We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, so it's not the Ritz Carlton...but nowhere near the cost.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins
Thousand Palms, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“OK, so it's not the Ritz Carlton...but nowhere near the cost.”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Wife and I had a chance for a quick mini-vacation and we hadn't been to Big Bear in years. It's a good place to get out of the heat, with more things to do than, say, Idyllwild. When we go anywhere, I like to find a place that is close enough to the center of the action that we can walk around and get the feel for the place instead of having to drive everywhere.

Checking Yelp and other websites, I saw that most of the lodges near the Village were on the main drag. We wanted to be close, but away from the traffic noise. Honey Bear fit those qualifications and not only that, the rate was surprisingly reasonable. That is handy, since we are operating on a tight budget, like so many people these days.

The place is easy to find -- eastbound on Highway 18, don't make the left turn but keep going straight onto Village Boulevard. Watch out for the construction going on there, just go straight and you will see their big sign dead ahead.

OK, so there's no elevator. No room service, spa or 24-hour coffee shop. So who needs that stuff, anyway? The proprietor, Marco, took care of checking us in and even offered to help carry our bags up the stairs to our room. The room itself was kind of spare, but functional, and the combination of the ceiling fan and a 2-foot box fan soon cooled us down. The grounds are pleasant, with a small playground for any kids who you might have with you (we don't).

Marco provided us with a free bundle of firewood for the stove in our room and tips on things to do during our stay. Customer service that just can't be beat, a cozy room at a reasonable rate and a great location -- what could be better than that?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    28
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
27
23
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed here with my children and 13 members of my family. There is no pool but the outside area with BBQ's, shade, horse shoes gave us the best place to hang out and enjoy the beautiful out doors of big bear while being able to stay in the comfort of a hotel room! We created so many memories there and the staff was so amazing ! Planning on another family trip soon!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

First time I stayed at Honey Bear lodge and I must say it was pretty awesome. It had all the feel of a camping trip without sleeping on the ground. The rooms were big and clean, the management was friendly and the outside picnic area was perfect.
The price was right for my family and yours.I look forward to my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jefferydfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and we were very pleased! There was nothing more we could of asked for. The view was outstanding, and the proximity to the village was perfect! We would not hesitate to return. Thank You for your superb hospitality!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KevnDanata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Took a chance at the last minute booking the Honey Bear Lodge. We are so glad we did! The room was reasonably priced, and held the promise of 3 sleeping beds, which is a luxury with a 17 year old girl and pre teen boy. I booked a loft room, had a queen bed and a full size futon down stairs and a queen bed up in the loft. It had a fireplace, but it being summer the ceiling fan was a plus. Marcos also gave us a standing box fan, as the summer days were quite warm. There are chairs on the balcony and a crisp view of the lake, tables for picnicking and barque area. The Village is a quick 5 minute walk. Everyone was super nice and it was so quiet and relaxing. Defiantly my new fav spot in Big Bear.
The only thing I would change about the place is the bedspreads...there're too slippery.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna89409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2013

You can't find a cozy cabin that is this close to the Big Bear Village shops; where the center of the attraction is. This cabin is only one block away from Big Bear Blvd, which is the central street. The people in the community surrounding it where very friendly.

Room Tip: Rustic cabins have all the pots, pans, dishes, etc. that you need for cooking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gamaliel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is a little out of the way place near the village. we stayed this week and it was great. Friendly staff and the room was nice. This motel is close to everything and has all the things you need. We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 19...Pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.7 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#12 of 19 in Big Bear Region
67 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
637 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins

Property: Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins
Address: 40994 Pennsylvania Ave., CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Bear Lodge And Cabins
Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing