We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little museum”

Big Bear Historical Museum
Attraction details
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This museum give you a real taste of what it was like to be a pioneer in this area and how tough it must have been to live here. It also has a working blacksmith shop which I found very interesting

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Much better than I expected! Lots to see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

I took my kids who are 5 and 7 here and they had so much fun! I didn't expect much but there was so much to see and do here. It was only $5 for me and the kids were free! Kids are free with paying adult! They also sell sarsaparilla (like root beer) for $3/each in the old saloon. We started in the main building which was typical museum stuff. Then we visited an old cabin, old school house, blacksmith shop, panned for gold (fool's gold) and visited other things on the property. It was a hidden gem in Big Bear! I would absolutely recommend this for families, singles or seniors. Plan about an hour and a half there. Really neat museum for the area!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Erika_Folsom_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So much to see here : )”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

Great place to see the history of Big Bear. So many people have donated items for our viewing. They've got little buildings to visit: school house, cabin, barns, etc. Usually a working black smith on site who shares what he makes. Very interesting site to visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Siameseldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We liked it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Nice museum. We enjoyed walking around and becoming informed about the area.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A surprise gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

What an unexpected and lovely stop on our weekend! Museum is filled with incredible finds -- log cabins, mining equipment, gold panning, blacksmithing, etc. -- and volunteers throughout the property help answer any questions you may have. It is clear that this is a labor of love. Great spot for kids & families...definitely recommend!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank k23p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Bear Historical Museum also viewed

 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Big Bear Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing