We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just basic, sadly does not live up to the Thompson brand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SIXTY Beverly Hills
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Beverly Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2011

The hotel is very small and basic, 'boutique' in a certain sense of the word (not the good sense).

The size of the rooms are average for a met city. The room and bathroom was clean and I loved the white marble sink tops . Water pressure and heater was good. The room was a little too dark when we needed to pack but it seems to be part of the ambience. WIFI costs USD10/day, but they have a laptop at their counter for guests use, but you have to stand to use it. The location is good if you want to be in Beverly Hills, it's a short walk to Rodeo Drive and many renown restaurants.

My partner and I kept bumping our shins into the edge of the bed which sticks out beyond the size of the mattress. I have a huge cut now from walking into it and they really should do something about that before someone sues. The toiletries were not fully topped up every day(even though we tipped housekeeping daily).

We had to walk down 8 floors on our 2nd day as the elevators were not working.

I heard the manager serving another guest on the day I was leaving and it sounded like he was giving them good service and an upgrade, sadly that was not the case for all the staff. Our check-in staff seemed to have an 'attitude' and were rather curt and impatient although they were not directly rude. This made us feel they were insincere in their service. Our bellman on the last day was good and friendly (although he did drop one of our bags). But overall their staff need training in how to be more professional and 'genuine' so as to make guests feel welcome and comfortable at their hotel.

They do not have very good knowledge of their own hotel, as we spent 2 days asking for a universal adaptor only to find one in the mini-bar on the 3rd day after we had already gone out to get one! The staff did make an effort to offer to send someone to Rite-Aid for a fee though, but said it cost USD38 at Rite Aid! We got one at K-Mart for USD14.

None of the staff seemed to know there even was one for sale in the room. Strange.

In the mini bar price list, theirs was listed as USD25 but in their hotel folder it was listed under sundries for much cheaper.

An unhappy guest heard me mention this to the manager and she yelled that there were inconsistencies in the food prices published in the hotel folder. Speaking of which, we were charged USD20 for 2 cups of coffee.

We went to a top restaurant in the BH area and the manager gave us a look when we mentioned we were staying at the hotel and recommended a few other hotels to us for future instead. Clearly their reputation precedes them.

Overall they were just OK for our 5 night stay because we had gotten a good deal (USD152/night). We will only stay there again if
a) the reviews improve
b) the prices are low
c) because of their good location

If not we might try other hotels in the area with a better reputation. I believe that paying more at another hotel may give us better value after all.

With that said, I do hope they improve so as not to waste a good location and name. A 'chic designed' hotel is not enough to live up to what we expect from the 'Thompson' brand.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wickedtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salesbh, Guest Relations Manager at SIXTY Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2011

Dear wickedtravels,
Thank you for your stay at Thompson Beverly Hills. As well, thank you for your feedback. We strive to keep the lines of communication open and provide the best customer service possible. We look forward to improving our service and repairing any inconsistencies that you may have experienced during your stay. We'll send you a private message to follow up on your experience.
Diana Chang
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2010

I have hung out at 60 Thompson in the nyc and this new hotel in BH is just as amazing. Thompson Hotels just make you feel cool and in BH I felt as though feeling like a tourist is actually cool. I am not one for BH but the hotel made me revisit my BH dislikes.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessetravelsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

The hotel is in a great location, basically across the road from Rodeo Drive. The rooms were clean and spacious. The bar and pool area were great. Bar staff were really friendly and there is a wonderful view of LA from there. We found it a bit hard to get around as there is no public transport, we would recommend hiring a car as we ended up spending more money on cabs. We found that the concierge and hotel staff were not overly eager to help, they acted in a bit of a pretentious manner. Overall we enjoyed our time because of the location and access to the rooftop pool and bar.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

No top sheet on bed. Apparantly European thing but my frirends said they had top sheets. Big tear in comforter, which was an old one they use upside down to hide the embroidery. Big chunk of wall missing on the door trim. Dirty walls. Dirty floor.
Bathroom had hairs in tub.

Roof top pool is nice with a great view. Drinks took 45 minutes to get to us, and when arrived it was the wrong drink, so had to wait again. There were only 3 other people up there so it wasn't like he was busy. Paid bill, added a tip anyhow but was not made aware that a gratuitiy was already included.

Pool was closed from 2:00 in the afternoon for a private function. The management only had one litttle sign only visible if you walked into the elevator, you would not have seen it on the way out for you day. After pressing, they said they had arranged for us to use the pool across the street, but none of the staff at the pool seemed to know this and just told people it would be closed. and the were not very happy.

Roof top bar is cool, but it took twenty minutes to get a second drink because the bartender was busy talking to his friends at the other end of the bar, the only other patrons at the bar other than us. He also made some really appropriate comments to my friends.

I did find most of the staff very friendly and helpful. The housekeeping manager came to my room and apologised for the state of the room, and the front door staff were very friendly, although unidentifiable due to no name tags, but friendly.

Manager knew about all our concerns, as did owner and neither did anything. Didn't seem to care.

The location is fien if you need to be close to Rodeo Drive but that is all that location has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassieinRSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Stayed at Thompson for 3 nights. Location staff and rooftop pool and bar fantastic but hotel itself awful. Very dark hallways and floors.Pokey rooms and bathrooms. Doors paperthin lying in bed one could hear clearly conversations outside room!! Whole time we were there only one lift working which caused a long wait sometimes.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travel2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

location was was great, staff was friendly........but, gave me a wheel chair acceptable room, wouldn't change it, room keys didn't work, room safe had to be replaced, elevator was out of order, really 4 star? best thing I can say location was great, staff nice, but not for the money not worth it. If I had not been with my husband, this weekend trip would have been.....well not worth it. Oh and the rooms are way too small 220 square feet.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myopinion0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Rooms are clean and modern. A type of a fency place to stay.
Reccomend if you do not need to meet customers inside.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarpon_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hilton
The Beverly Hilton
#9 of 15 in Beverly Hills
3,746 reviews
Beverly Hills
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
#6 of 15 in Beverly Hills
948 reviews
Beverly Hills
Mosaic Hotel Beverly Hills
Mosaic Hotel Beverly Hills
#12 of 15 in Beverly Hills
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
#5 of 15 in Beverly Hills
751 reviews
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY Beverly Hills

Address: 9360 Wilshire Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90212-3134
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Beverly Hills > Beverly Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Beverly Hills
#9 Business Hotel in Beverly Hills
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beverly Hills
Price Range: £215 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY Beverly Hills 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
California Cool meets East Coast sophistication at this erudite respite located in the glamorous Los Angeles enclave, minutes from Rodeo Drive boutiques and Hollywood power-playgrounds. The International Style-designed SIXTY Beverly Hills is a serene-but-scene-stealing outpost featuring luxurious comforts like bespoke furnishings, artfully designed bedroom suites and a gallery of Hollywood-evocative imagery. A cinematic Above SIXTY Beverly Hills rooftop bar and outdoor poolside lounge provide balmy zephyrs and panoramic views of L.A.'S fabled canyons while the tony-but-fuss-free Caulfield's Bar and Dining Room is the all-hours spot for casual New American cuisine comforts. SIXTY Beverly hills is part of SIXTY Hotels, the new, innovative brand of luxury inns in New York, Los Angeles, with Miami debuting soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your SIXTY Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Hotel Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills Thompson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing