We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'll Love Apples!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Bear Region
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apples Bed and Breakfast Inn
San Dimas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You'll Love Apples!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I have been staying at Apples since it opened in the 90's! It's a great place for a romantic weekend, and a wonderful place for a "Girls' Only" weekend! I've stayed in almost all the rooms and each one is wonderfully appointed, comfortable, clean, and accomodating. You'll find your stay to be quiet and relaxing....a true B&B adventure. There is nothing missing....everything a guest could need is there for you. Your Host and Hostess are welcoming, professional, and friendly. They make sure that your stay meets your expectations and more! When you're here you are not just a customer, you're a very special guest! The food is fabulous! Once you've had breakfast here you'll never forget it, and you won't need lunch that day! Everything is served fresh, made from scratch, and served at just the right temperature. Each day the breakfast is different, and the quality is always A++! The Chef is creative and dedicated to ensuring a party for your tastebuds! Everytime I come here, I can't wait to see what new tasty treat we'll have for breakfast! In the late afternoons, when you're just about hungry again, out comes wonderful snacks! Again, you are always surprised at the different choices! I've enjoyed Big Bear Lake for many years and there are many restaurants in the area---close by---to enjoy. But be sure to save room for Apples' famous desserts in the evening...Delicious!!

I visited Apples in June, and couldn't wait to come back in July for another event! Service consistency is guaranteed! You'll remember Apples always! A stay at Apples is one of the best parts of Big Bear Lake. Thanks always Barbara, Jim, Landon!

Room Tip: Each guest room is different, and you can't make a bad choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DProuty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    10
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Mesa, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

My customers and I have been coming to Apples for over six years, and each year tops the year before; there is never a dull moment and no one goes away hungry. The quaint rooms and excellent food as well as the warm hospitality of Barbara and Jim make each day rewarding and keep us coming back year after year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrapbooker777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
236 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

I have to admit I did not care for the place, the service was fine; family run place. The beds we so soft and bouncy that we feared being launched into the air, there are allot of Hobby Lobby type decoration in the rooms, and a group of middle aged ladies seemed to be having a great time. We did not stay for breakfast, but the snacks were all the quick heat chocolate filled type that you might get from a costco. So, if you like those things they are available in abundance from nice people. If you are the more scholarly, earth conscious, healthy-food type I would say give this place (and Big Bear for that matter) a miss. More like Disneyland than a natural retreat, but if you like that sort of thing you will love it.

Room Tip: Traffic stops at about ten pm, so any room will do, but there is traffic noise all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelineSoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

This place is the best... We have been coming to Apples for about 13 years and we feel like we are "home" every time we stay. Jim and Barbara are the perfect host/hostess and this is hard work for them and they never let on that they tire of it. From the afternoon hors deuvres and treats and cider, to the late night homemade cookies and treats, to the bountiful homemade breakfasts, this couple is constantly working to make your stay worthwhile and pleasant. The rooms are a bit old-fashioned, but somehow it fits with the family atmosphere. We enjoy playing games, sitting in the hottub, and venturing out to the fun and shopping in Big Bear.

Room Tip: I prefer the backside rooms where it is a bit more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

I arrived to Apples for my May scrapbooking trip and wooops...I forgot to call ahead and let Barbara know I have Celiac disease and cannot eat any Gluten products. Im also allergic to cinnamon (can you imagine at a place called Apples?)!!! No problem for the hostess of the year. Barbara set out gluten free crackers with the cheese plates, made me gluten free peanut butter cookies (most wonderful treat I have ever had), and prepared gluten free brownies just for me. This was in addition to preparing two breakfasts, a lunch, and a dinner all gluten free just for me. Thank you so much Barbara :) Eating away from home can be very stressful for me and instead of having to go buy special food for the weekend for myself you made my weekend heavenly. You are the best!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaraBarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardena, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

It has been my pleasure to stay at Apples twice a year with a Scrapbook group. Barbara and Jim are the perfect hosts. The food is delicious ... the accommodations are divine. I look forward to my bi-annual visits with great enthusiasm! The staff is attentive to the guests' needs. The rooms are clean and everything is well-maintained. I highly recommend Apples Bed & Breakfast to anyone! It's a great place ... you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SchmoozinSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

I would not hesitate to stay here again. Barbara and her husband run a great place!! Breakfast is amazing, Barbara is a great cook!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coachSD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
2.4 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.9 mi away
Eagle's Nest Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apples Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apples Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Apples Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 42430 Moonridge Road, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing