in the hotel’s ballroom, all the staff was busy giving directions or attending to various requests.

As our deal didn’t include breakfast, and we don’t like standard hotel buffets enough to eat in them if we need to pay extra, we never had any meals or drinks in any of the hotel’s several options. Also, as tourists wishing to see what there was outside the hotel’s walls, we never had time to use the facilities, but did – just out of curiosity – visit the gym and pool areas. The gym was had very good quality, new equipment and the air con kept it appropriately very cool. The pool is quite small and early in the year was mostly in the shade but the water is heated so a swim would have been fine, lounging afterwards perhaps rather chilly.

The hotel is well located for the ‘golden triangle’ and, surprisingly for its location, easy to walk around the neighbourhood – they even provide a map.

Both nights we were there, large or several functions were being held in the ballroom and other banqueting areas. The lobby is probably a great location for observing formal dress trends, and amusing to see the resident guests in jeans and sneakers contrasting with the function guests in their finery.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SussexWorldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Stayed here with my fiance while he was on business. He is a regular guest here, and this visit was extremely disappointed to get a "lower end room". That being said, the hotel has some great qualities

- Gym is a precor gym- new equipment, weights, cardio etc. and has TV's on all cardio. More machines than the average hotel....but this IS Beverly Hills.
- Great Toiletries....but you have to ask for them to be refilled
- Our room rate came with the buffet breakfast....VERY nice buffet by hotel standards, and nice touch to be able to eat outside
- Great location- Walkable to almost everything
- Easy drive up to Runyon Canyon for some exercise

The pool area is "Old World Hollywood" Small, but adequate. It is a courtyard style....so you need to keep moving for the sun to shine on your chair.

All in all, nice hotel. I'd skip Trader Vic's if I went back, Grossly overpriced and not impressive....

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovelamp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
#5 of 15 in Beverly Hills
897 reviews
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
SIXTY Beverly Hills
SIXTY Beverly Hills
#11 of 15 in Beverly Hills
767 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
#4 of 15 in Beverly Hills
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beverly Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beverly Hilton

Property: The Beverly Hilton
Address: 9876 Wilshire Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90210-3115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Beverly Hills > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Beverly Hills
#6 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#7 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
#9 Family Hotel in Beverly Hills
#9 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beverly Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With expansive views and inviting living spaces, the Beverly Hilton's inspired guest rooms express the best of relaxed, California living. Choose a spacious Wilshire Tower room, a poolside Cabana room, or a secluded Oasis room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Beverly Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beverly Hilton Hotel Beverly Hills
Hilton Beverly Hills
Beverly Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing