We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Tour and the Guide” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Bear Queen Lake Tours

Big Bear Queen Lake Tours
Ranked #4 of 18 Tours in Big Bear Region
Attraction details
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Loved the Tour and the Guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

This was a very informative and great tour of Big Bear Lake. Chris was our tour guide and he has been operating the tour for over 20 years and it shows. He was so interesting and he knew everything about the history of the area and the lake itself. He pointed out interesting facts and he even knew about the huge expensive homes that border the lake. When we were passing one of the larger and more interesting homes,we "saw and hear" the owner out on the balcony. He was holding a blowhorn and sounded like Bugs Bunny. Chris told us that the owner was the individual who did the voices for Looney Tunes. The kids just loved hearing the different voices. We definitely would join Chris again on the tour when in town.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank swilson628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Size does matter, but sometimes smaller is better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Was deciding between this and the bigger boat (Liberty) and was really glad I chose this one- the bigger boat couldn't go in as close to shore and there seemed to be very little (if any) open air seating from what I saw as we passed it. The personable Captain Chris narrated the entire 90 minutes and shared all the information you could possibly want to know about the lake. Very informative, comfortable, and enjoyable.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elysium816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Way To See Big Bear Lake -- Big Bear Queen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Although Big Bear Lake is BEAUTIFUL, we found service & friendliness lacking (to say the least). But a gigantic exception to this statement is Captain Chris and his WONDERFUL tour of Big Bear Lake on the Big Bear Queen.

This tour is the BEST way to see the lake, and the gorgeous properties on the shore line. Captain Chris has obviously been doing this for years (having had this position passed down from his Dad, who captained this boat for years before Chris took over) , and is a favorite of the locals as many of them come out & wave as his boat passes... Even Mel Blanc's Son, Noel (Voice of Bugs Bunny & Porky Pig) came out to say hi, in the voice of many fun characters...

This boat ride was a definite highlight to our time at Big Bear Lake. We recommend it HIGHLY!

SIDE NOTE: Be aware that there is another Cruise, on a bigger Cruise Boat -- but we were so grateful we didn't take that one... It looked too crowded.... Big Bear Queen is intimate, and even if full, not crowded.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbickEwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Afternoon Trip, Informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

This was a very interesting thing to do in Big Bear. Lots of information on the history (water, dams, houses) around the lake. On the downside I would point out there is no bathroom on the small boat (it's a 90 minute trip, maybe too long for some kids or others too wait). Also - it is a pretty small boat - I think it takes 65 max. While it was not at all crowded when we went (weekday) and in fact they may not run their noon or 4 pm trips if they don't get 15 people, I could see how it would get full fast on a busy weekend. There were two other tour boats out when we went, and they seemed bigger. Overall I would do this trip again though as the captain/tour guide was really nice and a bundle of information. Price was reasonable - $36 for two adults and free for our 2-year old. We had considered renting a pontoon boat and this was a better option to get some lake time and learn something as well.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank SCVerMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retired in San Diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You have to take this lake tour...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

For the best and most comprehensive lake cruise/tour, you have to take the Big Bear Queen at the Big Bear Marina. The boat is guided by Chris who is a font of information about the lake. The tour takes 90 minutes and covers the entire lake. Chris knows the history and people who made Big Bear what is today. The tour is well worth the cost of the tour. There are bigger tour boats, but none better.

Helpful?
5 Thank Suico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Bear Queen Lake Tours also viewed

Fawnskin, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear City, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Big Bear Queen Lake Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing