We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Micheladas......”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Jacalito Grill

El Jacalito Grill
Ranked #11 of 122 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
Price range: US$7 - US$16
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Chino, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Micheladas......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We always come here when in Big Bear.. Best Micheladas......... Good chips and salsa, good food, great service!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phsavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    49
    20
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One busy place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were seated as soon as we arrived. In the next few minutes, quite a few people showed up and many had to wait for awhile. Our waiter was nice and attentive. The food was good, not great. Plenty of chips and salsa. The price was reasonable with many selections on the menu. We would return if in town again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Weyman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food in Village!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Discovered Jacalito last year and have returned 4 times while on various vacations in Big Bear. Cadillac Margies are excellent. Order a double b/c you'll end up liking it so much that one won't be enough. Salsa bar is great. I had barbacoa enchiladas last time, and they were great! Lil' kick to them....but not so much that you start sweating :) Hostesses always friendly. Servers very nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tripoverme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“LOVE Jacalito Grill!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My family and I often go to Big Bear to get out of the city. Our favorite restaurant in Big Bear is El Jacalito Grill. We went the last time we were up in Big Bear and yep, the food was AMAZING as always. The Margaritas were also great. The restaurant is very kid friendly, but can get a bit crowded on the weekends. Even though it sometimes seems crowded, they usually get in you pretty quickly. Basically, I totally recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank California_Marcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indio, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We went to this restaurant based on a local's recommendation and internet reviews. We were able to sit outside on a lovely evening. I had the Chili Verde Burrito (enchilada style) and my husband had the Beef Enchilada Combination (one ground beef and two shredded beef). Both meals were very good. He thought the shredded beef was better than the ground beef. We had 3 glasses of beer and the final cost including tax and tip was $43.00. That is reasonable for this area. The service was excellent and the atmosphere very nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Jacalito Grill also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to El Jacalito Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing