We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, clean and nice rooms close to everything.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Big Bear Lake Front Lodge
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big, clean and nice rooms close to everything.”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We read all the other reviews for just a one night stay for the Octoberfest. We had stayed at the Amityville Horror Thundercloud 'Resort' before and were skeptical about the $89 / night hotels. We wanted somewhere clean and close without worrying if we would get bed bugs. I had stayed here before on a quick ski weekend so we tried it again. We were all pleasantly surprised! For $129/ night, we had a big room with a little fridge, microwave, dishes glasses, coffee maker and a fireplace! What a deal! Nice big deck...It was perfect and quiet. We plan on coming back to ski and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertgirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    29
    33
    15
    37
See reviews for
52
45
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Our one week stay at Big Bear Lake Front Lodge was excellent. We read the reviews on trip advisor and there were a few negative reviews, but mostly for lack of a/c, no flat screen televisions(no hotels in Big Bear have a/c and most don't have flat screen televisions.) It sounds like most of the people with negative reviews were expecting 5 star Park City quality accommodations in San Bernadino's local rustic mountain, older ski resort town, of Big Bear. There are no Marriot's or Hyatts in Big Bear! So, we thought we'd try this rustic lodge out-as it looked like the best one in our price range.
The front desk was friendly and helpful, and our room was extremely clean. We enjoyed walking to the local coffee house a few blocks away every morning, and dining at Cowboys down the street in the evening.
The lodge sits right on the water, and provides bbq grills and picnic tables, so we barbequed one night and watched the sun setting. It was beautiful. We would definitely recommend this lodge. Remember if you are a first-timer to Big Bear that most of the accomodatoins are older properties, you won't find flat-screen televisions, modern furniture, a/c, or the latest and greatest. You also won't find any restaurant chains, (except McDonalds and Denny's!) and most of the shops are independently owned. This is a rustic, older town that is not commercialized. Enjoy it for what it is!

Room Tip: For our longer trip we liked the kitchenette room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie1525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My brother bought me a one night stay from Groupon. So before booking the room, I asked the front desk for a room with no pets allowed because my 11 yrs old son is highly allergic to pet dander. She reassured me that the Lakefront rooms are the rooms that don't allow any pets at all, but I would have to upgrade. I was willing to pay the extra amount for a room with no dogs access. The lady also told me that she will have the room clean thoroughly before we arrive just in case if someone did sneak a dog in without them knowing. Understandable, so I booked the room. When we arrived, the minute I stepped in the room; the stench of a dog smell was overbearing. We had to open the windows. There were pee stains on the carpet. The pillow cover smells like sweat. I had the lady at the front desk come to the room and of course she didn't smell anything at all. She couldn't get us another room because she said there were none available. So she got us another pillowcase that smells the same...sweat!! There were flying critters, mosquitoes??, don't know what it was; but it was all over the room. We had to take my husband's cologne bottle and spray the rooms and opened up the windows and back patio door the whole time we were there. Even at night when we were sleeping, just to get that stench out. The room and beddings were disgusting, but then my 11 yrs old son found cases of empty beer bottles under the bathroom sink and I found hair in the bathroom drawers...eeew!!!! I don't know what they meant by thoroughly cleaning the room for us, but that was disgusting. Blow dryer were build ups of lint and dirt, AC doesn't work, fireplace didn't work.The pictures online was totally different from what I saw in person. We met another couple there that was surprise by what they saw online and what they saw in person as well. The staff were very nice. But the hotel itself was disgusting. That was my first time staying there and it will also be my last.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Km_kieu76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeFront L, General Manager at Big Bear Lake Front Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Kim,

I am so sorry to hear that you were so unhappy during your stay at our lodge. Yes it's true, we have a strict pet policy and do not allow pets in our lake view rooms, only our kitchen and garden rooms in order to accommodate guests with allergies. There were not any animals in the room you were in before your stay. I was the manager on duty that went to your room when you were concerned and no I did not smell anything on the pillow. I had just washed the pillow cases, comforters and all the bedding that day myself with one of our housekeepers. The pillows were also new. I replaced the pillow for you with another new pillow and clean pillowcase. I asked 2 of our housekeepers and one of our front desk girls if they smelled anything and they said no as well. That is the first complain we have ever received about a smell in that room. The guests before you and after you were very pleased and are planning to return in the winter.

Yes, we do have some mosquitoes here in the summer at night. After all we are in the mountains :) If you leave the screen door open with the lights on at night they will come in. It is best to close the screen at night. If you have the lights off they will not come in.

The carpets in the room were professionally cleaned the day you left. We professionally clean all our carpets on a regular basis. If you would have told us that you wanted the carpets cleaned we could have sent maintenance there immediately. We would have loved to give you another room if we weren't sold out that weekend.

No we do not have air conditioning at the lodge. We regret the misunderstanding you may have had. Only about 2% of businesses have air conditioning in Big Bear. We always inform guests of that if they ask. It does not state that we have air conditioning on our website. We do provide fans in all rooms for guest use.

We are working very diligently to make necessary adjustments and upgrades on the property. We have regular housekeeping meetings to insure our standards are kept very high. We all are deeply sorry for letting anything slip through the cracks during your stay. Guest satisfaction is our #1 priority. We appreciate all of your comments and will do our very best to make improvements.

Sincerely,

Cyndi Pass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Big Bear Region hotels

Corona, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The room was fair, but we were visiting in the middle of the summer and there is no air conditioning. At night the room was still in the mid 80s and the only way to cool it down was to leave the window and sliding door open. Unfortunately, the hotel was also being used by a religious group with 50+ teenage girls. The group used parking lot to have a church ceremony and sang hymns (loudly) until about 11:00 p.m. Then the group dispersed and the girls were shouting and running around until after midnight. When we complained to the office they just shrugged and told us to call the police if we wanted.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NamastefromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeFront L, General Manager at Big Bear Lake Front Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We always appreciate all comments and suggestions from our guests. We deeply regret your unpleasant experience at our hotel. The hard working staff here care very much about our guests and their comfort. Unfortunately we have had an unusually hot summer just like the rest of the country. We do provide fans, but we, like most everyone else in Big Bear Lake do not have air conditioning, this is true.

There is a marina next door that rents boats and kayaks, and swim beach is right down the street. Maybe on your next summer visit I would suggest playing in the lake during the day and coming back to the hotel to BBQ on the beach and watch the sunset at dusk? It does get down to 50 at night and 60 in the mornings in the summer here - which is very nice :)

We are very sorry to hear that the girls group that stayed with us disturbed our guests. Needless to say they have not been invited back next year. We do hope you will give us another chance. We greatly value you your business and Big Bear experience :)

Cyndi Pass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

The room was quite nice and close to the Lake, with a big deck overlooking the beach.
We don't have pets because of allergies so it is great for pet owners not as good for us. Think no matter how hard they clean there is still animal dander in the rooms.
All the Staff were really nice and helpful especially helping us when we had to leave a day early! We are only good for a couple of days at this altitude.
Certainly recommend this place and would stay again, especially if they have any rooms that are pet free. They have quite a few cabins of varying sizes so it would work for families or friends staying together.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharronw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I had two days to enjoy a quick fishing trip with my brother in law from out of town. We booked a lake front room at the Lake Front Lodge. The staff were friendly and the room adequate. This is an older property. The views from the room are somewhat marred by the cars parked in the lot in front of the rooms. Some advice, do not book a lakefront room near the stairs as it can be noisy as people arrive, otherwise it is quiet enough. There is a large parking lot in back of the property that is not well marked via a driveway off to the side.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoboTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
0.2 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
416 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#11 of 19 in Big Bear Region
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#6 of 19 in Big Bear Region
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lagonita Lodge
Lagonita Lodge
#6 of 45 in Big Bear Region
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fireside Lodge
Fireside Lodge
#10 of 16 in Big Bear Region
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Lake Front Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Lake Front Lodge

Property: Big Bear Lake Front Lodge
Address: 40360 Lakeview Drive, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Bear Lake Front Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Big Bear Lake Front Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Lake Front Hotel Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Lakefront Hotel
Big Bear Lakefront Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing