We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surrounded by Beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakewood Cabins at Big Bear Lake
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Surrounded by Beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Lakewood Cabins are located among trees, two blocks from the lake and a 10 minute walk to the town. There are trails nearby. Our cabin had a bedroom, front room, 2 bathrooms and a full kitchen. It is rustic and fabulous. The manager is on site and is easily contacted for any needs.

Room Tip: Cabin 4 has 2 bathrooms, Cabin 7 is the biggest and gets the best wi fi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    6
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed in a junior cabin which included a bed, couch, fireplace, tv, dvd player, and a small kitchen. The kitchen had a sink, toaster, microwave, and fridge. There was no stove, but dishes are available for guests to use. The surface area of all the counters and floors were extremely clean. The couch, however, was full of food crumbs. The size of the cabin was perfect, and it provided a comfortable stay. The cabin host was very helpful and friendly, and asked several times if I needed anything. My only real complaint was that the bed was extremely stiff. Overall, I enjoyed my visit at Lakewood Cabins and would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petzl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

My husband, myself and our 2 little dogs arrived to find a VERY FRIENDLY David, the caretaker but the cabin we had was run down, not clean, old, like 1960's old AND the bed was extremely uncomfortable and rock hard. These cabins are good ONLY if you go to Big Bear for skiing or other sports but NOT for a relaxing and restful getaway. We were very disappointed and will not return here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayzz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Big Bear Region hotels

Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

First of all the location is OK. The cabin was quaint, with a little work it could be very nice. The sink faucet was loose from the sink, still worked, but tacky. The bed was the hardest thing I ever tried to sleep on. There were issues with broken blinds, missing screens on the windows. With some serious TLC the cabin(s) could be great.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joevanguse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and I decided to go to Big Bear last minute for Memorial Day weekend. I decided to book at this location because we were taking our dog with us. When I got there I had to wait a few minutes because Dave wasn't in his office. When he got there he was very friendly. The cabin we stayed had one bedroom, bathroom, living room and kitchen. The heater is in the living room so I was glad that I took my down comforter with me although there were blankets in the cabin. They had towels in the bathroom also. The shower had hot water. The furniture is old. I dropped something in the kitchen floor and when I went to clean the paper towel showed that the floor was very dirty. I could tell that the cleaning in the cabin was very basic. My husband and I had to came home a little bit early and Dave told us to call him next time that he maybe would give us one night free. I think was nice of him to offer that. I'm not sure if I would stay there again only because I wish the cabin had been more clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadrunner077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here twice in the last month so it wasn't like the place is so bad that we wouldn't return, literally. It did help knowing what we were getting into from previous reviews posted. Since we have our baby with us who is not quiet and newly mobile, finding a safe place where we won't bother others with noise was a concern when booking.
Pros:
One bedroom detached cabin, perfect for our family with my 11 month son who passes out at 6 o'clock.
Kitchen/fridge/micro/wine glasses
Close to lifts
Walking to shopping, the Village, dining
Manager is super helpful (by the way, he said 7, 8 and 9 are the best cabins)
Quiet
Tire Swing outside that everyone had a blast swinging on
Area for kids to play that is not near a road
Discounts possible
Cons:
Dirty, dirty, dirty. Don't look under the bed or couches. There is silverware and dishes to use but I would rather use plastic because nothing was washed very well.
Heater didn't work the first time but since I had read the reviews beforehand we had packed our space heater which saved us from freezing to death. Second time heater worked which was good since ours broke on the drive up. Down side is that you can't close the bedroom door because the heat doesn't get in (central wall unit).
As stated before the decor is outdated.
The sink(s) handle(s) are loose and there is no regulator on the hot water so be careful if you have little ones that they don't burn themselves.
There is a porch swing outside that is broken (dangerous)

Things that are good to bring if you can:
Your own space heater if you want/need to close the bedroom door
A doormat for the front door (there is no way to avoid tracking dirt in without one)

Take it for what it is. We stayed there twice, so it wasn't that bad. For the money, it's one of the biggest spaces you can get.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDlocal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Durham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Great location and price (special deal second night free). On site manager Dave was very responsive, friendly and helpful. The cabin location and styles are cute but the interiors are looking tired and in need of some attention. Cabin was basically clean but window blinds, ledges, areas between furniture have not been cleaned for a long time.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.1 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#14 of 19 in Big Bear Region
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Forest Lodge
Black Forest Lodge
#16 of 45 in Big Bear Region
3.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins
Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins
#7 of 45 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Big Bear Village Lodge
Big Bear Village Lodge
#10 of 12 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eagle's Nest Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakewood Cabins at Big Bear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakewood Cabins at Big Bear Lake

Property: Lakewood Cabins at Big Bear Lake
Address: 586 Main St, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakewood Cabins at Big Bear Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakewood Cabins has nine beautifully appointed cabins. All of our One Bedroom and One Bedroom Suite cabins come with a: Fireplace; TV-Digital Cable; DVD/VCR, CD; Wi-Fi Internet Access; Full Kitchen w/Pots, Dishes, Silverware, Glasses, Utensils; Gas Stove; Refrigerator; Freezer; Microwave; Toaster; Coffee Pot; Hot Water Warmer; Linens; Towels. There is also a very large courtyard area that is perfect for having picnics and having the kids run around. Our Studio cabins contain all of the above, except for a full kitchen; it comes with a kitchenette instead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lakewood Cabins at Big Bear Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakewood Cabins At Big Bear Lake Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing