We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Apology goes a long way”
Review of Marina Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marina Resort
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Reviewed 24 August 2014

First trip to big bear. Due to the price I wasn't expecting too much but when I called the hotel the woman who answered the phone was helpful and pleasant so I figured the reviews might not be as bad as they sounded.

I'm a big guy and was there with my family which meant the two double beds weren't going to be enough so we got a rollaway as well.. The rollaway fits between the two beds and this provides you with very limited space. (small rooms)

Good Things - Great View, Price of the room, walking distance to the village - Thats about it.

Not so great Things -Climate control in the room (you can put the fan on high that is about it) thin walls, hairdryer was busted, very small rooms,

BAD! - The one thing that will make me never go back to the Marina Resort is the people who work there. (might have been one bad apple but...) My family and I decided after a long day we would soak in the hot tub. We got in and noticed a faint smell but blew it off as the chemicals. Another family was also in the hot tub and commented on the smell as well. The jets went off and the father from the other family got up to turn them back on. He accidentally hit the emergency off button.

It was at that point the smell became much more noticeable now that the filtration system was off. The whole hot tub wreaked of urine. Everyone got out of the hot tub and went to their rooms. I stopped by the desk to inform the night clerk that the hot tub smelled strongly of urine.. She didn't even bat an eye, didn't apologize just said she would have someone look at it in the morning. I am sorry but if I heard someone say they just tried to relax in a urine filled hot tub I would apologize and I don't even work there.

When I checked out in the morning I saw the hot tub was still open and explained what happened to the new clerk and asked if they had fixed the problem. She told me that no one had made mention of that but she was sure the maintenance man was on it as he had been working on the pool all morning (not hot tub but pool) Again no apology, no anything .... Will never stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Walls are thin so higher is better. Lakeview is amazing. Inexpensive but small rooms, close to the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Gabe, we apologize that the staff was not more responsive to your concerns. We appreciate all your feedback on this matter. Our manager is always interested in hearing the details of your stay in order to make improvements. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed here before, this time we came on a mini vacation while our daughters were at camp and we weren't disappointed. The staff is very nice, accommodating and responsive to requests. We were always greeted with a smile and "good morning/afternoon" from any staff we saw in the hallways. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable, we had a balcony with an awesome view of the lake. Their beds are very comfortable and they have a great rule of quiet time after 10 pm. This hotel is right across the street from the village with shopping, restaurants and bars so you don't have to drive if you don't want to. It's also right on the lake and next to one of the marinas where you can rent water craft, they even have their own slips if you have your own boat/wave runner. We will be back.

Room Tip: The top floor has awesome views of the lake and privacy. The bottom rooms are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Denise we are thrilled you had a great time and we appreciate you staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The first night we were in Big Bear, we stayed at another hotel but the pool filter broke. We checked-out and they suggested we try the Marina Resort. The moment we walked into the lobby, we knew we were in the right place. The knotty pine furniture and killer lake views combined with a welcoming attitude by the staff made for a nice welcome. We got a great rate and although it was only noon, our room (209) was ready within 20 minutes. We opened the door to a lovely and totally remodeled room with two double beds (firm, 7 pillows each), sliding door to balcony, good size frig., granite counter top (in the mini-bar and throughout bath), flat screen TV on wall, tons of towels including 4 pool towels in the closet, ceiling fan, desk w/stool. Lots of details…. Like a night light in the bathroom, modern fixtures and make-up toilettes. Room was super clean and I felt easy bringing a kid into that. We loved the pool area and jacuzzi. Plenty of chairs and again, such a nice overview of the lake…right at the edge. The hotel does have a playground for the little ones and some bbqs. If you have toddlers, maybe get a room on the lowest level so the room walks right out to the grass, lake and pool level. Everyone here is very nice. The maintenance gentleman even let my son feed the koi fish this morning. It’s the little things that make a hotel become a home away from home. This one succeeded. My only complaint if you can even call it that is the water pressure in the shower was a bit low. I would recommend this hotel without any reservations for families or couples. Also and very importantly, it is family owned and operated which is a great thing to support.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cust_Mgmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Meg, we so appreciate your review and were thrilled to have you stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have taken our grandkids (ages 16, 14, and 5) twice and both times they had so much fun that they didn't want to leave. They spent the day on the park-like grounds playing volley ball, badminton, ping pong, swimming. There is a tot lot for the little ones. We got a lower level room with a nice patio table where we ate food that we brought and we could observe the kids at play. The rooms are decorated in rustic cabin decor that I think is beautiful. There is good storage space, 3 large drawers that came in handy for storing our food. The bathroom had shelves for personal items. The beds are comfortable. We saw several guests catch fish from the lake then carry it up to barbecue right on the property. If I were to go without the grandkids, I would get an upper level room but the lower level is nice for them because the fun is right outside the door.
There were only two things that I can think of that were a problem for us: no microwave and the noise from the room above us (footsteps constantly).

Room Tip: If you bring kids, bottom level is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Mary, we appreciated your feed back on the noise. We are currently working on intsalling a new sound proofing system throughout the hotel. We apologize if the lobby microwave was inconvenient for you. We really try to have a lot of activites for our guests, and we were happy to know you were able to enjoy them. Thanks so much for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel focuses on the "woodsy" country look and feel, with large exposed beams and wooden furniture and fittings. The rooms are not large, nor particularly well appointed. We paid $10 extra for a lake view, only to discover that all of the rooms face the lake! So we felt a bit "ripped off". However, the beds are comfortable, which is the main thing you want. The bathroom was small, but serviceable. We were there in summer, and the weather was good. Big Bear Lake is a nice area, and the restaurants were within easy walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StheG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

All of our rooms do have a lake view, you are right. Perhaps you were charged for a different floor or room size. Nonetheless, we do apologize if you were negatively impacted by the miscommunication. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The pro on this hotel is the view and location.
There is easy walking distance to the "village center".
You are right on the lake.
The con is basically the room itself.
Comes across great in photos but really not that impressive.
Lots of needed repairs and just plain unfinished work.
I wouldn't stay here again for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HAlbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

We thank you for your feedback and apologize if you were dissatisfied with your stay. We are continuing to make improvements to the property, including remodeling rooms, in order to better accommodate our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We loved this place. After a long trip, it was like a breath of fresh air. Friendly, clean, and comfortable. It is within walking distance of stores and restaurants. I would definitely recommend it to anyone and will stay here again the next time we are in the area.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Stephanie_Gro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaBBL, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Stephanie, thank you so much for the great review! We appreciate you staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.4 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#3 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
137 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#11 of 19 in Big Bear Region
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Resort

Address: 40770 Big Bear Blvd., CA 92315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Big Bear Region
Price Range: £84 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Lake and in the center of the Village. Think you've had it with daily life? Think about this... a beautiful, sandy beach, Lakeside Jacuzzi, seasonal pool, and sweeping lake views from every room. 32" Flat Screen TV's, high-speed internet, coffee makers, refrigerators... all the conveniences you would expect to find at a beautiful lake front hotel. Our top floor offers king rooms for adults, our middle floor offers two double beds with a balcony and our lake level floor offers two queen beds with beach access. That's what you'll find at the Marina Resort, a three diamond lake front resort where every room has a breathtaking lake views. The Marina Resort... call us now, a reservation specialist is standing by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing