We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but tired furniture and decor and needs more thorough cleaning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakewood Cabins at Big Bear Lake
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Great location and price (special deal second night free). On site manager Dave was very responsive, friendly and helpful. The cabin location and styles are cute but the interiors are looking tired and in need of some attention. Cabin was basically clean but window blinds, ledges, areas between furniture have not been cleaned for a long time.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2010

I work in the hotel industry and they were very wonderful to stay with. Very clean and attentive, as well as a great value for the price.

Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurfFlorida29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

After reading reviews of lots of other cabin-type hotels/motels in Big Bear, I finally settled on Lakewood Cabins and made a reservation. Lots of travellers had talked about how other cabin motels smelled awful, were cold, had no hot water, were run-down and grungy, etc. Becuase of the proliferation of run down places in Big Bear, I was extra careful to find a place that seemed nice, clean and well-kept.

Lakewood Cabins was all of that and more! Dave S., the manager, was very nice and totally accommodated my late (10:30pm) arrival. He was there to check me in and made sure to share lots of free swag (travel size toiletries and even a ski equipment discount card!) and let me know where grocery stores and eats were nearby.

The cabin itself was super cute--a kitchenette (toaster oven, 1/2 size fridge, microwave, coffee maker, electric kettle, sink, utensils, etc.), a real fire place, a small sitting area with couch and chair, a small table for eating at and a queen size bed. One note: the bed was really firm (my back would say "hard")--I'm used to my squishy pillow top mattress so that was the one thing I would change. If you don't mind firm beds, you'll be fine. If you like squisiher, you might want to bring some extra pillows (although they had a generous supply of pillows).

The heater worked great and kept me toasty. The bathroom was spacious and had plenty of hot water for the shower. The cabin shared no common walls with others, so I had peace and quiet. Plus, the cabins are located right off the main Big Bear Blvd drag, so you are right close to the action but hear no street noise. Then in the morning, I rolled out of bed, into my car (I parked right in front of the cabin) and was at Snow Summit in about two minutes.

My cabin was really cute, clean, well-cared-for and looked like it had been recently rennovated. The property had picnic tables, a BBQ and a small play area. And all cabins have free wi-fi, not bad! I would totally stay there again and recommend it without reservation! (My only wish list item would be the ability to have a foam mattress topper added to the bed to make it a bit softer.)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redgrrrl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Very clean well kept rooms. Seems like it was just newly renovated and remodeled. Great place for the price, the groundskeeper is very nice. He was extremely helpful with anything and was very easy on us leaving late.
I've stayed in Big Bear cabins before, and they are normally pretty old and stinky, but this one seems very nice and well kept. Great experience, we would do it all again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beemerkid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We've stayed in many cabins, and these were roomy, clean, and the service was great. We would highly recommend these for travelers to Big Bear Lake

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.8 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins
Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins
#8 of 45 in Big Bear Region
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sleepy Forest Cottages
Sleepy Forest Cottages
#2 of 45 in Big Bear Region
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Big Bear Lake Front Lodge
Big Bear Lake Front Lodge
#33 of 45 in Big Bear Region
157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wolf Creek Resort
Wolf Creek Resort
#12 of 45 in Big Bear Region
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakewood Cabins at Big Bear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakewood Cabins at Big Bear Lake

Address: 586 Main St, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range: £49 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakewood Cabins at Big Bear Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakewood Cabins has nine beautifully appointed cabins. All of our One Bedroom and One Bedroom Suite cabins come with a: Fireplace; TV-Digital Cable; DVD/VCR, CD; Wi-Fi Internet Access; Full Kitchen w/Pots, Dishes, Silverware, Glasses, Utensils; Gas Stove; Refrigerator; Freezer; Microwave; Toaster; Coffee Pot; Hot Water Warmer; Linens; Towels. There is also a very large courtyard area that is perfect for having picnics and having the kids run around. Our Studio cabins contain all of the above, except for a full kitchen; it comes with a kitchenette instead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Booking.com so you can book your Lakewood Cabins at Big Bear Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakewood Cabins At Big Bear Lake Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing