We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marina Resort
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here. The location was perfect for us, never used the car. We walked to town for shopping, breakfast and dinner. With the hotel being right on the lake it's great to get some early morning fishing in. The gas fireplace in the room worked great too since it got into the mid 30's at night.The 2 ladies in the lobby were also very helpful with the check-in. The bed was comfortable, the shower head to low and the fridge should have been plugged in. It looked like they were in the middle of upgrading some of the rooms. Balcony was nice with good view of the lake.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetotravel92591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We are thrilled you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us! We are upgrading the property, as you mentioned, and we hope you come back and see the final product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    146
    51
    32
    21
See reviews for
129
136
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Big Bear Lake is beautiful this time of year and it was where I wanted to spend my birthday weekend. Upon arrival at the Marina Resort, we were put off by the "motel" looking exterior, but decided to give it a chance since we had booked 4 days, sight unseen. We were told at the check-in time that our room was not ready just yet and we should come back in 20 minutes. Forty-five minutes later we were informed that our room was still not ready and they would call us as soon as it was. Two hours after check-in time they called. The room was on the third floor and there is no elevator or help getting luggage up the stairs. The room was a suite with a kitchen. The bedroom was large and overwhelmed with a monster of a 2 person spa/tub surrounded by stone work. It made getting around in the room awkward. The bathroom was teeny-tiny. The kitchen area was nice with a table for four. The sofa had seen better days and really needed to be replaced. The TV was mounted on the wall just below the ceiling [why so high up on a blank wall?] and was difficult to watch. The metal furniture on the balcony was old and uncomfortable just like the bed. I could go on and on, but you get the idea. The staff was not rude, but not very helpful. This place takes great liberty by calling itself a resort. The only major plus is the marvelous view of the lake. We will never return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the wedding tent if you go on a weekend. The noise is quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weyman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We apologize if there was a delay for your room. Also, if you were dissatisfied with your accommodations. We pride ourselves on being a unique resort in the Big Bear area and are always improving to make our customers happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The room was clean and the bed was super comfy. Our room was on the lake level and had a small patio area outside the front door with a table and chairs. The only negative thing that I experienced was you can hear everything people are saying outside of the room, even if they are only speaking at a normal conversation level. At 3am we had a group of drunks hanging out, laughing and yelling right outside our door. I called the front desk, and within no more than sixty seconds, I did not hear one more peep the rest of the night. I would recommend that if you want more privacy, don't stay on the lake level.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dre80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to take care of any issues for you, that's what we are here for. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Dominguez, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Marina Resort is a fantastic get a way, located right on Big Bear Lake, you can latterly walk out of your room, straight down to the lake. Bottom floor rooms all have patio furniture, you can enjoy the beautiful lake with the mountains as a back drop. The rooms all have small refridgerators, microwaves, and a coffee pot. On the grounds, the have two bar b que pits for out door grilling, equipped with a sink, and running water, pool, jacuzzi, small koi pond, swing set, horse shoes, and a volleyball net! Close to town, walking distance to resturants, and shops and the movies, very friendly staff and housekeeping rocks!

Room Tip: Request bottom floor, lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koollet4600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thanks for staying with us and for giving us such a great review. We think you rock!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had serious issues with the check in and there was very little help from the front desk. This may have been the worst customer service we have ever experienced. We ended up staying in a studio which was super loud. We were only hoping to spend a quiet weekend with our family only to find that they were hosting a wedding and we could hear the music until late. In addition, the studio looked old and had a funny smell inside due to mildew or just not being opened often. There service is super basic, there is no attention to detail whatsoever. The only upside is a decent view but you can't go swimming and with the noise above and next to you it's not really worth it.
Therefore if you are looking for a place to relax do not come here.
We selected this hotel after reading good reviews so we thought that it was important to share our experience. Overall a shabby, sad place with exceptionally poor service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viole1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay. Although we do manage the condos you stayed in, they are privately owned and we will pass your comments on to the owner. Our weddings are under contract to end the music at 10 pm, and there is a noise curfew for all guests staying with us. It's unfortunate you did not take advantage of our pool for swimming, it is definitely enjoyable. There is no excuse for poor customer service and we do apologize for any issues you may have had at check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

After getting into our room, my husband and I went right back out and walked around the Big Bear Lake Village. It had a 90's time capsule feel to it, and it gave us a general idea of the layout, and style of the place. When we walked back into our room, he turned to me and said, incredulously, "I think this IS the best place in town!" Yes, that sounds snooty, but hear me out.

Pros: Views, proximity to the village (1/2 block away= no parking headache), big bed, nice sheets, (gas) fireplace, A/C, pool/hot tub, in-room spa tub, patios/balconies with seating area, horseshoes/volleyball/ping pong on site, friendly staff, (top floor) rooms were quiet at night, beach towels provided, BBQ pits, wedding and reception venues (see lobby bathroom note below), near a marina with boat tours and kayak rentals.
Cons: Bed and pillows are lumpy, the carpet is stained, the shower head is only 5 feet high, nowhere to hang hand towels in bathroom, all other towels hung IN the shower stall(what?), uncomfortable chairs in room, general disrepair of room (A/C, screen door, TV on the fritz, bathroom door handle stuck -seriously, my husband and I each got stuck in the bathroom a few times!), the in=room spa tubs are dingy and uninviting, the pool is small (not great for laps), lots of noise from outside (kids playing, boats, music from parties) during the day.

Important to note: The top floor rooms have no elevator, so you have to lug your stuff up a flight of stairs (not handicap accessible). Also, there is no bathroom available in the lobby, they will direct you outside to a port-o-potty (which they called an "executive restroom", kind of funny) definitely go in the room BEFORE you check out! A maintenance man told us that they were about to start renovations this fall (after he apologized for the fact that he could not fix our A/C unit, thankfully, it cooled down at night, and they gave us a small fan.) so soon "everything will be brand new!"
To sum it up, for the price we paid, it was pretty underwhelming, however, compared to the other places we saw, it was clearly the nicest. The view of the lake was nice, and being on the top floor was nice, but we were there on a busy weekend, and there were a ton of kids running around playing on the hotel grounds, which is totally appropriate, just not really awesome if you are trying to have a romantic weekend. Honeymooners/anniversary celebrators, I suggest you look into a B&B, of which there seem to be many. Families, get downstairs rooms, (300's), they are bigger suit-style rooms, and they open onto patios where you can watch your kids run around the grounds. Also, though the staff was very friendly, they were not very helpful in giving us info about the surrounding area. We are new to Big Bear, and we missed out on things to do until we went to the visitor center in the village.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sionnan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for saying we were the probably the nicest place in Big Bear. As you mentioned in your post, we are always trying to make improvements to the property. We hope you will come back and see them when we are done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno Valley, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I would just like to say that I hope my daughter or son will consider this beautiful location for their wedding, I was a so impressed with everything as a guest of the wedding. iIf you would like a outdoor wedding in Big Bear I would totally consider this location! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VMATHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
We are so glad you had a nice time. The Marina Resort is a unique venue. Hopefully, your family will be back soon with their own special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.4 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#13 of 19 in Big Bear Region
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.0 mi away
Worldmark at Big Bear
Worldmark at Big Bear
#5 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Resort

Property: Marina Resort
Address: 40770 Big Bear Blvd., PO Box 2824, CA 92315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Lake and in the center of the Village. Think you've had it with daily life? Think about this... a beautiful, sandy beach, Lakeside Jacuzzi, seasonal pool, and sweeping lake views from every room. 32" Flat Screen TV's, high-speed internet, coffee makers, refrigerators... all the conveniences you would expect to find at a beautiful lake front hotel. Our top floor offers king rooms for adults, our middle floor offers two double beds with a balcony and our lake level floor offers two queen beds with beach access. That's what you'll find at the Marina Resort, a three diamond lake front resort where every room has a breathtaking lake views. The Marina Resort... call us now, a reservation specialist is standing by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing