We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Hilton...but what's up with housekeeping?”
Review of The Beverly Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Beverly Hilton
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2007

Our family of 4 (children ages 14 and 11) just spent a long-weekend at the Beverly Hilton. We had a great stay except for recurring problems from housekeeping. The housekeeping manager needs some work!

First the positives:

When you enter the hotel, it is like stepping back in time to Hollywood in the mid-50's, but because of the recent remodel, everything is beautiful and looks brand new (just styled in that mid-50's style).

Because I am a Hilton Diamond member, I received an email from the general manager a few days before our stay confirming our stay and asking if we needed anything--a nice touch. We booked two rooms, and upon arrival, we were upgraded to a suite with an adjoining room--another nice touch. As a Diamond member, I also receive free internet access and free continental breakfast.

The rooms were large and recently remodeled. There were flat-screen TV's (3 in all), nice robes, and very comfortable beds.

The pool service was one of the best , similar to a Four Season's in Arizona or Hawaii. The pool attendant asked our names when we arrived, and he then proceeded to call us by name throughout the rest of our stay. He found lounge chairs for us, brought us towels, continued to ask if we needed anything, brought us complementary Fiji water, and even brought my daughter a complimentary fruit punch (that he said they had made by mistake and asked if she wanted it). I have never experienced this type of service at a Hilton. It was great!

The fitness center was much better than normal for a hotel, with plenty of cardio and weight equipment. There was complementary bottled water and oranges in the fitness center as well. The new spa, Aqua, was very nice for a small spa, and I had an excellent massage.

The location is great, walking distance to downtown Beverly Hills.

Housekeeping presented the only issue. Before leaving for dinner our first night, I called for turndown service, specifically asking for them to also turn down the sofa bed. When we returned to the room, the sofa bed was not turned down. I then spent the next 70 minutes on the phone (5 calls) before someone came to turn down the sofa bed. We would have done it ourselves, but we needed pillows and blankets. Five minutes after someone finally came to turn down the sofa bed, three people, including the housekeeping manager and the hotel manager on duty, came by to apologize. Apparently, one of the maids kept telling them that she had already turned down our room, so they kept ignoring my calls and wouldn't send someone.

Then, despite our request, when they made up the room in the morning, they never did put away the sofa bed.

Other than the issues with housekeeping, this stay far exceeded our expectations--closer to a 5-star experience. We were pleasantly surprised and would recommend this hotel--far better than an average Hilton.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank saratoga4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,139 - 3,145 of 3,770 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2007

I stayed at the Beverly Hilton during February 2007 and did not ever complain about it at all. There were many delightful experiences i had while staying at this hotel. First of all i came to the hotel traveling from San Francisco with a rental car. From San Francisco my family and i had went to Monterey and then drove to Beverly Hills. As soon as we pulled up to the hotel there was a nice parking garage which did not cost much. From there my family went to the check in desk which was speedy quick. The only thing i did not like about the lobby was it seemed very cluttered and you can hear all the sounds of people talking. The concierge was very sweet and helped us in anyway we could. he showed us nice restaurants near by and booked our La Tour bus trip which is a definite must to go on when visiting Los Angeles. Even though he messed us up with the bus picking us up situation he still offered to pay for our taxi cab to take us to the Farmers Market where we meet the bus. The lobby again was very clean and at the elevators had nice pretty birds to play with which my kids enjoyed seeing when going up to the hotel room. The rooms were extremely clean. A little pricey but the beds were so comfortable and we had a beautiful view. The only thing i did not like was were the bathroom was located. It was hard to go in and out with the bed being right next to it. The restaurant located within the hotel was a nice restaurant but very expensive. Lastly, The Beverly Hilton is in a wonderful spot. Very easy to walk from the hotel to Rodeo drive and to all the shops and stores near by. My stay was quite delightful and i enjoyed it very much. The Beverly Hilton should definitely be a possibility hotel if your planning on visiting Los Angeles.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank missdeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2007

This hotel is a pure delight. It is perfectly situated near Rodeo Drive...perfect for shopping. The hotel lobby is a sight to behold...its simply stunning. The hotel lobby smelt of fresh orchids and there were millions of flowers all over the place - huge pink orchids...gorgeous.
The reception was trouble free with straight forward check in.
There is a beautiful aquarium beside the lifts.
The bedroom was out of this world. Comfiest bed ever. Flat screen tv in bedroom and bathroom! Lovely complimentary L'Occitane toiletries - replaced every day.
The balcony looked over the pool area. Yet the bedroom was sound proof. You couldn't hear any noise - which I thought was a plus for a hotel of this size.
The pool is divine. Fresh towels are placed on the sun loungers and towels placed behind your head. There are complimentary juices available here too.
Complimentary Mercedes at our service too - which dropped us to any restaurant we wished! Too good to be true!
Really friendly staff who would bend over backwards for you!
If you are in L.A. you have to stay here.
I could not find a fault if I tried.

Stayed: October 2006
1  Thank Lival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2007

I had a 10 night stay booked at this hotel and i left after 5 nights. The service overall was very inadequate in all aspects of the hotel. The toilets in the rooms regulaly block, rooms were not cleaned daily becasue the house keepers forgot ! The television was broken and overall the room was dusty and dirty.

The hotel bar and restaurant had terrible service, on all occasions i was left waiting at least 45 mins to be asked if i wanted a drink. I was very disappointed with this hotel and lots of other guests were complaining when I was there about various other things. If you are going on holiday to Beverly Hills do not stay here, do your research and stay in others in the area. I eventually checked out, losing money just so I could stay somewhere else to have an enjoyable break.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank welltravelled6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2007

Our room appeared to to have been renovated recently; the fixtures, furniture and carpeting appeared to be new. The bed was very comfortable. Our room had a spacious balcony, and it appeared that most rooms did.

The bathroom had a good-sized shower (easily room for two) instead of a tub. The toilet was in a stall separated from the rest of the bathroom by a smoky glass door.

Internet access is $10/day (which is ridiculous), but it was pretty fast and I had no issues signing in or using it.

Staff was more professional and courteous than most.

Circa 55 restaurant is good, albeit somewhat overpriced, for breakfast and dinner. The sandwiches that we ordered from the lunch menu were less than stellar.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ThwartChaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2007

We spent three nights over the fourth and were impressed with the friendly staff, comfortable room, and great location. We had a recently renovated room in the main tower, the bed was luxurious, the only complaint was the lack of in-room coffee maker.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GAuphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2007

Nice rooms and bathrooms. Very very pleasant and helpful staff.
Breakfast and dining area very enjoyable. The pool is nice, but all the chairs are hogged each morning by people who put a personal item on a chair, or a 'reserved' sign, and nobody seems to ever actually occupy the chairs. It was very frustrating to see this every morning, and I wasn't able to sit by the pool as a result, even though the vast majority of the chairs were unoccupied, but 'reserved' or otherwised hogged by people who weren't even sitting there.
The gym was excellent. Location is good, and the complimentary car for local trips was a nice touch; but remember, in LA/BeverlyHills/Hollywood you need to drive EVERYWHERE. There is no such thing as a quick walk across the street to a coffee shop or restaurant. The nearest ones are a good 20-30 minute walk.
No celebrities stay at this hotel, so don't waste your time looking for them. If it's celebrities you want, try the Beverly Hills Hotel, the Peninsula, or the Beverly Hills Wilshire, but be ready to pay a lot more for your room.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ReadHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
#6 of 15 in Beverly Hills
956 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
SIXTY Beverly Hills
SIXTY Beverly Hills
#9 of 15 in Beverly Hills
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,877 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beverly Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beverly Hilton

Address: 9876 Wilshire Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90210-3115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Beverly Hills > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Beverly Hills
#7 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#7 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
#9 Family Hotel in Beverly Hills
#9 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range: £207 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beverly Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With expansive views and inviting living spaces, the Beverly Hilton's inspired guest rooms express the best of relaxed, California living. Choose a spacious Wilshire Tower room, a poolside Cabana room, or a secluded Oasis room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Beverly Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beverly Hilton Hotel Beverly Hills
Hilton Beverly Hills
Beverly Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing