We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best sports bar in Big Bear!”

Sandy's Sports Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 122 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Hampton, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best sports bar in Big Bear!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Went to Sandy's a few times while visiting Big Bear. They always have the games on, and always a gathering of sports fans. I was impressed that they even had Sam Adams beer that far from Boston! Try the fish and chips- good luck finishing it all! Huge portions, great food and drinks!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAnn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“THE PLACE TO EAT WHILE WATCHING SPORTS!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have been part and full-time residents of Big Bear Lake since 1984. In that time, we've had a chance to "sample" many restaurants in the valley and one of our favorites is Sandy's. It's a family-owned operation and its veteran staff is friendly and attentative. Complaints about service which you may read here, usually arise on ultra-busy nights and come from those who like to whine about everything that doesn't place them in the "center of the universe". We've never had any problems and know most of the long-time servers (Fred, Paul and Harmony, etc.) by name. We have several favorites on the menu, including wing night on Tuesdays, fish and chips and the MLB stadium hotdogs, but all of the entrees are great and we vary in our selections. The restaurant is loaded with modern high-definition flat screen TVs and they can usually program any game in any sport upon request. The "U"-shaped bar has probably ten screens alone! In addition, there's an adjacent arcade with games for children and pool tables for those who like to shoot a game. You can try other places in town like Chad's and Murray's, but this is THE place to watch sports and have comfort food in Big Bear!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Burgers!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

If you're in the Big Bear area this place is worth the stop. Friendly people, good service and GREAT BURGERS!!! Plenty of TV's for the sports fan and nice arcade area for the kids.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen93550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
690 reviews
485 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“STILL HAS GOOD FOOD BUT SERVICE HAS GOTTEN MUCH WORSE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

My wife and I really like the food at Sandy's and since we live in the area we had gotten used to going there at least once a week. However, we have stopped going there due to the extremely poor service. On our last two visits we sat for over 30 minutes without ever being acknowledged by or talked to by a server (both occasions were medium busy, not packed). We got other servers attention and they stated they would notify our server but he never came to our table. We went to the bartender to advise them we needed service but still our server never came to our table. The food is good at this location but the very poor service is simpy unacceptable. We have no plans to return due to our having to leave twice in a row due to the poor service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
690 reviews
485 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Great Food In Big Bear Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

My wife and I have lived in Big Bear Lake, CA for several years but have never been to Sandy's. We had heard some good things about the food but a sports bar is not our scene. We finally made it and were very pleasantly surprised by the high quality of the food. This is a sports bar so the noise can be rather loud (especially when a favorite team is on one of the big screen TV's) however, the food makes it worth the visit. My wife said the fish & chips were excellent and the homemade tartar sauce was the best she had had in years. I had the chicken strips, homemade potato chips and cole slaw, all of which were very good. (The chicken strips were probably the best I have ever had.) The place doesn't look like much from the outside but it is definitely worth the visit!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandy's Sports Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Region, CA
 
Big Bear Region, CA
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Sandy's Sports Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing