We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect TOO much from it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Knights Inn Big Bear Lake
Ranked #13 of 16 Big Bear Region B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't expect TOO much from it!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Ok, yes first of all this place will Never ever get full 5 stars for me. But 3 stars is fair, I think.
We stayed at Knights Inn for 2 nights just over the weekend.
I booked the room with 2 queen beds last minute on Friday, without even looking at the review! After I booked at the last minute and cannot be cancelled, I started reading the review and got panicked!
So I told my husband and my kids to prepare for the worst motel ever. We packed sleeping bags, toilet seat liners, bathroom tissue, Lysol spray, bug sprays for the mattress, etc, etc, etc.
Well, so we got there and we got the keys and entered the room... Turned out to be just OK! I expected the worst trust me!
So I guess the key is, don’t expect too much from the place and you will be just fine. They have hot showers, clean bathroom actually! They have ok mattress, small table and 2 chairs, electric outlets for the whole entire family to charge their ipods, ipads, iphones!
If you are planning to spend the entire vacation being inside the motel, then do not stay here because they do not have AC, just ceiling fan. But if you are planning to be outdoors most of the time like we did and use this place just to crash and shower, then you will be fine! For the last minute weekend price ($50 per night), I cant complaint much about it :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaCa-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    6
    8
    50
See reviews for
20
21
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This was our first vacation as a family with my wife and two kids, ages 2 and 4. We had to buy sheets and box fans from Kmart just to avoid heat stroke! Make sure you are up on your vaccinations such as tetinus and hep B before walking through the door. Shower never got hot, hole in the ceiling, tagging on lights, 1 ceiling fan that is horrible. We noticed a ton of dust and there was a paper explaining construction which we never saw. Pool says closed and has what looks like a bacteria storage growing inside of it. Try putting your 2 year old birthday girl down for a nap when it's 85 in the room. I'm just hoping this place waits to we leave before it catches on fire. Pretty sure nothing is to code. Do yourself a favor and get a tent and sleep in the grass somewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cgentry77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Big Bear Region hotels

Santa Ana, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel was the worst one we have ever stayed at in our entire life. was not worth the money we paid for the nights we were there. we actually upgraded to a suite and that was still horrible. there is No ac in the rooms the beds were dirty the windows had no window sills there was bugs and ants all over the counters only one tv that worked with no remote, it looked like a crime scene! I would rather pay more money then stay at a rat hole like this! if you care about your family you will not stay here plain and simple!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monique e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We have come to Big Bear for a weekend skiing many times, with two teens we just needed a place to crash, and really no choice last minute unless we wanted to pay a Kings Ransom. To say this place is a dump is giving insult to a dump. I did not see any roaches probably because they didn't survive. The toilet flooded, TV didn't work, shades half torn, hot wires dangling from ceiling, carpet disgusting, paint peeling, mattress sagging, window glass broken (OK, I could have made it into song). Two months later I still have nightmares of this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtEverest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were a bit skeptical about staying here because of the reviews we had read but as one of the reviewer's said "it did the job." It was a last minute get away and we couldn't beat the price. The room was very clean, especially the bedding! The bathroom could use a good handyman's work but everything was running fine. The hotel is on the main boulevard so it can get a bit noisy but nothing that kept us awake. The staff was exceptionally friendly!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blythe, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Our son got the room and asked us to come up. He is youg so he got the least expensive place. Omg, the carpet was filthy the lamp shades torn drapes falling down hole in bottom of door tv from the 90's. The beds were clean so we stayed. Before we got there they changed rooms because bathroom in other was awful. The lobby was dirty trash not thrown out.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JELewis53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I've read some harsh reviews here and felt I had to write my own. I stayed at the Knights Inn (Big Bear Blvd) this past weekend. Myself and the lady wanted to visit the ski slopes for a day on Sunday and we drove Saturday afternoon. They have two buildings and we stayed at the building south of the boulevard. It did the job. Yes its old and out of date and the carpet is as cleans as grandma's carpet, but big deal. It won't be the best place you stay at, of course. Men, you'll have zero problems with this place. Most ladies will be perfectly fine. My lady said 'it did the job'. We both laughed off its rustic charm before whizzing off to the slopes in the morning.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms in the building on the south side of the boulevard are quieter as this building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#12 of 19 in Big Bear Region
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
#7 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Big Bear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Big Bear Lake

Property: Knights Inn Big Bear Lake
Address: 40598 Big Bear Blvd., CA 92315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Big Bear Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Big Bear Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Big Bear Lake Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing